KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

SmartStyle

Is this your company?

SmartStyle

Add a Review

SmartStyle Reviews

Updated Sep 21, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 513 of over 523 reviews

3.1
56%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
SmartStyle CEO Hugh Sawyer
Hugh Sawyer
113 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "It had low pay and you haft to work hard to get name out there.(in 55 reviews)
  • "I have been here for over a year and haven't hit commission yet.(in 34 reviews)
  • "Management was poor if there was a problem or conflict you could never get in contact with managment..(in 25 reviews)
  • "Poor upper management, always have dump rewards programs or try it this way, no this way.(in 21 reviews)
  • "The change of management... it is the worst sometimes cuz some managers don't know what they are doing(in 14 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of SmartStyle and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Master Stylist

    Jul 27, 2022 - Mystery Secret Shopper 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Customer Service, Sales, Hands on Hairstyling,

    Cons

    Standing on my feet all day. Became sensitive to the chemicals.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Excellent Pay and Benefits

    Jul 18, 2022 - Store Manager in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits and pay are excellent, paid vacation, personal days, and holidays. 401K, dental, vision, medical and gap insurance. Excellent base wage plus guaranteed commission on products and services.

    Cons

    Working with Walmart, we rent from them, but they seem to care very little for us and what we do at Smartstyle. I have noticed that this depends on the location, some Walmart Managers and team are great, others not as much. I just do my best to keep the moral and spirits high.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    SmartStyle review

    Aug 8, 2022 - Hair Stylist in Lapeer, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I was able to build my clientele from the content walk ins, they have a great team and the franchisee is so nice. The team I worked with was so supportive and uplifting. Everyone is pretty helpful and I like being able to have continued education opportunities so I can keep learning new skills.

    Cons

    Because we are inside Walmart sometimes people think we are Walmart employees cutting hair, but we quickly let them know we are all licensed cosmetologists and separate from Walmart, we only rent out the space for the convenience of having people walk by our salon each day eventually coming in to ask about products/services we offer.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee

    It was ok

    Sep 21, 2022 - Cosmetologist in Charleston, WV
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun customers Don’t have to worry about buying products

    Cons

    High stress environment but I think it depends on who you work with

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Felt threatened by other stylists

    Jun 12, 2022 - Manager in Williamsburg, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I loved the fact I had control of my own salon it felt like. And when I had customers there to buy retail or services I felt I serviced them to the best that anyone could and I had so many great clients I will miss dearly. My district leader was the best I have ever had she is amazing. And I had one stylist that I love dearly and loved the other ones but they had it from the beginning that they did not want me there and so they can go back to being open two days a week again when I had it everyday

    Cons

    Racism against white people which included myself Got paid same or less than regular stylists and never got an answer as to why my pay was wrong the whole time

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Awful

    Sep 13, 2022 - Hair Stylist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    My manger at the shop is good

    Cons

    Low pay, no raises, offers no benefits, expected to go above and beyond for for little to no compensation, the hours are awful to work you will have no life outside of work, hard be approved for any vacation days, never fully staffed, high turnover rate

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Busy location

    Aug 4, 2022 - Hairstylist in Artesia, NM
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    In a busy location, pay is very good.

    Cons

    Must be willing to work evenings and weekends when it’s busiest.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    We stuck together

    Jun 29, 2022 - Hair Technician 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    We relied on one another and, as a franchise, have continued to look out for each other to make money, build clientele, and keep doors open in the pandemic and afterwards.

    Cons

    The franchise had alot of the prior owners mess to clean up and its taken some time and a few mistakes.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Needs better district management

    Jul 16, 2022 - Licensed Cosmetologist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Constant walk in clients, very flexible hours.

    Cons

    Poor management, under staffed, poor pay.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Reception

    Jul 22, 2022 - Receptionist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Job is easy and nice

    Cons

    Not enough hours available for reception

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 513 Reviews

SmartStyle Reviews FAQs

SmartStyle has an overall rating of 3.1 out of 5, based on over 523 reviews left anonymously by employees. 56% of employees would recommend working at SmartStyle to a friend and 46% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, SmartStyle employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.7 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at SmartStyle. This rating has improved by 16% over the last 12 months.

56% of SmartStyle employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated SmartStyle 3.0 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.1 for culture and values and 3.2 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at SmartStyle to be work life balance, career development, coworkers and the cons to be senior leadership, benefits, management.

Popular Careers with SmartStyle Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at SmartStyle? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

SmartStyle Photos

+ Add Photo
SmartStyle photo of: THERML SMOOTH
SmartStyle photo of: Regis DesignLine
SmartStyle photo of: Smartstyle Oval Display Shelf
SmartStyle photo of: Sexy Hair, Biolage Product Display
SmartStyle photo of: Little girl braids

Have you worked here?

See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

SmartStyle Job Seekers Also Viewed

Regis Corporation Logo
Regis Corporation

2.7

1,166 Reviews
Compare