Synectics Solutions Reviews | Glassdoor

Synectics Solutions Reviews

Updated Apr 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Carol Shanahan
7 Ratings
  1. "Good company with great values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Synectics Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Coach house - subsidised food delivered to your desk. Company day - big annual party Feb time. Lunch hour classes - yoga (payable), Bootcamp and Boxercise. Flexible working hours.

    Cons

    Salaries aren’t the best. No career development plans in progress. Supposed to have annual appraisals.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your staff better. Give people proper objectives for career development.

    Synectics Solutions2019-04-23
  2. "Low pay and no progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Synectics Solutions full-time

    Pros

    laid back working atmosphere, friendly staff

    Cons

    low pay, no routes for any meaningful progression in the company. large number of long term employees who do very little work. this is only being balanced by newer employees having to work harder

    Advice to Management

    be more competitive with salaries, offer meaningful progressions paths. Be honest with pay reviews and get rid of the dead weight staff.

    Synectics Solutions2019-04-09
  3. Helpful (1)

    "We're all family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Synectics Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Feels like one big family, everyone is very supportive and the directors have no problems coming for a natter about nothing just to see how you are. One of the best companies I have worked for. Coach house, food delivered to your desk! Ability to side step into other roles/departments

    Cons

    Salaries don't compete with similar roles within a 40-mile radius. It's a small business that is growing, so it has all the same problems. The app support structure, for instance, doesn't work well needs a restructure but no one can make it happen.

    Advice to Management

    Keep growing the family, keep doing the amazing charity work you are doing but it may be nice to look internally for improvements too, nothing wrong with speaking the staff and shaking it up now and then.

    Synectics Solutions2019-02-21
  4. "IT support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Synectics Solutions full-time

      Pros

      Overall enjoyed working at this company

      Cons

      Long hours, high pressure at times

      Synectics Solutions2018-09-17
    • "Really enjoyed my time there"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Test Analyst in Newcastle under Lyme, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Synectics Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      I was part of the testing team for 3 years and loved my time at Synectics. If it wasn't for the long distance I was traveling, I would still be there. The atmosphere was exceptionally friendly and really felt like one big family. Nurturers offered tea and coffee alot and were always a joy to talk to throughout the day. In house subsidised canteen (The Coach House) whereby you could order food through the intranet...

      Show More

      Cons

      * The working processes were a little annoying as release notes (exported from JIRA) and defect logs were handled via excel documents. * Followed waterfall methodologies with quarterly releases which meant huge release notes and 2 week out of hours roll outs. * All testing was manual and bugs logged onto excel spreadsheets. I have heard there is an automation team now which is good. Got the feeling you had...

      Show More
      Synectics Solutions2018-08-13
    • "Best place I've worked"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Developer in Bursledon, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Synectics Solutions full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Fantastic culture, friendly people, interesting work.

      Cons

      Nothing that I can think of

      Advice to Management

      Keep it up :)

      Synectics Solutions2018-07-15
    • "Community Spirit"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Synectics Solutions for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Community both with the business and in the local area is amazing, the business is so supportive to its staff. We have flexible working and managers are open to covering time for doctors etc.. its very give an take. We work alot with charities and there is always an event to do or just sponsor. Amazing team spirits around a vast mixture of activities from football friday to sewing groups there is something for everyone....

      Show More

      Cons

      Cant think of any at all

      Advice to Management

      keep doing as you are doing :)

      Synectics Solutions2017-06-19
    • "Working at Synectics"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Synectics Solutions full-time

      Pros

      Great people to work with. You won't find a better place to work where your colleagues truly feel like family. Great support from colleagues on both work related and non work related issues. If you find yourself in a difficult spot then don't worry you will have a good group of people to look after you. Food hospitality is very good and brings a lot of daily conveniences. I find myself saving money and time on...

      Show More

      Cons

      Unfortunately the pay isn't very competitive compared to other companies around the area. The location of the area isn't prime due to the large amount of traffic in Stoke itself makes it rather difficult to access conveniently. Expect travel inconveniences around Burslem.

      Synectics Solutions2017-06-18
    • "Great company values"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Synectics Solutions full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Great company values and well managed. Company takes care of its staff and there is a great culture to the company

      Cons

      There should be greater transparency with pay and consistency around flexible working throughout the company

      Advice to Management

      Never lose your culture of the company and continue to consider flexible working policies throughout the business to ensure its fair and consistent in all areas of the business

      Synectics Solutions2017-05-07
    • Helpful (3)

      "Good but not great"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Synectics Solutions full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Relaxed place to work, family atmosphere. Growing rapidly, so you would think there would be plenty of opportunity. The majority of people are talented and friendly. Good fringe benefits.

      Cons

      Salaries are not very competitive, Nepotistic, so hard to see where senior opportunities will arise. No link between performance and reward. Non Technical departments need better structure and leadership.

      Advice to Management

      Get rid of favouritism. Make employee appraisals meaningful. Give people individual role based goals they can actually effect and reward them properly when they are attained.

      Synectics Solutions2017-04-15
    Found 24 reviews