KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Softcat

Is this your company?

Softcat

Add a Review

Softcat Reviews

Updated May 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
0.0
Softcat CEO Graeme Watt
Graeme Watt
0 Rating
Pros
  • "Culture and office working environment(in 24 reviews)

  • "Great earning potential if you put the hard work in(in 17 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours - you get out what you put in(in 24 reviews)

  • "Basic salary is extremely low - Yes there is commission involved but the good commission only comes from new business(in 17 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Amazing company!

      May 7, 2021 - Security Analyst in Marlow, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People are genuinely nice and caring. Support is offered every step of the way and you are treated like a family member, unlike most companies. Management truly cares about the company and people and they set reasonable expectations. Overall, the atmosphere is very positive, fun and encouraging.

      Cons

      I honestly can't think of any cons.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Team Leader

      Thank you so much for your positive feedback - it really is so lovely to hear! We can't wait to hopefully work with you for many more years to come, and should you have any further feedback for us moving forward please do not hesitate to get in touch with myself directly Thanks Elisha

    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      It's been fun.

      Apr 15, 2021 - IT Project Manager in Marlow, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A great company that takes pride in looking after its staff, whether in the office, or at home working remotely. This list goes on: * Dental and Health insurance * Pension scheme * Share incentive scheme * Ride to work programme * Sebatical rewards for long-term employees * 6-month and 12-month incentive trips * Care packages, BBQs, celebration days, parties, Pride festivities... you name it. * Flexible working hours and flexible home/office working.

      Cons

      There's a great deal of focus on getting the work done, and this will lead into a lot of late evenings. Manage your time wisely, and know when to switch off the laptop. Pay reviews can be very challenging; no bonus schemes available to non-sales. It can be very difficult to convince the company your position is of the market value.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Team Leader

      Thank you for your feedback, we really value your thoughts. Your experience sounds like an overall positive one. We are consistently looking at our remuneration and our benefits to make sure that we are competitive, and will continue to do so moving forward. Thanks! Elisha

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      About compnay

      May 11, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Dhaka
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good environment in the office

      Cons

      Not sufficient resources to complete the jobs

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Happy

      May 7, 2021 - Networking and Security in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work with good energy from the young teams.

      Cons

      Not really any major ones to complain about

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Team Leader

      Thanks for your review and years worth of service with us We appreciate you! Thanks Elisha

    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good start to IT

      May 6, 2021 - Microsoft Specialist in Marlow, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very good culture and it’s very social with lovely offices

      Cons

      Unless you are in sales there is not many incentives

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Team Leader

      Thank you for your review and positive feedback around our culture and offices! We're so glad to hear that you're having a great experience with us so far, and long may it continue Thanks Elisha

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Excellent place to work

      May 5, 2021 - Account Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture and amazing earning potential

      Cons

      None it is an great place to work

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Team Leader

      Thank you so much for your review and positive feedback! Thanks Elisha

    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Poor services, little management support and an insipid 'culture'

      Mar 8, 2021 - Managed Service Architect in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some very decent people at the 'doing it' layer.

      Cons

      Management push the populist culture of the day as broadcast by the mainstream media and create an echo chamber within Softcat of self-back-pattery; however Softcat do not put their mouth where their money is and stop trading with organisations that contravene their PR-focused good-will pushes. Continued relations with the police, weapons manufacturers, meat distributors all continue despite pushing internally anti-racist/pro-health/vegan messages. Management get supported irrespective of what they do; if you do not agree with or like the conduct of your boss it makes no odds - you just have to get on with it. The organisation is full of snowflakes; it cannot listen to critical feedback and actively dismisses it. The services cohort is divided and cannot deliver services above PS focused ones if the organisation's continuation depended upon it. Fortunately Softcat continues to be an excellent VAR but its total lack of service-focus will at some point be its shortfall. Training just doesn't happen, not anything of meaning anyway. Softcat values equality of output (that is X% male, Y% female, Z% BAME etc) rather than equality of opportunity. Softcat has a view of "if you can get away selling it at that price - do it"; this feels exploitative. If you have more than 5 years of IT experience you are likely to know more than 95% of the people here - it is not a progressive place in technical terms. If you are unwilling to dedicate a decent proportion of your time to 'being seen' activities which traditionally revolve around the pub but these days increasingly revolve around Zoom-based Zumba/cooking/book-reading, you may as well give up; your work quality will not speak on your behalf, the level to which you are seen or perceived to be 'the right type' is what is important within Softcat.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Manager

      Thank you for sharing your experience with us, though it's disappointing to hear some of what you've mentioned. Just to confirm, we do have two women on our Senior Leadership team, and a 50/50 split on our non-exec board, though we absolutely agree there is so much more that can and will be done to ensure further diversity at the top, as well as throughout the organisation. I would really welcome some time to talk about these experiences directly if you'd be open to it? My email is rachelco@softcat.com. Thanks Rachel

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company

      Apr 16, 2021 - Account Manager in Marlow, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Brilliant culture, working is fun

      Cons

      Nothing I’d so, what you put in is what you get out which is still a positive to me

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Team Leader

      Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we really appreciate it! Thanks Elisha

    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Salary

      Apr 21, 2021 - Account Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company culture, office environment, people

      Cons

      salary, unrealistic targets, career progression

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Team Leader

      Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us some feedback, we really appreciate it It's great to hear that you can see that the culture is massively important to Softcat as we do put a lot of focus on our employees and their Softcat experience We do work to consistently review our remuneration packages and will continue to do so to remain competitive. Many thanks, Elisha

    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Softcat

      Apr 2, 2021 - Account Manager in Marlow, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great work culture Lots of nice people Good office Lots of opportunities

      Cons

      Accounts kept at the top Internal account requesting creates tension

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Team Leader

      Hello! Thanks so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback - we really appreciate it. We're really glad to hear that there were so many positive aspects to your time with us, and will definitely bear in mind the constructive points you have raised moving forward. We really do wish you the best of luck with your future career! Many thanks Elisha

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 231 Reviews

    Work at Softcat? Share Your Experiences

    Softcat logo

    Softcat

    Click to Rate
    or