Super Micro Computer, Inc. (Supermicro) Reviews | Glassdoor

Super Micro Computer, Inc. (Supermicro) Reviews

Updated Aug 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 324 reviews

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
30%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
Super Micro Computer, Inc. (Supermicro) CEO Charles Liang
Charles Liang
153 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free breakfast, Free dinner if work OT but barely eatable(in 43 reviews)

  • "Company provides free dinner if you work past 8 pm(in 20 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Super Micro Computer, Inc. (Supermicro) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good environment and learning experience

    Cons

    over time for at least 2 hours a day

    Continue reading
    Super Micro Computer, Inc. (Supermicro)2019-02-16
  2. "Nice for the experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Super Micro Computer, Inc. (Supermicro) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great working with knowledgeable hardworking people

    Cons

    Processes need to be updated to allow for efficiency and better productivity

    Continue reading
    Super Micro Computer, Inc. (Supermicro)2019-08-16
  3. "A good learning opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Technician in San Jose, CA

    I have been working at Super Micro Computer, Inc. (Supermicro) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are many excellent engineers working hard to make the company's products more perfect. As a newcomer, I have a lot of opportunities to learn.Cafeteria is pretty good.

    Cons

    Management is a bit clumsy and needs more professional upgrade. For example, to kickoff a project, it requires an engineers to go around and get signatures, which is very very time wasting.

    Continue reading
    Super Micro Computer, Inc. (Supermicro)2019-08-05
  4. "Team leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Worker 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Super Micro Computer, Inc. (Supermicro) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work overtime, decent benefits. Can take vacation up to 3 weeks.

    Cons

    Not so good management. Some team have many of worker, some alonly have a few.

    Continue reading
    Super Micro Computer, Inc. (Supermicro)2019-07-29
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Buy Supermicro Defective Products and they are yours to keep forever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Super Micro Computer, Inc. (Supermicro) for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Once upon a time they cared about their reputation

    Cons

    They want your money, only the money, and only the money, your money is their money now... /they are money grubbing SOB's.

    Continue reading
    Super Micro Computer, Inc. (Supermicro)2019-08-21
  6. Helpful (4)

    "RUN..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Super Micro Computer, Inc. (Supermicro) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Health Insurance and product selection.

    Cons

    Should have listened to my spidey senses during the interview process, something was not right. It is not run like any other tech company I have ever worked for in my career. Everything they told me in the interview process never happened. The guarantee pay they give you to start you will never see that much money ever again. The commission program is the worst in the industry and they cannot explain it to you because that information is company confidential. You have to ship millions every month to make a little bit of commissions. No org charts because the turnover is so high (over 1/3 of the sales people leave every year). You would think that your competition would be Dell, HP, Lenovo etc. but it is the people you work with. There is so many sales people all going after the same business. Everyone is out for themselves and will steal business from you without any hesitation. No sales tools, no way to look up your sales numbers, everything is a secret. Any task takes days or weeks to get completed. If you have any other options for a job I would take it…

    Continue reading
    Super Micro Computer, Inc. (Supermicro)2019-07-24
  7. Helpful (4)

    "solid products; everything else broken"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Super Micro Computer, Inc. (Supermicro) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    no micro management actual products are good designs

    Cons

    internal competing for accounts no territories. People from California cover accounts in New York. Zero leads and every large account is taken weak base 20,000 skus Channel conflict 3 hours wasted every week on internal sales meetings.

    Continue reading
    Super Micro Computer, Inc. (Supermicro)2019-06-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great hardware company which has bright future (if execution is done right)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Super Micro Computer, Inc. (Supermicro) full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Young employees are passionate to make a difference Flat organization - easy access to decision makers Little politics compared to other major organizations

    Cons

    Org Structure, Roles&Responsibilities do not match Too many leaders working on tactical stuff each day; not focusing on executing strategies Do not have a concept of KPIs (it is upon department heads), reward and punishment Lack of 360 assessments - Little initiative for many employees to work across cross-organization. Currently, such efforts is voluntary among employees who still have their head over the shoulder

    Continue reading
    Super Micro Computer, Inc. (Supermicro)2019-04-30
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Think hard about whether you want to join this dysfunctional organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Super Micro Computer, Inc. (Supermicro) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People are nice on an individual basis

    Cons

    Thinking of working here? Give it a good think and go in with clear information first - this place is not for most people who are used to well-run, 'normal' organizational structures and process. Its quite shocking the degree to which Supermicro culture and practices deviate from most commonly-accepted and worthwhile business practices. The culture is primarily that each team and project keeps information and communication to themselves. Cross pollenization and information sharing across teams is virtually non-existent. I was even cautioned to "watch out who you talk to" and "don't share with other teams". There seem to be no real processes or strategic thought - everything is spur of the moment without an action plan or long-term goals. The company is infested with middle and senior managers who are really not much more than paper-pushers or yes-men. Never once was there a staff meeting - a time when the larger team's goals were shared, or where people were recognized, etc. In fact, outside of my immediate manager, I barely heard a peep out of my management chain. Aside from the strategic take, there are a plethora of little weird things that you will also see mentioned in the other reviews: zero work-from-home ability; strange hours - 9-6 (mandatory!), with 2-hour lunch + expectation to stay overtime; 3 or 4 weekly meetings which are just generally the CEO pontificating at the front of the room to hundreds of sales and engineers who should otherwise probably be working to sell or build instead; 2 week's vacation, max that never increases; I could go on...

    Continue reading
    Super Micro Computer, Inc. (Supermicro)2019-05-24
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Toxic and toxic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Super Micro Computer, Inc. (Supermicro) full-time

    Pros

    Can’t think of anything. Maybe free fruit once a week

    Cons

    Everyone speaks Chinese so if you don’t speak it, you feel left out. In some ways, it’s disrespectful because if you don’t understand the language then you don’t know what’s going on or if people are talking about you. No one take any responsibility for anything, no room for growth, always high turnover because people are expected to do way too much with very little pay

    Continue reading
    Super Micro Computer, Inc. (Supermicro)2019-05-17
Found 324 reviews