Stylight Reviews | Glassdoor

Stylight Reviews

Updated 22 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 53 reviews

4.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
93%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Stylight CEO Maximilian Müller (no image)
Maximilian Müller
14 Ratings
Pros
  • "flache Hierarchien, entspanntes Umfeld, coole Team Events(in 5 reviews)

  • "great office: former productionhall(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Munich is not the cheapest place to live(in 5 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Recruiting Process and Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stylight full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Best recruiting process I've ever experienced. Detailed and timely responses from HR, quick interview process (~2 weeks total with 4 different people), and I was never left waiting to hear/confused about what was happening next - Easy on-boarding with all need-to-know documents in one place - Culture met my expectations -- easy to ask management/colleagues questions, very transparent with business, lots of... opportunities to give feedback/impact the business, FUN

    Show More

    Cons

    - The time difference between the US and Germany offices/cultural differences can be challenging, but I know we do the best we can

    Stylight2019-02-19

    Stylight Response

    March 12, 2019People & Organization Manager

    Dear Stylighter, thank’s a lot for your very kind words about the recruiting process and Stylight. We are very happy that you are so satisfied and that you feel comfortable working at Stylight. Of course we can understand that the time difference isn’t always easy and we appreciate ...

    Show More
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Learning Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stylight for less than a year

    Pros

    International team, fun and young environment, mentoring, motivational

    Cons

    Not much room for growing in the company

    Stylight2017-01-09

    Stylight Response

    August 28, 2017HR Manager

    Thank you so much for you honest and open feedback - it helps us to improve our processes!

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Long hours, low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stylight full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company is very fun, great culture, a lot of travel, really fun people work there

    Cons

    I'd rather have a higher salary than tons of team building events

    Stylight2017-01-10

    Stylight Response

    August 21, 2017HR Manager

    Dear Ex-Stylighter, thank’s for your feedback - we really appreciate your honesty. Stylight is indeed a company that places a high priority on team events to keep the culture and the team spirit running. This way we can show our appreciation to every employee and encourage collaboration ...

    Show More
  4. "Fun, Innovative and Growing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stylight

    Pros

    -Although rapidly growing, Stylight still maintains a supportive start-up environment -Interns are positively encouraged to take initiative -Supportive feedback systems aimed at employee development -A clear company mission that is actually strongly valued by management -The company allows for work-life balance

    Cons

    -Sometimes communication in the NY office can be a little difficult for certain teams as the HQ is in Munich, Germany

    Stylight2016-03-04
  5. "Fun and formative environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stylight full-time

    Pros

    Great growth potential Company focus on personal development Lots of team building activities A good balance of responsibility and freedom Passionate co-workers Young environment (even founders are very young) International work environment Beautiful office

    Cons

    The headquarters are in Munich and the distance can cause tension. Time differences can feel like it delays work and cultural differences can cause misunderstandings and confusion. Also, sometimes maybe the office is too young

    Stylight2016-01-15

    Stylight Response

    August 28, 2017HR Manager

    Dear Stylighter, thank’s a lot for your kind words and the great rating. We are very happy that you were so deeply satisfied and that you felt comfortable in working at Stylight. In the future we will seek to work on areas that you are not 100% satisfied with. We wish you ...

    Show More
  6. "Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stylight

    Pros

    The New York office is in a great location and is rather laid-back and diverse.

    Cons

    The entire NY team consists of nothing but underpaid interns who were sold a dream as far as what the job description said and what responsibilities ended up being. There was always a lot of confusion and lack of clarity regarding the future of this office and the editorial department itself, which DESPERATELY needs an experienced managing editor/eic to lead it. The management that opened this office lack the... experience and skills to make it successful. There is no upward mobility—but when one intern did get hired full-time, she was fired the very next day. Despite attempts to keep this office in the loop with the headquarters in Munich, it often felt like the NY office was low on the totem pole of priority.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The only way the NY office will survive is by restructuring and hiring people to lead it who actually know what they're doing. Otherwise just give it up.

    Stylight2016-02-19

    Stylight Response

    March 21, 2016HR Manager

    Thank you very much for your honest feedback. We appreciate your input. We are aware that working at a startup can at times demand a lot of flexibility. There are new challenges that are continuously tackled in the process and it’s important for a company to adapt fast to new circumstances ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Cool (German) Start-Up Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Stylight for less than a year

    Pros

    *Lots of responsibility and opportunity to take initiative in all areas of the company *Lots of growth potential *Positive environment/ amazing office/ great team *low hierarchies/consensus-orientation

    Cons

    *Pay could be better (but could be worse.) *Some days are more exhausting than others and if you believe in Stylight and what you are doing, it is worth it! *just girls

    Advice to Management

    Define clear company objectives and be more transparent to employees

    Stylight2015-11-16

    Stylight Response

    August 28, 2017HR Manager

    Dear Stylighter, thank’s a lot for your kind feedback - we are very happy that you liked working at Stylight. Best regards, Noemi

  8. "Free Spirited and Fun Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Stylight for less than a year

    Pros

    -Like any office or workplace, there is a hierarchy but at STYLIGHT you feel a part of the team, as opposed to an individual, lone worker. -Everyone is young and inspired, ready to work. -Dress code that allow you to express your personal style. -Open office space allows for easy and open communication.

    Cons

    -If you like firm, corporate structure this is not a place for you. There's a lot of change and growth that's constantly happening. You need an open mindset that's not focused on corporate protocol. -This is applicable to the job market as a whole, but the future in terms of career opportunities is unclear.

    Stylight2015-06-16
  9. Helpful (4)

    "It was an awesome experience an intern working for a young and international atmosphere!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Stylight

    Pros

    The team was very young and international with a lot of perks and after- work activities.

    Cons

    They rely heavily on interns, therefore it is very hard for interns to have an opportunity to get a job there.

    Stylight2014-08-29
  10. "Fantastic team environment & growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Marketing in Munich, Bavaria
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stylight full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Beautiful office space with free breakfast, Friday beers, and candy - Supportive working environment - Great opportunity for both personal and career growth within the company

    Cons

    - High turnover rate - The culture is changing

    Stylight2019-07-22

    Stylight Response

    September 5, 2019People & Organization Manager

    Dear Stylighter, thank you for the amazing rating. We appreciate your positive feedback very much and are happy that you feel satisfied with working at Stylight. Best regards, Your People & Organization Team

Found 53 reviews