KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Solid Digital

Engaged Employer

Solid Digital

Add a Review

Solid Digital Reviews

Updated Nov 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 of over 18 reviews

4.3
84%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Solid Digital CEO and Partner Jesse McCabe
Jesse McCabe
17 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

402

60 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "They also do a good job of trimming the team to the best culture and talent fit.(in 5 reviews)
  • "The team is talented and is committed to doing good work.(in 4 reviews)
Cons
    There are no cons to display at this time.
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Company, Great People

    Nov 20, 2020 - Senior Software Developer in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great People and Lots of Autonomy.

    Cons

    Workload can occasionally be high, although rare.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Transparent (and fun) team to join, even during Covid

    Sep 11, 2020 - Project Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The interview process was very transparent and I was kept updated of all the next steps. I love how hands-on management is--they are working alongside everyone and it makes you realize the entire team truly cares about what the team and the work we do. The team itself is supportive, helpful, and FUN to work with.

    Cons

    None, other than the fact I started during a global pandemic, so I haven't gotten to meet most people in person yet.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Culture and Great People

    Jun 10, 2020 - Digital Marketing Strategist in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The culture is fantastic. It's collaborative and supportive. There are tons of opportunities to both contribute and learn from others. The leadership is very intentional about hiring the right people to keep this environment. Because it's still small in terms of staff, there is room to grow and innovate. Come with new ideas and creativity - it's appreciated and recognized. Client industries and projects are varied enough to keep keep things interesting. Things are very process-driven and organized - yet each task for different clients and projects offer unique challenges. The company practices it's core values both internally and in serving it's clients.

    Cons

    I have not seen any.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great People and Culture!

    Sep 10, 2020 - Team Member 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The best thing about Solid Digital is the team. The people here are talented individuals that enjoy collaborating. Management cares and listens to employee recommendations and feedback. They have implemented a variety of benefits throughout the years to ensure employees are happy and comfortable.

    Cons

    None to share--fun place to work!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    The people + culture at Solid make it an amazing place to work

    Jan 22, 2020 - Project Manager in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The team at Solid Digital is what makes it such a great place to work. One of my favorite things about going to work each day is knowing I get to collaborate with so many creative, smart, and funny individuals. As a small team, everyone is willing to pitch in where needed and I know if I need help, my team will have my back. One of Solid's core values is Honest Guidance and I think this is exemplified in the culture. The team is encouraged to always ask questions and share learnings with each other to ensure we are always growing as a team.

    Cons

    None to share--great place to work!

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Solid Digital Response

    Human Resources

    Thanks so much for taking a moment to share! We're so glad you're happy to be part of the Solid Digital team!

  6. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Culture, culture, culture

    Jan 22, 2020 - Marketing in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing, supportive culture. Super talented team. Fun, collaborative clients. Tons of opportunity for growth and participating in decision-making.

    Cons

    Minor operational hiccups as the company continues to scale high-touch services.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Solid Digital Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for the great review, we are glad you had a positive experience during your time at Solid Digital. Wishing you the best in your career.

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    A fun unique place to work

    May 3, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A great place to work for a developer with lots of chances to learn from an experienced team. The company is still small enough that you get to hear about and sometimes give input into other aspects of the business besides tech. You get to hear what the leadership team is thinking.

    Cons

    Right now the company feels like a tight knit team, but if it gets any bigger, it might not. Cooperation between departments is not always smooth. Sometimes our written values do not jive with trying to hit the budget. Sometimes there's not enough help / direction on how to achieve / move towards high level objectives.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Helpful, hard-working, realistic group

    Jun 25, 2018 - Web Developer in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    * balanced work ethic - it's not one of those places where you see people sitting around and wonder what they do all day; yet the office is empty soon after 5. * helpful, positive attitude - "can-do" is the most common sentiment, and if you can't the team is very willing to teach. * collaborative planning and production - production is encouraged to pipe up if budgets/schedules don't seem realistic; for the most part, you're only responsible for the work you agree to.

    Cons

    * ambiguous career path - no clear path for career growth or moving up in the organization, though periodical reviews make space for such conversations.

    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great culture, interesting work, lots of freedom

    Jun 7, 2019 - Visual Designer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Awesome people who care about the quality of their work and their fellow employees. Small team, fun culture, and snazzy little office. You'll gain a ton of experience and everybody is willing to teach/learn. Management listens, so you'll do well if you're ambitious and come to the table with ideas and solutions. Good coaching and opportunity to grow in your role. Great work/life balance.

    Cons

    As with any agency, workload varies throughout the year...but if you're driven, you can make the most of your downtime by honing your skills or learning something that'll help the team. You have to self-manage a bit. Small team, so not too much upward mobility.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great people; serious internal problems

    Oct 14, 2017 - Designer in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great place to build your portfolio - Kind, funny, and laid back co-workers - People that care about both your personal and career growth - Ability to work from home - New downtown office - Casual environment - Perks are great

    Cons

    - People are in leadership positions that don't belong in that role - Passive aggressive people that avoid issues - Process is undefined and scattered - Responsibilities and people are not held accountable - You will be overworked and taken for granted - Leadership only cares about numbers and will skip steps to launch a project - Lack of respect between different departments - You will be underpaid for your true responsibilities - Things will progressively get worse

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful

    Solid Digital Response

    CEO

    First off, I want to mention that I appreciate this review and find much of the criticism of the company truthful and valuable. It is my opinion, as a leader of a small business that's growing very quickly, feedback like this is going to help more than hurt us as we move forward. I am glad to hear all the positive comments under the "Pros". For most of the "Cons" I can tell you we are actively working to improve each item: Leadership roles: We are taking our time to make sure that the people in the decision making positions are the right players. We jumped too quickly into bringing too many to the table. Passive Aggressive People: I can't change the way others behave when it comes to conflict, but I am personally working on my own shortcomings when it comes to taking on issues directly. Undefined Process: I believe this is incorrect. The process is very well documented and defined, but the problem is that it's not being adhered to. Much of this comes from the challenges of a merger and transitioning a new team to a new way of working. It's a work in progress, for sure. Accountability: This goes back to leadership oversight and following process. If we're ok letting people go outside of process then we're failing at accountability. This is a great point that I am taking to heart. Overworked: Obviously I hate hearing this as I am someone who takes my family time very seriously. We do work very hard here and it's an entrepreneur-style environment. Just because I may work a lot of hours throughout the week doesn't mean I expect our team to match me. We are actively hiring more people to hopefully reduce the load. I would also like to mention that the employees who take on side work have commonly been the ones I notice express discontent with work-life balance. We understand that designers and developers have opportunities to use their skills outside of our business and we have not made any rules against it, but with that flexibility should come a sense of responsibility about how that impacts your overall working experience. Leadership only cares about Numbers: We try to run as transparent of an organization as we can... and I believe that can sometimes have a negative effect. We run an open book company which means all of our financials are visible to the entire company. When you use that data to impact decisions and share that with the team it may be interpreted that it's all we care about. It isn't. And in fact, this was brought up to us as an issue and we are trying to adjust the way (and how often) we communicate the financials so that it doesn't seem like the only thing we are focused on. Skip Steps: Yes we do. It's a bad habit. Underpaid: I believe we pay fairly, but we are typically under market when compared to other companies (not agencies). The solution starts with more sales and higher efficiency when it comes to delivery. That's not something I can change overnight. So until then, we like to get our team involved in how we think we can improve things and I assume it will lead to better pay for everyone. Things Get Progressively Worse: The only things I can't agree with in the list, at all. We are an iterative business that experiments with how to make our organization better. When something doesn't work, we change it. It may not be the right way the first time or the next 10 times after that, but we can't afford not to try without optimistically hoping that our attempt won't help us move toward being a better company. We actively request input from our employees and customers to help us improve everyone's experience.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews

Popular Careers with Solid Digital Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Solid Digital? Share Your Experiences

or

Solid Digital Photos

+ Add Photo
Solid Digital photo of: Collaboration
Solid Digital photo of: Team Collaboration
Solid Digital photo of: Part of our wonderful Chicago team.
Solid Digital photo of: Making remote work fun!
Solid Digital photo of: UI work
Solid Digital photo of: Meetings can be fun too!
Solid Digital photo of: CEO Jesse McCabe sporting Solid Digital merch!
See All Photos