Summit Security Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Summit Security Services Reviews

Updated Jun 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 53 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Robert Auletta & Nicholas Auletta
18 Ratings
Pros
  • "The hour are flexible when working part time(in 3 reviews)

  • "(in 2 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lastly pay rate should be visit, which prompt to guard call out and still lead to overtime by those that can do it(in 2 reviews)

  • "Lack of pay increase & time off benefits(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good company! I would recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Guard in Long Island City, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Summit Security Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours and they work with you.

    Cons

    None very good company

    Summit Security Services2019-06-18
  2. "Pretty Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Officer in Jersey City, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Summit Security Services part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Union, regular raises, opportunity for overtime , management that respects and looks out for you

    Cons

    We are issued the worst shoes and the worst windbreaker on the planet, getting a full time slot can be tough

    Advice to Management

    Try on the shoes and cheap windbreakers you give us before issuing them. They feel horrible.

    Summit Security Services2019-06-13
  3. "Nothing but liars and cheapskates."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Officer in Syracuse, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Summit Security Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is nothing good about this company.

    Cons

    Upper Management has lied from the very first meeting (before the contract change). They told us training (to include the NYS 8 hour Annual) would be offered to us, even if they had to contract it out until the new regional office was set up. Only to find out there is NO training offered. We have to find our own classes and pay for it out of pocket. This is the ONLY company in our area to not offer training of any kind....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop lying to employees. Actually answer your calls or return phone calls. Stand up for your employees. In the meetings held before the contract change, we all had hope for a good company. You acted like a company we could be proud to work for. So much for that....... If I could make this review with no stars, I would.

    Summit Security Services2019-06-14
  4. "Great Corporate Culture - Leadership That Cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Uniondale, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Summit Security Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Senior Leadership has been working together cohesively for many years. They really care about each other and the employees.

    Cons

    None really. Very busy work pace (but that's actually a good thing)

    Advice to Management

    Make sure you don't forget about speaking with the Security Officers. Corporate is busy, but we can't forget about the employees who are the closest to our clients

    Summit Security Services2019-05-06
  5. "it was okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Guard in New York, NY

    I have been working at Summit Security Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    regular weekly paycheck. no discrepancies or mistakes

    Cons

    they should listen to their employees more often

    Summit Security Services2019-03-29
  6. "11 month overviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Unarmed Security Guard in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Summit Security Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    For now No expectional reason (s) just still working.

    Cons

    Accounting personnel needs more jobs to ensure accurate payment. Supervisory roles need more attentions especially in my sites. Nonchalance attitudes to work should be checkmate before it become order of the days. Lastly pay rate should be visit, which prompt to guard call out and still lead to overtime by those that can do it.

    Advice to Management

    There should be compensation to outstanding workers especially on monthly or quarterly basis maybe just $25 gift card or there about. Refresher course for supervisors & guards at least once a year.

    Summit Security Services2019-02-16
  7. "Good People & Okay Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Guard in Albany, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Summit Security Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    We had a good team, a standard consistent schedule and union benefits.

    Cons

    It felt like there was a severe lack of communication between our site and the union. Our benefits did not extend to our immediate families. There was a rapid turnover of supervisors. We had problematic guards(argumentative, aggressive, etc) who despite multiple public transgressions, were not "let go." There was no or very limited upward mobility. Most supervisors were brought in from outside of the company.

    Advice to Management

    Communication is key. We were only familiar with our site and knew nothing of larger happenings within our company. Ditto for the union. Also, if someone is dragging down every team they work with and shouting at the client, maybe don't rotate them from site to site. Maybe sometimes firing a problematic employee is for the best.

    Summit Security Services2019-02-01
  8. "Fire guard and security officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fire Guard in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Summit Security Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great staff. Very professional. Helpful and considerate, in giving overtime as well as coordinating position placement.

    Cons

    Could pay more. Have more growing opportunities.

    Advice to Management

    Would be great, if more advancement was given. Instead of having to wait, for someone to retire from current site. Competition is great, but not when no positions arise.

    Summit Security Services2018-09-17
  9. "Security guard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Summit Security Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Their unprofessional, and don’t care about there employees

    Cons

    They don’t pay properly

    Summit Security Services2018-09-28
  10. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Officer in Hartsdale, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Summit Security Services full-time

    Pros

    They are very Professional. Great sites.

    Cons

    Not that I have noticed. I just do my job.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work.

    Summit Security Services2018-09-01
Found 53 reviews