Cover image for SofterWare
Logo

SofterWare

Engaged Employer

SofterWare

Add a Review

SofterWare Reviews

Updated Oct 24, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 43 of over 48 reviews
3.6
45% Recommend to a Friend
40% Approve of CEO

Found 43 of over 48 reviews

3.6
45%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
SofterWare CEO Douglas Schoenberg (no image)
Douglas Schoenberg
25 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

494

70 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Flexibility, Profit Sharing, Paid Time Off, Awesome People(in 7 reviews)
  • "Inspiring and rewarding work, great people and a great atmosphere(in 3 reviews)
  • "Quarterly bonus and yearly profit share is really nice and is a big incentive for why most stay at SofterWare.(in 3 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Good relaxing job in tech

    Oct 24, 2022 - User Experience Designer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good place to work at.

    Cons

    Not many it’s a nice relaxing work place.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Not the best, but not the worst

    Jan 30, 2022 - Impementation Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - People generally friendly - you don’t have to do much if your friends with the right people. - lots of free food - prior to covid - good PTO & Profit sharing

    Cons

    - if you are a good employee you will be required to pick up the slack for employees who aren’t very good at their job. - blatant favoritism & neoptism - company seems to have lost its family like atmosphere over the years due to changes in mangement.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    SofterWare Response

    Thank you for feedback and years of service with SofterWare! We completely agree that we have the friendliest people working at SofterWare; they are consistently cited as one the best reasons to work here. We also appreciate you recognizing the great benefits we provide, especially our generous PTO and unique profit sharing program. Every full time employee with more than 3 months of services gets a monthly share of those profits. We’re sorry to read about your perception regarding accountability of staff and management practices, and we take your feedback seriously. We encourage all staff to share their concerns, and if those concerns are with their supervisors, then staff are encouraged to reach out to Human Resources or senior management directly. Full confidentiality is kept if the employee desires it. Once reported, our policy is to address those concerns immediately, and work with all parties to resolve those issues. It's vital to us that our staff feel there is accountability regarding all employee behavior and actions, and this includes management. You rightly observed that our 40+ year history includes a family-like atmosphere as a core value. Before “work/life balance” was a term, SofterWare always recognized the need for flexibility in hours so staff can be there for their family and important moments in their lives, to deal with health issues, and to show general care for each other as a family would. As we’ve grown, we’ve tried to instill that in our company so it wouldn’t be lost. Covid has certainly presented some challenges, but we worked hard to keep that flexibility and connection to each other. There are many people who still love working here, but your advice is well taken: we can always do better, and we will pass this feedback on to the entire senior leadership team. Thank you for taking the time to share it, and thank you again for your years of service here. Best of luck in your new endeavors! - Mike Sernoff, Senior Vice President

  3. Join the SofterWare team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Predatory Leadership

    Feb 2, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Horsham, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I would not recommend working here.

    Cons

    The company is imploding while those at the top keep getting richer off of the backs of those at the bottom.

    3 people found this review helpful

    SofterWare Response

    We’re sorry to hear about your perception of our leadership, company direction and employee salary, but we see things differently. SofterWare has been a steadily growing business for over 40 years, has no debt, 95%+ client retention, and record revenue and sales. The staff independently rated SofterWare as one of the top workplaces in Philadelphia 7 times in the last decade. In fact, we have many staff members with tenure over 10, 20 and 30 years. Our president and co-founder of 40 years recently retired and Lauren Sheehan, with over a decade of experience at SofterWare, was announced as the new president. Our senior leadership is a mix of veteran leadership at SofterWare and new executives with years of success at other leading businesses. In terms of staff salary and benefits, we know our success is thanks to the hard work and dedication of our entire staff. Therefore, the company shares those profits every month with all full-time employees who have worked here for at least 3 months. This is not a common practice in our industry, but profit sharing has been a long tradition at SofterWare. In addition, employees enjoy cost of living and merit increases every year, 401K with company matching, healthcare, disability, generous PTO and more. The benefits package is constantly reviewed to respond to employee feedback and to remain competitive among other companies. We hope this conveys a company with a healthy, successful business that continues to grow year after year with steady leadership, competitive salary and benefits, and excellent growth. - Mike Sernoff, Senior Vice President

  5. 3.0
    Former Employee

    If you want to be complacent, this is for you

    Nov 15, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good PTO and work from home/remote options. Some managers are knowledgeable and willing to help.

    Cons

    Mass favoritism. Management picks and chooses who policy works and doesn’t work for. Coworkers not held accountable for lack of knowledge which leads to your position taking on more since they refuse to handle the problem at the leak.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    SofterWare Response

    Thank you for leaving a review of your experience while working at SofterWare. As we continue to navigate the challenges of this pandemic, offering plenty of time off and flexibility in schedules is of paramount importance to us for the sake of our employees work/life balance and mental health. That flexible mindset extends to dealing with many situations involving employees and while we definitely operate using a shared set of policies that are uniformly applied, there’s also room for making adjustments based on the unique situation. There are times that different remedies and support are needed and every employee is entitled to empathy and a solution that meets their specific situation. We have a solid track record of implementing changes based on employee feedback. Based on staff feedback, we recently changed our profit sharing to provide more money each month to your paycheck, and more changes are coming to our salary and bonuses in early 2022. Salaries are benchmarked against similar companies in the area to ensure we’re exceeding expectations, and pay raises are based on both the cost of living increase and merit. We hope you are having success in your new role and wish you well. Thank you. Lauren Sheehan, President

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Great!

    Oct 7, 2021 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Wonderful People that are always willing to help

    Cons

    I have no cons at this time

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    SofterWare Response

    Thank you so much for your feedback and continued service to our customers and your fellow staff members! Many like you say “the people they work with” is their favorite aspect of working at SofterWare. -Mike Sernoff, Senior Vice President

  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Great Co-workers!

    Oct 7, 2021 - Implementation Specialist in Fort Washington, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Teamwork was great - we pitched in and helped wherever necessary and clients loved us.

    Cons

    So much has changed in the world, and work environments have changed with it. I don't know if things will ever go back to how they used to be.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    SofterWare Response

    Thank you so much for the valuable feedback and all your years of service to our nonprofit clients and your fellow employees! We couldn’t agree more with the teamwork and camaraderie you noted. Our client satisfaction ratings have continued to climb to their highest levels thanks to people like you. It's very true what you say about our post-COVID world. We’re now full-time flex because our staff said they like working from home, while others prefer the office. You never know what the future holds, so we’ll continue to listen closely to what our staff and clients tell us so that we’re meeting everyone’s needs. Thank you for the excellent advice! Keeping our family culture is so important, and a challenge as you pointed out, in today’s remote work world. We’ll continue to do whatever we can to keep that family feel, and look out for each other. Thanks again and best wishes from your SofterWare family! -Mike Sernoff, Senior Vice President

  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Decent company

    Oct 13, 2021 - Technical Support Specialist in Fort Washington, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay and benefit package is decent

    Cons

    Not much room for growth. Employees/Departments can be cliquey.

    2 people found this review helpful

    SofterWare Response

    Thank you for your valuable feedback. We take great pride in our salary, benefits, profit-sharing, 401K, and flexibility. In fact, it sounds like you may have left before our most recent changes, including full-time flexibility to work from home or the office, whichever you choose, and profit-sharing added to your monthly paycheck each month. We recognize in this competitive work environment the need to provide career growth and fulfilling work. Our HR team is working with managers to roll-out detailed career planning opportunities. We also offer job shadowing opportunities for people interested in learning more about other roles in the company. For example, we had a former Technical Support Specialist move to a Product Development position after both job shadowing and tuition reimbursement from SofterWare. It is a challenge in today’s remote work world to expand teamwork beyond departments so more employees can work together. We are constantly trying new ways to do so, and we appreciate that feedback. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors. -Mike Sernoff, Senior Vice President

  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    It’s like a cult

    Oct 29, 2021 - Knowledge Management Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fair salary and benefits were offered.

    Cons

    It’s really cult-like. Leadership is pretty stupid. I had a manager who suggested I partake in training, and when I submitted a request for funding was asked “why do you want to take that” by the same manager. Sr. Leadership is only interested in how they look. HR are incredibly stupid.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    SofterWare Response

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re happy to hear you thought the salary and benefits were fair. In fact, based on staff feedback, we recently changed our profit sharing to provide more money each month to your paycheck, and more changes are coming to our salary and bonuses in early 2022. While we do have many employees who have been with SofterWare for a long time, we don’t think that makes us “cult-like”. They just like working here due to our fulfilling work with our nonprofit clients, our work/life balance (now even better with full time flex option to work from home or the office), and top-notch benefits and salaries. We’re sorry to hear about your experience with your manager and training. We take career training seriously, and in addition to tuition reimbursement, we provide online classes, job shadowing and a host of other training options. Hopefully, the question from your manager was intended to determine if the training you identified was the best available option. However, you clearly felt otherwise: all employees are encouraged to speak with our HR team and senior management if they have concerns about their supervisor. While I personally think we have a great looking leadership team, I can assure you their appearance is least important to them. Especially compared to how happy our staff and clients are with our company, products and services. As for our HR team, they work hard every day to provide the best possible work environment, and to find top quality people to join our team. We wish you the best in your future endeavors. -Mike Sernoff, Senior Vice President

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Great Place to work

    Jun 18, 2021 - Devops Engineer Manager in Fort Washington, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very family oriented and looking to make strides with newer technologies.

    Cons

    Has some extremely old legacy software that is in dire need of updating.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    SofterWare Response

    Thank you so much for your continued service to our customers and fellow employees! From our founding, SofterWare has worked hard to treat each other like a family. This means understanding, work/life balance, honest communication, and being there for each other. We’ve been in business for over 40 years, and all that experience is built into our products and services. This gives us an edge as we know our nonprofit customers well and what they need to grow their fundraising success. Adapting to new technologies is critical as you noted, and we are pushing forward every day with new enhancements, features and services. We’re investing millions of dollars to grow our development team so we can more quickly advance our products, make them even easier to use, provide artificial intelligence, and other cutting-edge technologies our clients need to grow their giving and be more successful. Thank you for your comments, your advice, and being a part of our team - we couldn’t do it without you! -Mike Sernoff, Senior Vice President

  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Great People!

    May 18, 2021 - Client Relationship Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexibility, Profit Sharing, Paid Time Off, Awesome People

    Cons

    Silos within Departments, Advancement Oportunities,

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    SofterWare Response

    Thank you so much for your feedback and your years of service to our clients and fellow employees! We’re so glad you appreciated our flexibility, profit-sharing and paid time off, and I'm sure you’re thrilled with the recent changes we made since you posted this review. We now offer full-time flexibility to work from home or our office, whichever you prefer. We now also provide profit-sharing every month in your take home pay, rather than waiting once a year for it to go into your retirement savings only. As for your comment about “awesome people”, it remains the number one reason staff members say they enjoy working at SofterWare so we couldn’t agree with you more! We appreciate your concerns about silos within departments, and it's something the company takes seriously. As you know, we tried various methods to bring employees together cross-departmentally to work on initiatives, with varying degrees of success. We encourage you to bring up these concerns with your manager and senior management so together we can find more ways to work better together. As for career advancement opportunities, we recognize in this competitive work environment the need to provide career growth and fulfilling work. Our HR team is working closely with managers to roll-out detailed career planning opportunities both within your chosen field and throughout the company (should you choose a different path). You should be hearing more about it shortly as we roll this out by department in the coming months. Thanks again for everything you do, and please continue to provide us with this valuable feedback. -Mike Sernoff, Senior Vice President

Viewing 1 - 10 of 43 Reviews
</>Embed

SofterWare Reviews FAQs

SofterWare has an overall rating of 3.6 out of 5, based on over 48 reviews left anonymously by employees. 45% of employees would recommend working at SofterWare to a friend and 38% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -3% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, SofterWare employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.1 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at SofterWare. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

45% of SofterWare employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated SofterWare 3.8 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.4 for culture and values and 3.1 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at SofterWare to be management, benefits, career development and the cons to be senior leadership, compensation.

Popular Careers with SofterWare Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at SofterWare? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

  • Manager(2)

SofterWare Photos

+ Add Photo
SofterWare photo of: SofterWare Softball
SofterWare photo of: Gives Back
SofterWare photo of: Team Lunches
SofterWare photo of: SofterWare Gives Back
SofterWare photo of: DonorPerfect Association of Fundraising Professionals 2015 Conference
SofterWare photo of: Customer Care
SofterWare photo of: Holiday luncheon
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

SofterWare Job Seekers Also Viewed

Ascensus Logo
Ascensus

3.3

432 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 48 SofterWare reviews submitted anonymously by SofterWare employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if SofterWare is right for you.