KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Tango

Is this your company?

Tango

Add a Review

Tango Reviews

Updated May 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 97 of over 107 reviews

2.9
34%
Recommend to a Friend
23%
Approve of CEO
Tango Founder and Executive Chairman Uri Raz
Uri Raz
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "I love the culture at Tango Austin(in 9 reviews)

  • "working environment(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours, no recognition, poor management(in 13 reviews)

  • "I was sold on the promise Tango is going to be the next whatsapp and it's growing very fast(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great

      Jul 8, 2019 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun sense of Camaraderie learned a lot

      Cons

      No job securityBackbiting Long hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Great talent

      May 14, 2020 - Software Architect in Mountain View, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Best engineers, great team, lot of friends

      Cons

      no clear direction, no focus

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great people. Extremely motivating environment. Very good long-term outlook.

      Aug 31, 2014 - Senior Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked in Tango for a bit less than a year (I had to leave because I've got my dream job in Google, not because I didn't like working in Tango) on H1B visa. Before joining Tango I've read some of the negative reviews on Glassdoor and was a bit hesitant about joining. I'm very glad I ignored all these reviews! My overall experience with Tango was extremely positive: - I've learned a lot of new things in a very wide range of topics and as a result I improved as an engineer tremendously! - I've met a lot of very smart and motivated people and made a lot of friends! - All managers that I was working with (directly or indirectly) were extremely helpful and responsive to my needs! - I had an opportunity to take a peek into insides of a very successful Silicon Valley startup! - Last but not least I should mention all the perks: great food 3 time a day, a lot of team/company events, phone/education/gym reimbursements...

      Cons

      With more than 200 employees and almost $300 millions of raised funds Tango should already be considered BigCorp for all intents and purposes, not a Startup. And most of the cons in my opinion are strongly tied with the inability to switch away from "startup mode" in which Tango continues to operate: - too much focus on the short-term - inefficient, outgrown code review practices - reluctance, unwillingness of mentoring new people - occasional mandatory work on weekends - a lot of flakiness in the decisions

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Welcoming environment with a lot to do

      Oct 16, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The management has been working hard to create a pleasant work environment. The office is nice, the meals are good, and so on. It's a nice place to work at. The only exception I can think of is that the open spaces may get a bit too noisy around noon because of all the conversations on how to do this and that. The engineering team is great, very smart and friendly.

      Cons

      The app feels mediocre at best. Many engineers have a distaste for their own product. There doesn't seem to be a solid idea of what to do next product-wise. This translates into engineers working on tasks which would otherwise be of low priority. And somehow that does not result in perceived improvements in the overall quality of the app. Maybe that's because it has grown into such a behemoth with a lot of features accumulated over the past few years. The code base is getting increasingly hard to maintain. The pace of development doesn't match the "startup mode" which the company is supposed to be in.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      If you have realistic expectations its great!

      Dec 29, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of ownership of work, and ability to make an impact. Benefits are pretty good compared to other tech companies. Smart people who are good at expressing themselves and communicating upwards get recognized. Still small enough to get C-Level executive time when needed. Lots of improvements in flight and are super exciting!

      Cons

      If you don't have a fire in your belly for startup work, don't bother. Many people who get frustrated forget that it's a startup. Engineers who are entitled or aren't prepared to iterate on their work should stay away. Many people get frustrated when they don't really understand why things are done a certain way. It is not that abnormal to hear "we've always done it this way" from some of the older employees - if you know what you are doing you can usually bat away the concern. Those that really know what they are doing thrive, those that don't or fake it get broken.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Naive product decisions

      May 29, 2016 - Senior Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly environment, fine benefits, acceptable work load, nice office, OK food.

      Cons

      1) While other competitors in the area focus on improving their core technical competency, Tango try to defeat its competitors by putting weird buttons promoting silly features everywhere to increase engagement... LOL 2) The product design can be ridiculous. For every feature that's could be correctly built and used by users, eventually it become weird and scares users away, thanks to its innovative product team. 3) Weak engineering team. While engineers at other companies take bold movement and do something that's actually challenging and innovative, engineers here focus on mess up their apps again and again to annoy users. 4) Weak infrastructure. The company has no interest of making the foundation solid. The app and the services are glued together and all like a mess. As a result, the company moves either too slow, or too fast to maintain its paces and get things worse.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Tango's culture is ambitious, diverse and full of opportunity.

      Apr 14, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Mountain View, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Innovation & openness to new ideas - Opportunity to advance and/or switch teams to work and contribute to new areas of interest within the company - There is always something new happening - People are nice - People are passionate about the product and their role in contributing

      Cons

      - Internal communication across teams - Culture clashes: We have a diverse team which is great, but when people are from different countries and unfamiliar with business etiquette in America then they often offend others without knowing or understanding why they offended the other.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Strong culture, open environment, very communicative and smart

      May 27, 2014 - Marketing in Mountain View, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Tango is a hard working culture, but I find it no harder than any other start-up I've been at. People here are smart and open. There are no hidden agendas. I enjoy the close collaboration. The culture encourages trust, passion and transparency - and it's very apparent when you work here. The unique thing about Tango is its ability to try new things and to turn ideas into action. The benefits and perks are above par - 401k match, free meals, unlimited PTO, solid health care benefits, gym reimbursements, education, etc. In addition, the office environment is very open and nice.

      Cons

      Need to focus on tighter brand management and a very cohesive user experience is a must. I also want to know that there is career opportunities and runway for women leaders here.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Tango's past and future is doomed! Don't apply here.

      May 15, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free food, some nice people, unlimited PTO(but this is a lie and scam, management will talk to you for taking too many, dumb as hell)

      Cons

      Sad to see and hear that after two years I was employed at this place, it still hasn't changed one bit. The same exact dysfunction from the past still exist today. Every negative review on here is very true and exact. I experienced the same issues before from the constant lies and deceit by executives, lots of politics, heavy and unfair favoritism, lots of back stabbing, an app the pretty much copies every thing with no innovation. It gets very bloated with so many useless features that aren't fully understood and just simply copied from competitors. It's also very disturbing and jarring to the users that on every update, the app changes completely. I highly discourage anyone from working here, will only be a complete waste of time and effort. There's no common decency, respect, and trust. Oh yes, they also told and made us create fake positive reviews to offset the truth and bad reviews. Their constant bad influences and practices has finally caught up with them, losing countless employees, opportunities and now, a lot of users. You reap what you sow.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      This is a company you want to avoid - no matter how interesting it looks. It's not a healthy place.

      Sep 30, 2012 - Anonymous Employee in Palo Alto, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Crazy valuations. You might actually make money. The growth is impressive and that is what lures you into the company. There are a few great people that work there.

      Cons

      Cruel to employees. Unprofessional. Hostile environment and a complete luck of trust. No management skills. No culture, no value on personal health and personal happiness. Management is fake and puts on a show to look good instead of running a good company. Truly dysfunctional and filled with unhappy employees The executive management team is particularly a problem and sets the tone for a miserable work environment. Humiliation is an often used tactic to 'manage' people. Questionable ethics. Promises of trips, bonuses, time off, rewards for jobs well done, all broken and not delivered. Common practice to offer something nice for the 'next release', but never deliver on that promise. Easy to fall out of the 'in crowd' and be treated disrespectfully and with the cold shoulder treatment. You should really consider how much you want to sacrifice in order to work here. It's too much for too many people.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 97 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Tango Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Tango? Share Your Experiences

    Tango logo
    or