Smarthinking Reviews

Updated Apr 29, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
39%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
Smarthinking Senior Vice President & Chief Education Officer Christa Ehmann Powers, Ph.D (no image)
Christa Ehmann Powers, Ph.D
16 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work from home with complete flexibility with hours(in 33 reviews)

  • "Working from home flexible hours(in 15 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Only 30 minutes to review a paper that includes three lessons in addition to three embedded comments(in 25 reviews)

  • "The way it was set up, the next essay/assignment in the queue was sent directly to you once you indicated you were ready to work(in 25 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Place to Work

      Dec 7, 2020 - Senior Lead Tutor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home with complete flexibility with hours.

      Cons

      As with all work at home jobs, the lack of human interaction can be frustrating.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Flexible Job

      Apr 29, 2021 - Lead Tutor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible schedule with a nice team of supervisors

      Cons

      Lack of advancement once promoted to lead

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Low pay

      Feb 9, 2021 - Online Tutor in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Remote work (can work at home); some paid sick leave, etc.

      Cons

      Low pay. Experienced tutors with master's and PhD degrees are paid 11 or 12 dollars in many instances, with zero raises given (not even a penny).

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      They exploit their tutors

      Feb 19, 2021 - Tutor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You can work from home.

      Cons

      I worked for Smarthinking for four years and it was awful. They don't give out raises unless you earn a graduate degree, and even then it's only a one-dollar raise. I should think a graduate degree, such as a PhD, is worth more than a dollar. The lead tutors are always nitpicking everything. I got in trouble once for not greeting a student in the right way. We're expected to provide very detailed feedback in just thirty minutes, but it's hard to do that if we're forced to read 10-15 page papers on topics we know nothing about. And they say that we supposedly only have to read ten pages, but that we should try to finish anyway. It's a crappy job and I'm willing to bet they make tons of money off the backs of the tutors they exploit. Regular tutors can make $20 an hour, so it's insane how they only pay us 10-12 an hour. The lead tutors always nitpicked every aspect of my markups, even though I consistently got good feedback from students on my markups. Also they often pressure us to drop our hours if there aren't enough essays, and if we won't do it, then they respond by forcing us to do it anyway or cutting our hours without our consent.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Work from Home

      Nov 29, 2020 - Online Tutor in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home; flexible schedule

      Cons

      Only part-time work; little chance for advancement

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Flexible Hours but Inflexible Methods

      Dec 1, 2019 - Online Writing Tutor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      As a part-time online writing tutor, I liked how this job had flexibility in terms of scheduling, the ability to complete each day's required hours whenever was convenient, and the ability to work from home.

      Cons

      First of all, the pay is very low considering you are required to have a M.A. or a Ph.D. to do online writing tutoring work that undergraduates do (for the same or even higher pay) at campuses all over the country. More upsetting to me, though, was the complete inflexibility of the tutoring process. With strict time limits and a rigid structure for how each paper review had to be conducted, I never felt like I was doing my best work. Some papers are short with minimal issues that can certainly be treated effectively in half an hour with 2-3 highlighted areas for improvement, but the same cannot be said of many other essays. This structure is not useful for the tutors or, more importantly, the writers who have submitted their work for feedback. I also did not appreciate that the contract for this part-time, low-paying position prohibits accepting other tutoring jobs, not only while actively employed, but for one year after employment ends.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Stressful but not bad

      Aug 18, 2020 - Online Writing Tutor in Yale, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      flexible scheduling and little direct oversight

      Cons

      difficult to achieve time limits

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Horrible job

      Sep 2, 2020 - English Tutor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None. It’s a horrible company to work for.

      Cons

      -Insultingly low pay ($11/hour) -Expectations are a moving target. -Training is tedious and labor intensive. -Comments from lead tutors are demotivating, condescending, and insulting. -Time constraints are unrealistic. -You could make more money doing literally anything else.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      This place is a joke and a soul killer to boot.

      Nov 5, 2019 - Online Writing Tutor in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You work from home and get to use your advanced English degrees for something.

      Cons

      Smarthinking/Pearson is never happy with anything you do. All the advice is contradictory. They cannot keep up with the minimum wage laws in most areas.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good for extra cash

      Jan 22, 2020 - Compte Payable 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible, responsive, great way to earn some fun money

      Cons

      Not good backup if something happens to your day job, outdated scheduling system doesn't always work/sometimes hard to use

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 80 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Smarthinking Job Seekers

    Online Writing Tutor
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Smarthinking? Share Your Experiences

    Smarthinking logo
    or