KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Takeaway.com

Is this your company?

Takeaway.com

Add a Review

Takeaway.com Reviews

Updated May 30, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 223 of over 266 reviews
3.7
69% Recommend to a Friend
Takeaway.com Founder and CEO Jitse Groen
84% Approve of CEO

Found 141 of over 266 reviews

3.7
69%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Takeaway.com Founder and CEO Jitse Groen
Jitse Groen
96 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

436

62 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great

    Jun 12, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible and nice co-workers, e-bike does most of the work.

    Cons

    The bags can be heavy sometimes but this is just nitpicking.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    takeaway

    Feb 16, 2018 - Takeaway Server 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    flexible hours to be for sure

    Cons

    angry people to be for sure

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Takeaway.com Response

    Team Lead BE/NL

    Hey, nice to receive your review. Sorry to hear that you had to deal with some (h)angry customers. Thanks for holding on during your shifts regardless, though!

  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Manager

    Dec 13, 2015 - Manager in Norcross, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great job , opportunity , work environment & people.

    Cons

    Hard work , unpredictable hours ,& traffic

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Very good

    May 30, 2022 - Lead Researcher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good package, low stress environment, friendly colleagues.

    Cons

    Very hard to qualify for higher positions, and get a better salary.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Great

    May 29, 2022 - Guest Service Team Member - Cashier 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's a reputable company that cares about its employees

    Cons

    They do could increase rates

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    What I've experienced at Takeaway as a rider in Brasov, Romania. Pros & Cons.

    Feb 23, 2022 - Courier in Braşov
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A place to stay/a shelter. Warmth. We actually have a tennis table at our hub and a tv which is really really great. It's nice when you get a free order for that day if it was not possible to deliver it to the client, especially when you haven't eaten that day. Good equipment. Jackets, waterproof pants, pull-over rubber shoes, hat. Free coffee, free milk for coffee, free sugar for coffee, and drinks. Hot & cold water. Microwave which is really nice to warm up some food. Bean bags are also really nice. Shift adjustments. Free bike wash at the hub. :D Coordinators and director are doing their best to help push the company and upgrade. They provide you with bikes and e-scooters and a car. Free COVID protection masks at the hub, which is a big plus. Lockers. The Dispo team is super mega friendly. We received a new years eve package with goodies which were really really nice :D and the coffee was absolutely wonderful. Some bike parts can be changed at the hub on the spot.

    Cons

    The app is not very responsive and keeps having bugs. Delayed order notifications. App delivery errors like delivering 1 order and then receiving another one with pickup in just 4 minutes, 4km's away. Dispo chat keeps crashing/not working. The employee is a little bit severe. Lack of spare bike parts. Bikes in poor conditions become stressful to work on. Old batteries. Outdated bikes compared to the same company in other countries or even cities in Romania. Everybody tells you to rush rush rush, which is not very pleasant. Bad bad bad health insurance. Overall a very bad health insurance experience. Poor advertising & advertising investments in Brasov, Romania for Takeaway. Unclickable links in Dispo chat. They don't care if you need to go use the bathroom and you have orders to deliver, you must deliver the order, body health is neglected. If you have health issues you have this feeling like, why do you have health issues, in an aggressive way, like you shouldn't have, like it's your choice. As I said, health is not important/neglected/misunderstood. Bikes that are sent to repairs come back with the same damages or only half repaired. If you need some energy and need a little bit of food and you say that you're gonna grab along the way, the director says that you shouldn't be anywhere else than at your work and at your order, even if it's in your way and you can stop and buy something to eat fast. Adverts listed inside the hub & from training programs are not as available within the app. The information doesn't correspond with the possibilities. Poor information about bike functionalities and bike recognition, bike parts, etc. I had to request the health insurance discounts catalog to have it given to me. Imagine that. I think nobody has it but me at the hub. This is wrong. I had to make a battery/bike compatibility chart myself because nobody ever did it before so I volunteered, but I shouldn't have been through that process. I was told that I complain a lot and that I want things to be perfect when the bikes clearly had issues and were broken. So that was devastating for me and I consider that was abuse. I didn't get any salary bonus for doing that

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee

    OK but not great

    Feb 14, 2022 - Sales Manager in Bucharest, Bucuresti
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent salary range with additional highly respected benefits

    Cons

    less than average individuals everywhere in the organization

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Big Nooo, big psychos

    Feb 17, 2022 - Product Analyst in Amsterdam
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have worked in the team for nearly a year. For a company of this age the product is absolutely not worthy. It baffles to see me how users are using takeaway app/website at all. The reason that there is not other competition, make them even ignorant of the customers. You will be working on stuff that you may have learned early stages of your carrier and you just stay there. The entire team is extremely unproductive and the are not contributing to anything. You constantly get OKR's from the management and does not reflect the reality of the problems faced by the squads/teams. There is no freedom of decision making. Any skilled persons will soon be forced to shut their mouth and play along, HR team will ensure that happening with massive support from leadership team. I tried to support the entire team (inspired by one skilled PM) despite my personal conditions (tragedy in the family) and I was forced to take up contract position, when I wanted to leave the company completely (due to family condition). They then forced me with new contract signatures. When I had enough and left the company, now they are harassing me in the name of devices & employment contract, coercing to play along. It seems to be the trick that was much discussed on their slack channel to retain the people. You will regularly see the customer support messages where IT team would sell the devices off market and harass the members. The HR team it seems targets racially disadvantaged people and they take advantage of skilled persons that are mainly hired from abroad. Dutch laws are extremely disadvantageous to skilled persons from non-EU countries who are dependent on the Sponser (dutch company). So be aware especially if you are getting hired from abroad. Make sure to be not sympathetic to them and I learned it hard. I am still to this day fighting their malicious practices months after I left the company and left the country. - If you do not want to work and just pass time you can join - You can be the most knowledgeable person - You can spend the entire time learning new things if interested.

    Cons

    - IT teams are thieves and HR team are liars. - You can learn the height of harassment and mental torture from the team - Teams are full of people who over promise and under deliver. - If you are from non-EU country, be ready to be taken advantage of. - Uncompetitive market positioning means no innovation needs - No company culture what so ever. - you have teams that are completely isolated and act on their own

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Bike Courier in Leeuwarden

    Dec 4, 2021 - Bike Courier in Leeuwarden
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - A flexible job with the possibility to extend or reduce a shift period - International team

    Cons

    It is absolutely hard to bike in the winter conditions

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great company

    Nov 18, 2021 - Live Operations Specialist in Amsterdam
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good and overall chill work environment.

    Cons

    None (You must enter at least 5 words for Cons.)

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 141 Reviews
</>Embed

Takeaway.com Reviews FAQs

Takeaway.com has an overall rating of 3.7 out of 5, based on over 266 reviews left anonymously by employees. 69% of employees would recommend working at Takeaway.com to a friend and 53% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 1% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Takeaway.com employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.4 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Takeaway.com. This rating has decreased by -6% over the last 12 months.

69% of Takeaway.com employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Takeaway.com 3.8 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.8 for culture and values and 3.2 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Takeaway.com to be benefits, workplace, coworkers and the cons to be career development, senior leadership, management.

Popular Careers with Takeaway.com Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Takeaway.com? Share Your Experiences

or

Takeaway.com Photos

+ Add Photo
Takeaway.com photo of: In the Amsterdam board room
Takeaway.com photo of: Informal meeting time
Takeaway.com photo of: Fun-loving
Takeaway.com photo of: Presentation time
Takeaway.com photo of: Lunch time
Takeaway.com photo of: Snow event
Takeaway.com photo of: Friday
See All Photos

Glassdoor has 266 Takeaway.com reviews submitted anonymously by Takeaway.com employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Takeaway.com is right for you.