Cover image for TakeLessons
Logo

TakeLessons

Is this your company?

TakeLessons

Add a Review

TakeLessons Reviews

Updated Oct 12, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 86 of over 125 reviews
3.6
69% Recommend to a Friend
61% Approve of CEO

Found 86 of over 125 reviews

3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
TakeLessons CEO & Founder Steven Cox (no image)
Steven Cox
50 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

497

70 Comments

Tech

457.4K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=TakeLessons~341025
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great culture and community.(in 11 reviews)
  • "The pay is fair and you can live off of it.(in 6 reviews)
  • "Great work environment, friendly people, great company.(in 4 reviews)
  • "Everyone is friendly and they truly care about your success and wellbeing.(in 3 reviews)
  • "The culture and management at TakeLessons are why we work here.(in 3 reviews)
Cons
  • "There are no benefits.(in 6 reviews)
  • "Professional sales people make between 10% and 20% commission... 20% is for the well seasoned and highly successful salesperson... SOMETIMES 25% can be negotiated by & for the EXTRAORDINARILY talented salesperson.(in 3 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    English

    Aug 26, 2021 - Lesson Writer in Pflugerville, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Creative, Funny, Attractive, Excellent, Peaceful

    Cons

    Boring, too long with no point

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Has it’s pros and cons

    Sep 25, 2022 - Teacher in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love teaching and having the freedom to create my own schedule well doing a job that I love. It’s also great that Take Lessons finds students for you. I created my profile and within days had my first student.

    Cons

    For private students it’s easy to understand how much you will make. Take Lessons is very straight forward about the percentage they will take from your pay per lesson. But, that are not straight forward about live classes and you have no idea what you are even making. All they will tell you is it’s based on an algorithm that they will not share . It’s also listed on there website that for live classes you get a flat rate even if no students show up but they won’t tell you what that flat rate is either.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  3. Join the TakeLessons team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Shady with Zero Transparency

    Oct 12, 2022 - Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Private Lessons are okay bc you know a range of what you'll be paid.

    Cons

    This company hides what their teachers will make per live class, saying it's based on an algorithm but not offering what that is, or any sort of range of pay. So they want you to work for them, and put all of your time and energy into teaching live classes - but they don't want you to know what they'll be paying you for it! What they've told me over and over again is that I need to wait until the next MONTH to see what I'll be paid for all the classes I've taught in this current month. This does not seem legal at all. "Work for us, and get a completely surprise pay!"

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great way to find students

    Feb 19, 2022 - Private Teacher/Tutor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    TakeLessons manages recruitment, reminders, payments, and tax forms for you. You set your own schedule.

    Cons

    TakeLessons takes a percentage and I mostly get new students during promotional periods, which means I get less.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Excellent work culture!

    Jun 22, 2021 - Marketing in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people are amazing, and the CEO is extremely involved. It is a tight-knit team and the work culture is unlike any other I've experienced.

    Cons

    Currently pretty all remote, but other than that I love it!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Former Teacher

    Apr 28, 2021 - Teacher in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    freedom of schedule, fairly high tech website

    Cons

    limited student base in some areas, many students get coupons and only take a couple lessons and never plan on being full time students

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company and great culture

    Feb 25, 2021 - Management in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    TakeLessons is a great, amazing team and amazing leadership. * Team has done well working remote, very collaborative and everyone seems to be responsible. * Leadership is transparent with where the business is * good opportunity due to growth

    Cons

    * every business has cons, as people are involved. I personally don't have any suggestions for improvements

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Frees me up to do what I love - teach

    Feb 11, 2021 - Fiber Arts Instructor in Hartford, CT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Scheduling, Marketing, Customer support, Easy to use

    Cons

    Takes part of my pay (but worth it)

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good company to work for

    Dec 24, 2020 - Trumpet Player in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Allows you to set your own rates - Payscale increases the longer you retain students

    Cons

    - Can be difficult to find students

    1 person found this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work!

    Dec 20, 2020 - Content Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Awesome company culture, organized and efficient processes, work for a company that makes a positive impact, fully remote.

    Cons

    I haven't found any cons thus far.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 86 Reviews
</>Embed

TakeLessons Reviews FAQs

TakeLessons has an overall rating of 3.6 out of 5, based on over 125 reviews left anonymously by employees. 69% of employees would recommend working at TakeLessons to a friend and 51% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 3% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, TakeLessons employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.1 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at TakeLessons. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

69% of TakeLessons employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated TakeLessons 4.4 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.7 for culture and values and 3.9 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at TakeLessons to be career development, coworkers, culture and the cons to be management, benefits, compensation.

Work at TakeLessons? Share Your Experiences

TakeLessons logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

TakeLessons Photos

+ Add Photo
TakeLessons photo of: Company Photo
TakeLessons photo of: Toastmasters Officers Appointment meeting
TakeLessons photo of: Our annual company BBQ.. some getting soaked and missing the cup
TakeLessons photo of: Halloween in the office
TakeLessons photo of: Some of our culture ambassadors
TakeLessons photo of: Teambuilding
TakeLessons photo of: Annual Company BBQ
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

TakeLessons Job Seekers Also Viewed

Houzz Logo
Houzz

4.0

1,393 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 125 TakeLessons reviews submitted anonymously by TakeLessons employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if TakeLessons is right for you.