KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

SofterWare

Is this your company?

SofterWare

Add a Review

SofterWare Reviews

Updated Jun 18, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 33 of over 37 reviews

3.9
72%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
SofterWare CEO Douglas Schoenberg (no image)
Douglas Schoenberg
19 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Great Place to work

    Jun 18, 2021 - Devops Engineer Manager in Fort Washington, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very family oriented and looking to make strides with newer technologies.

    Cons

    Has some extremely old legacy software that is in dire need of updating.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Learned Many New Things

    Mar 24, 2021 - Designer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great for new designers. You hit the ground running and learn many new things about front end web and digital/ print design, UX, and product design.

    Cons

    Not much room for advancement. Pay is low. After a few years of giving all you've got you then have to prove yourself all over again to get a promotion. It’s exhausting and you are left feeling defeated over and over again as you jump through hoop after hoop.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    SofterWare Response

    Thank you for your feedback. We are committed to help employees achieve their career goals at SofterWare through a variety of different professional development programs including job shadowing and internships. Additionally, we are launching a few new employee focused initiatives such as the “Voice of the Employee” to solicit ongoing feedback and create meaningful action plans that focus on the growth and development of our employees. Thank you for drawing attention to the compensation and promotion process as other areas for us to focus. It’s due to this feedback that we’re able to offer competitive salaries benchmarked against similar roles in the area. We also now include career planning for staff as part of regular monthly one on one meetings with their manager, with a focus on concrete steps towards achieving their 3-5 year goals. This planning ensures staff know what they need to do to get promoted or achieve their goals, the assistance they need to achieve it, and clear feedback on their progress. We wish you all the best in your new position. Kathy Piunti, Vice President of HR

  3. The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    1y

    a 

    Sales Engineer

    Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

    394

    160 Comments

    Join the conversation on
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    okay experience

    Mar 29, 2021 - Anonymous Former Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    In my time there, it was steady though not necessarily engaging work. They did try to engage employees with social events even through covid. They tended to promote from within, and I think did their best to try to listen to their employees suggestions (even if not implemented)

    Cons

    sub-par benefits, miscommunication or lack of clear communication from executive team (a prime example is the suddenness of how employees were informed of the selling of an entire product line to a competitor at the start of 2021), was a more reactive work culture than pro-active, some managers had their favorites which could affect how much support you'd receive if looking to explore other roles within the company.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    SofterWare Response

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate your time spent at SofterWare and recognizing our desire to provide advancement and a career path for employees. Our decision to sell a division was a difficult one, but one that we believe was in the best interests of all our stakeholders, including our employees. We took great care to try to minimize the impact on our staff, which included ensuring that every staff member was offered employment by the acquirer with comparable compensation and benefits. As part of the transaction we also negotiated a retention bonus program for our staff. That said, we regret any frustration this business transition has caused you or the other staff involved. With regard to your comments on our communication and planning, we created programs such as Goal Squads as a way to provide more clarity and input into the planning process. We recognize communication can be challenging, so we employ numerous methods such as Second Friday presentations by departments,Town Hall meetings for Q&A, departmental meetings, open access to anyone in a leadership position, as well as email and messaging systems. We also introduced one on one monthly manager meetings to provide more communication directly with each staff member, with a particular focus on career development. If staff have an issue with their direct manager, we encourage them to speak directly to our Human Resources department. Your advice to management is greatly appreciated and well received. We’ll evaluate our communications, in particular the ones you referenced, to see how we could improve. Kathy Piunti, Vice President of HR

  5. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Not terrible, but so much room for improvement.

    Mar 9, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    * Very relaxed atmosphere. * Leadership is very approachable. * Promote from within often. * Job security. * Depending on department, flexible hours. * Most people that you work with are good people.

    Cons

    * Leadership fails to lead. It's incredibly hard for them to make decisions and then to communicate them. * The goal squads (work offloaded from the executive team to the average employee with a lower salary) aren't working, and people know it, but they keep trying to force it anyway. * They will happily promote from within but then offer no support, guidance, or mentorship .. and then wonder why projects struggle and people get frustrated. * Marketing department is toxic and breeds distrust. * Depending on the department, evaluations are fairly unhelpful. * They are still very much invested in maintaining current power structures and doing things that feel "comfortable" instead of taking risks for what is "right". * While leadership is approachable, and will listen, they aren't really hearing you and have no follow-through.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    SofterWare Response

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We continuously look for ways to innovate and improve the way we work, and one example was the formation of the goal squads. It came about from a desire to get more of the company involved in key initiatives, no matter their role or seniority, and make sure everyone is aligned with the company’s goals. We learned from that experience by assessing the results and making adjustments along the way. Additionally, we are always seeking news ways to solicit meaningful feedback from employees so that we can implement changes and new programs to increase employee satisfaction and engagement. In fact, the Communications & Marketing department underwent extensive employee feedback as part of a goal squad initiative and the results improved satisfaction 70% in the last year. Additionally, the department has added additional leadership, including a new CRO and Director of Business Development. As illustrated above, the company takes great pride in not only listening to employee feedback, but acting on it. Another example includes our shift from annual performance reviews to monthly check-ins, which has received overwhelmingly positive feedback from staff who feel more encouraged and connected, with a clear focus on career planning and growth. Your advice to our management team is very good, thank you. In fact, nurturing and cultivating a great team is one of the foundational pillars of our company strategy. We’re sorry you’re no longer at SofterWare to see how all this hard work blossom’s in the months ahead, but we hope your friends at the company will share some success stories with you. Kathy Piunit- Vice President of HR

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Company that Continues to Grow

    Mar 17, 2021 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    SofterWare is a wonderful company with great values and a relaxed atmosphere. They offer great bonuses such as monthly incentives and profit-sharing`. The other employees are always friendly and welcoming. There are plenty of opportunities to expand your professional knowledge.

    Cons

    Some downsides are that many of the products are only be fixed and not improved. Health benefits are around average for companies in the area.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    SofterWare Response

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us! We are so pleased to be able to offer unique compensation components such as the incentives and profit sharing to acknowledge employees contributions to our success, as well as paid professional development to help you grow your skills and career. Your comments about our employees are so true; they really are what make SofterWare the best place to work. While our goal to continue to delight customers remains front and center, we are looking forward to an exciting new direction for our products and services. Please continue to share your feedback with any member of our leadership team. We would love to engage in further discussions with you! Kathy Piunti, Vice President of HR

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Great People!

    May 18, 2021 - Client Relationship Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexibility, Profit Sharing, Paid Time Off, Awesome People

    Cons

    Silos within Departments, Advancement Oportunities,

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Didn’t live up to promises

    Apr 1, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, some nice co workers, plenty of food

    Cons

    Too many pointless meeting, managers dangling a carrot in front of you to work harder but never deliver on promises. A large amount in over their head with positions they hold. Many were given promotions based on their likeability and nothing else. Working hard is no appreciated as you get say pay & bonus as the people who do nothing most of the day.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    SofterWare Response

    Thank you for feedback and your 8+ years of service to SofterWare. We are happy you enjoyed the flexible work arrangement program we offered. We certainly all really miss sharing meals and gathering for other in-person celebrations with all of the wonderful employees of SofterWare. Meetings continue to be a focus for improvement. In fact, we have several meeting resources and tools available to assist our teams in running meetings efficiently and effectively. We continuously evaluate and improve upon our processes and programs to help employees achieve their career goals including promotions, new positions, increasing and/or developing new skills and responsibilities. As part of our new one-on-one monthly manager meetings, career goals and planning is a major focus. We follow a structured and consistent interview and selection process for every open position we fill, both internally and externally. Thank you for sharing your perspective on the pay and incentives as another potential area for us to focus. Our goal is to provide a base salary and quarterly incentives to employees based on their individual accomplishments as well as their efforts in achieving goals that contribute to the success of SofterWare. As for staff performance, we work with employees privately if there are areas of opportunity for them to improve their performance to delight our customers. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors. Kathy Piunti, Vice President of HR

  9. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Was a better company a few years ago

    Mar 23, 2021 - Technical Support Agent in Fort Washington, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - positive, friendly office environment prior to the pandemic - semi flexible work-from-home options - good cafeteria near the office

    Cons

    - pay is median for industry despite our reputation as the best support department in the business - limited opportunities for professional advancement - maternal and paternal leave policies are well below the global average for this industry - healthcare benefits are mediocre - seeing clearly fake/planted Glassdoor reviews - it's a sign of a larger insecurity

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    SofterWare Response

    Thank you for your feedback and for providing meaningful guidance on how we can improve. When the company recognized the health dangers of the pandemic, we immediately put into effect a work from home policy, weeks before the state officially closed the offices. Seeing the benefits of this flexible work arrangement, SofterWare revised its work from home policies to enable nearly all employees the option of permanent work from home when the pandemic ends. The support role does require availability to answer questions from our customers during traditional work hours, so we’re limited in what we can do in terms of work hour flexibility. That said, we offer early and late shifts, we’re testing a mid-day phone break, and we’re constantly evaluating what else we can do to accommodate our staff while maintaining top support for our clients. We encourage you to share your ideas with your manager. SofterWare is committed to providing a rewarding career, both professionally and monetarily, to our staff. In terms of salary and benefits, we benchmark our salaries against similar roles in the area to ensure we’re competitive. Plus, we offer an incentive quarterly bonus as part of the total salary package. SofterWare is also proud to offer something many companies do not, which is a yearly share of the company’s profits. In addition, we offer a company match 401K, paid healthcare and disability insurance, paid time off, annual salary increases, and paid professional development including tuition reimbursement. In terms of career paths, we recognize the desire for our team to grow professionally and advance in their careers. To that end, SofterWare has made it part of our staff’s monthly one on one meetings with their managers to explore the staff member’s 3-5 year career goals and what concrete steps we can take to achieve them. Those steps include internships with other departments. We also seek to promote internally whenever possible for new positions, including on the job training. In fact, our senior vice president started in support! It's important to state that SofterWare does not, and will never, ask any employee to write “fake/planted” reviews on Glassdoor or any other review site. We do encourage participation here and elsewhere, but we never tell employees what to say. The reviews you see on Glassdoor, both positive and constructive, reflect the genuine views of the individuals. We strive to learn how we can do better from the constructive reviews, and what we should keep doing from the positive ones. We encourage you to speak to your manager about your concerns so you can have an exciting, rewarding and fulfilling career at SofterWare. Kathy Piunti, Vice President of HR

  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Overall a positive environment

    Mar 11, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Overall a positive environment, immediate supervisors are helpful and in touch

    Cons

    For a smaller company, the executive team can seem a bit disconnected on occasion

    1 person found this review helpful

    SofterWare Response

    Thank you for your feedback. We encourage you to reach out so that we can understand your feedback in greater depth as well as brainstorm ways to improve. Kathy Piunti - Vice President of HR

  11. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    A place to build a career

    Jan 13, 2021 - Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    SofterWare has continually invested in myself and others to learn and grow in their current field and fields of interest. They do whatever they can to keep their employees engaged and motivated

    Cons

    Leadership can be on a different page than employees, in regaurds to direction and goals of the company.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    SofterWare Response

    Thank you for your feedback! We are pleased to hear that you feel valued and are engaged. It sounds like you have enjoyed the opportunity to take advantage of our robust professional development programs. We also value your feedback for management in terms of better alignments with staff and more clear communication about company goals and directions. We hope the recent videos/presentations by our CEO and CRO have helped, and we would love to learn more about your experience and your suggestions for improvement. Please consider reaching out to your manager or HR to discuss further. Kathy Piunti - Vice President of HR

Viewing 1 - 10 of 33 Reviews

Popular Careers with SofterWare Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at SofterWare? Share Your Experiences

or