KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Sunnova

Engaged Employer

Sunnova

Add a Review

Sunnova Reviews

Updated Aug 27, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 188 of over 201 reviews

3.7
67%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Sunnova CEO William J. (John) Berger
William J. (John) Berger
114 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Most of the people are great and the work is satisfying when you're allowed to focus on your duties(in 15 reviews)
  • "decent pay if you are looking for entry level positions(in 14 reviews)
  • "Good benefits(in 13 reviews)
  • "Approachable Management and HR.(in 12 reviews)
  • "Great work environment.(in 9 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Sunnova and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Workplace

    Aug 27, 2022 - Software Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    very good staff ad nice work environment

    Cons

    nothing to comment on the cons, seems good

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee

    It's NOT all bad, but we all know what that means...

    Aug 16, 2022 - Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You will be working with some of the most talented, intelligent and empathetic individuals (although you have to be) in the country. If you're chosen, you have the opportunity to work on projects that impact company growth and promote excitement within the company. We are working toward changing the experience of dealers every day. We have the best products in the industry to continue to provide our dealers with the best offerings!

    Cons

    The best application of the NOVA way is "if everything is important, nothing is". On a call once, I was told "you are authorized to work 7 days a week" - that proves true as every year employees are left with unused PTO that cannot be carried over and the utilization of PTO is abysmal. As I understand it, there is a sweet spot... if you've been there too long, you're stuck as the employee you've always been. If you've been there too short, you're collateral damage... some where in the middle, you are a necessity.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company with great people and great opportunities

    Aug 26, 2022 - Senior Analyst in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture - Upper management is excited about the work being done and their excitement trickles down to the benefit of junior staff. Opportunity - Management provides significant opportunity for you, as a junior member, to experience and take the reigns of various project types. WFH - Department dependent, but there is general flexibility on having a hybrid schedule.

    Cons

    Growing pains - It is clear that not everything has been figured out in terms of managing people.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee

    I would not recommend working here to anyone I know unless your straight of school looking for a foot in the door.

    Jun 9, 2022 - Full Time Corporate Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People are nice Location right off the freeway is good

    Cons

    No matter how much they pay you the workload is too much. This goes for ALL positions as the feeling was across the board in all departments. If you like to work well over 40-50 hours every single week than you’ll be fine. I know some thrive in that environment. From the outside looking back in it seems the company grew very fast and instead of taking a pause to figure things out to become efficient they went full steam ahead with every decision being reactive so you’re consistently dealing with problems that could have been avoided. Again this is for ALL departments. The company operationally is a mess. I didn’t work in Customer Service but those employees were treated like dog poop. Second class citizens. It was disgraceful.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Sales

    Aug 17, 2022 - Sales in Lakeland, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay is great overall no issues

    Cons

    None to my knowledge it’s good

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Decent Company

    Apr 7, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great people to work with - Work life balance for many roles

    Cons

    - Rapid changes in the company risks operational stability (oh here's a new idea every other week, let's try this...is not a good idea) - Not a huge con, but the company is still fairly new so processes are still being defined and trying to find their way through identifying a structure, which makes sense but is helpful to know if you come from a more mature company - Not as many benefits as other companies; their benefits are basic (no adoption help, no unlimited PTO, no formal sick leave policy, etc.) - Pay for many roles! The pay is not competitive & good pay increases are seldom, but they will issue a bonus but unfortunately bonuses are in the form of stock & you do not get an option between cash or stock, which I've never seen before

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Good Pay

    Aug 3, 2022 - Staff Accountant in Miami, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They offer good pay, competitive holidays and time off.

    Cons

    Not enough work life balance, it is the norm to work on weekends.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Onboarding Needs to be Improved

    Jul 27, 2022 - Project Lead 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexibility CEO has a good vision for the company Promote within

    Cons

    Lack of structure Lack of training Lack of team cohesion

    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Horrible culture

    Aug 20, 2022 - Project Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None, management is the worst.

    Cons

    Favoritism, the culture is horrible.

    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Southern corporate mindset

    Aug 11, 2022 - Field Service 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Doubt there are any pros anymore.

    Cons

    They have those awful non-compete contracts that are effectively slavery. They don’t deserve anyone with any experience at all.

    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 188 Reviews

Sunnova Reviews FAQs

Sunnova has an overall rating of 3.7 out of 5, based on over 201 reviews left anonymously by employees. 67% of employees would recommend working at Sunnova to a friend and 76% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -8% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Sunnova employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.6 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Sunnova. This rating has decreased by -6% over the last 12 months.

67% of Sunnova employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Sunnova 3.4 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.6 for culture and values and 3.6 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Sunnova to be senior leadership, benefits, career development and the cons to be work life balance, culture, management.

Work at Sunnova? Share Your Experiences

or

Sunnova Careers

Cover image for Sunnova

What We Provide Sunnova makes solar energy more accessible by providing customized options, so our customers can find the right service...More

  • COVID19 Culture
  • Careers
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Sunnova

268 days ago

Hiring
Start your new year right with a new job! If you're looking for a change and a more fulfilling #career, check out the 70+ #jobs we have available across the U.S. Some featured #job positions include: - Director of Operations - Sr. Vice President, Accessory Sales & Operations - Revenue Management Specialist II - Several Solar Electrician Positions - Sr. Manager of Market Development - Grid Services - Vice President, Commercial - Sr. Manager, Tax And many more. Apply today on our website.
Shared image - Recruitment
Recruitment
workforcenow.adp.com
Logo

Sunnova

268 days ago

Community
It brings us great joy to team up with Child Advocates for the fourth holiday season in a row. Several of our team members generously donated and shopped for Houston-area children who are in the foster care system, in hopes of spreading holiday cheer during our favorite time of the year. With #TeamSunnova’s help, we doubled the number of children we sponsored this year, and continue to be one of Child Advocates’ biggest sponsors for their Santa’s Wish List program this year. If you’d like to donate to Child Advocates during any time of the year, please visit their website.
Shared image - Child Advocates
Child Advocates
www.childadvocates.org
See all

Sunnova Photos

+ Add Photo
Sunnova photo of: NY
Sunnova photo of: In our Call Center
Sunnova photo of: On the Patio in Houston
Sunnova photo of: One of our Product Managers
Sunnova photo of: Technician servicing one of our Customer's systems
Sunnova photo of: Team Sunnova outside our newly named building
Sunnova photo of: In our call center - Houston
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Sunnova Job Seekers Also Viewed

CVR Logo
CVR

2.9

95 Reviews
Compare