TakeLessons Reviews | Glassdoor

TakeLessons Reviews

Updated Mar 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 76 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
TakeLessons CEO Steven Cox (no image)
Steven Cox
44 Ratings
Pros
  • "It is nice to connect with new students(in 6 reviews)

  • "The company supports teachers by advertising, customer service, providing the online website/platform/scheduling and general assistance in any way(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "The sad part is the way they handled my complaint about how this policy has almost costed me (and them) 2 new students(in 9 reviews)

  • "When a student begins with you, the website takes 40% of your hourly rate(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Customer Service Representative in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TakeLessons full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work environment, friendly people, great company.

    Cons

    Can get a little boring and repetitive work at times.

    TakeLessons2019-03-19
  2. "Amazing culture, love the product and coming to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TakeLessons full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture is great, after training there is no micromanagement and the days go by pretty fast. Leadership is encouraged and it just feels like a family!

    Cons

    Not much room for growth

    TakeLessons2019-03-19
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Not for serious musicians..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructor in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at TakeLessons part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wider exposure...especially if you're new to the area.

    Cons

    They take a ridiculous amount of your pay. Website tends to have issues at times.

    Advice to Management

    Find a better pay structure. No self-respecting musician with experience and legitimate qualifications will allow themselves to be subjected to this kind of pay for very long. You are practically begging teachers to use your service for the sole purpose of bumping up their student count, then ditching the service and keeping the students. Take Lessons could be a useful service if the site was far, far, far less... greedy.

    Show More
    TakeLessons2019-03-26
  4. Helpful (3)

    "You can do better to host your own website and advertise on Facebook or through Google"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Tutor in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TakeLessons for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Maybe a pro for some people to get a tax document so they can show losses.

    Cons

    Uh! This website sucks!

    Advice to Management

    Be more proactive and dont shut down conversations between students and teachers.

    TakeLessons2019-01-22
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Student Counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Counselor in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TakeLessons full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Treat employees well, good working environment

    Cons

    Jobs is basically a telemarketing job not a sales job as I thought going in

    Advice to Management

    Be transparent that the job is a telemarking job

    TakeLessons2018-12-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Specialist in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TakeLessons full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    TakeLessons is an awesome company to work for. The perks are fantastic (health benefits, 100% telecommute, company picnics, beautiful open space office, etc.) but the best part is being able to work with such a passionate and intelligent group of people motivated to get stuff done. The team is very supportive of each other. Everyone is open to feedback, and we're encouraged to share our ideas. If you have a... chance to work here, I would recommend it!

    Show More

    Cons

    Not really any cons that I can think of but as a growing organization there can be some rapid changes put in place, so you have to be flexible and self-motivated.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work! TakeLessons is moving in the right direction and what you are doing is making it better every single day!

    TakeLessons2018-10-08
  7. "3 Years Down, Many More To Go"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Coordinator in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TakeLessons full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The culture and management at TakeLessons are why we work here. Everyone is very upbeat and supportive. If you need help, training, or a pep talk someone is there for you. They're very flexible with your goals and are willing to help you reach them. Plus who doesn't love the ability to work remotely!

    Cons

    No snacks for remote employees.

    TakeLessons2018-09-17
  8. "Facebook Marketing Specialis"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Coordinator in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TakeLessons full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    TakeLessons is like a family. Everyone is friendly and they truly care about your success and wellbeing.

    Cons

    No cons - So far the entire management department has been great

    Advice to Management

    Hats off to the management team

    TakeLessons2018-09-17
  9. "Excellent Culture, Values, & Vision - From an In House Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Marketing Specialist in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TakeLessons full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The team at TakeLessons is one of a kind. Everyone here is passionate about what they do, which creates an awesome culture to be a part of. The flexibility to work remotely is another huge perk! The company's overall mission is to help others make a living doing what they love - teaching their skills and talents to the world! So you feel very motivated to come to work, and accomplished at the end of the day.

    Cons

    I honestly can't think of any. This is an excellent company to work for and I'd recommend it to any of my friends!

    TakeLessons2018-09-15
  10. "Great Company to Work For (from an actual in-house employee)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Marketing Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TakeLessons full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Genuine, friendly, and hard-working colleagues all committed to helping teachers earn more money - Excellent work culture that fosters lifelong learning of our own, as well as our students and teacher partners - Good pay, benefits, and work-life balance

    Cons

    - Remote employees can't work face to face with office teams, so that sometimes makes it harder to do our best work, but this isn't really the company's fault, this is just the downside of choosing to work remotely.

    TakeLessons2018-09-10
Found 76 reviews