KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Smarthinking

Part of Pearson
Is this your company?

Smarthinking

Add a Review

Smarthinking Reviews

Updated May 16, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 84 of over 94 reviews

3.2
53%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Smarthinking Senior Vice President & Chief Education Officer Christa Ehmann Powers, Ph.D (no image)
Christa Ehmann Powers, Ph.D
17 Ratings

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

1y

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,892

960 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "The hours are flexible, and people work from home.(in 19 reviews)
  • "You get very flexible hours.(in 12 reviews)
  • "Flexibility; thorough training and support; people are personable and human even though you only deal with them through phone/email.(in 5 reviews)
  • "The Smarthinking writer tutor position offers a flexible schedule, and it could serve as a way for new tutors or teachers to gain experience.(in 3 reviews)
Cons
  • "Low pay considering the degree requirements.(in 22 reviews)
  • "There has also been no pay raises at all in the 7 years I have worked here.(in 4 reviews)
  • "there is no direct communication between managers and tutors.(in 2 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Smarthinking and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Great Place to Work

    May 16, 2022 - Senior Lead 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, excellent management, superior resources, great benefits

    Cons

    pay could be a tad higher

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Flexible but pays poorly

    Dec 7, 2021 - English Tutor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working from home, flexible hours

    Cons

    Little room to advance, ridiculously low pay for desired credentials

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Not enough compensation for workload

    Aug 26, 2021 - Online Writing Tutor in Woodland, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The schedule is flexible, so it works well as a 2nd job.

    Cons

    The amount of work they expected you to complete in the time they alloted you to complete it was next-to impossible. Coupled with the ridiculously low compensation rate for a job that requires an advanced degree, it's a pretty insulting job.

    3 people found this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Okay

    Sep 2, 2021 - Tutor in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible hours, tutoring experience to get in the door

    Cons

    Few hours, arbitrary assessments, change in schedule and lead tutor every term, no communication

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Flexible Job

    Apr 29, 2021 - Lead Tutor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible schedule with a nice team of supervisors

    Cons

    Lack of advancement once promoted to lead

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    They exploit their tutors

    Feb 19, 2021 - Tutor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can work from home.

    Cons

    I worked for Smarthinking for four years and it was awful. They don't give out raises unless you earn a graduate degree, and even then it's only a one-dollar raise. I should think a graduate degree, such as a PhD, is worth more than a dollar. The lead tutors are always nitpicking everything. I got in trouble once for not greeting a student in the right way. We're expected to provide very detailed feedback in just thirty minutes, but it's hard to do that if we're forced to read 10-15 page papers on topics we know nothing about. And they say that we supposedly only have to read ten pages, but that we should try to finish anyway. It's a crappy job and I'm willing to bet they make tons of money off the backs of the tutors they exploit. Regular tutors can make $20 an hour, so it's insane how they only pay us 10-12 an hour. The lead tutors always nitpicked every aspect of my markups, even though I consistently got good feedback from students on my markups. Also they often pressure us to drop our hours if there aren't enough essays, and if we won't do it, then they respond by forcing us to do it anyway or cutting our hours without our consent.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Low pay

    Feb 9, 2021 - Online Tutor in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Remote work (can work at home); some paid sick leave, etc.

    Cons

    Low pay. Experienced tutors with master's and PhD degrees are paid 11 or 12 dollars in many instances, with zero raises given (not even a penny).

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great Place to Work

    Dec 7, 2020 - Senior Lead Tutor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work from home with complete flexibility with hours.

    Cons

    As with all work at home jobs, the lack of human interaction can be frustrating.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Flexible Hours but Inflexible Methods

    Dec 1, 2019 - Online Writing Tutor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As a part-time online writing tutor, I liked how this job had flexibility in terms of scheduling, the ability to complete each day's required hours whenever was convenient, and the ability to work from home.

    Cons

    First of all, the pay is very low considering you are required to have a M.A. or a Ph.D. to do online writing tutoring work that undergraduates do (for the same or even higher pay) at campuses all over the country. More upsetting to me, though, was the complete inflexibility of the tutoring process. With strict time limits and a rigid structure for how each paper review had to be conducted, I never felt like I was doing my best work. Some papers are short with minimal issues that can certainly be treated effectively in half an hour with 2-3 highlighted areas for improvement, but the same cannot be said of many other essays. This structure is not useful for the tutors or, more importantly, the writers who have submitted their work for feedback. I also did not appreciate that the contract for this part-time, low-paying position prohibits accepting other tutoring jobs, not only while actively employed, but for one year after employment ends.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    This place is a joke and a soul killer to boot.

    Nov 5, 2019 - Online Writing Tutor in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You work from home and get to use your advanced English degrees for something.

    Cons

    Smarthinking/Pearson is never happy with anything you do. All the advice is contradictory. They cannot keep up with the minimum wage laws in most areas.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 84 Reviews

Smarthinking Reviews FAQs

Smarthinking has an overall rating of 3.2 out of 5, based on over 94 reviews left anonymously by employees. 53% of employees would recommend working at Smarthinking to a friend and 50% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 7% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Smarthinking employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.7 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Smarthinking. This rating has improved by 8% over the last 12 months.

53% of Smarthinking employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Smarthinking 3.9 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.1 for culture and values and 2.0 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Smarthinking to be coworkers, work life balance and the cons to be benefits, management, career development.

Popular Careers with Smarthinking Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Smarthinking? Share Your Experiences

or