TextMaster Reviews

Updated Apr 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
72%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
TextMaster CEO Thibault Lougnon
Thibault Lougnon
7 Ratings

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

  1. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    chaos and horror, absolutely unpofessional

    Apr 19, 2021 - Chef De Projet in Paris
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    none, sorry, I cannot come up with any.

    Cons

    - Racism and badmouths: employees in the translation section often talk badly behind each other backs but while searching for new employees, they all do their best to give a super positive image and all pretend to be a super-harmonic team in the beginning- don't get fooled. The head of Production does not have a problem with being openly racist against a whole nation while sitting at the lunch table with others: I witnessed how she claimed, that " all Dutch people show some really inconvenient behaviour". she also said:" I do not really like my German teacher but at least she is cute", this left me truly baffled and speechless. - Chaos The management team within the translation section is absolutely badly organised and quite chaotic. The communication with clients is very unprofessional and sometimes even rude. You rather have the impression of sitting amongst a group of high school teenagers than working in a professional agency. Please note: the nicer they talk to you, the more careful and suspicous you should be: there might be something going on behind your talk. You won't find open discussion and honesty here. Freshers are treated like throwaway goods, high fluctuation! - Be very careful: If you are freshly employed and they don't want to work with you anymore after a short period of time, they tell you the very last day. This is very unsocial and unprofessional. If you tell the head of your team, that you feel very depressed about having to leave, they simply LAUGH in your face. She literally laughed. Th is is an absolute No Go! All in all, this agency is simply catastrophic, rude and unprofessional and sometimes they even work at the edge of fraud when it comes to their Freelancers. I have the impression that they all care so less, because the agency was bought up by Acolad , a bigger international agency. So, there might be no worries about fradulent behaviour, I guess. In conclusion, I cannot recommend anyone to start there. Avoid them at any circumstance whether as a Freelancer or as a job seeker. You will find better everywhere else. Now, let's see how many positive fake evaluations follow mine or if my evaluation gets deleted by them...

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    TextMaster Response

    Marketing Manager

    We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience working at TextMaster. However, after an internal investigation, we can confirm that the claims made are not accurate. We can understand the frustration to be refused a permanent contract in a company after a trial period. However, the standard processed was followed : when on a trial period, employees have a one-month checkpoint where the manager highlights areas of improvement to work on when relevant, in order to confirm the permanent contract. In that specific case, you unfortunately did not manage to improve them: this is why after two months in our team, we had to end the trial period. However, we recommended you to other agencies after you left, as we sincerely wanted to help you find a job that would be a better fit for you than the one offered by our company. Due to the seriousness of these allegations you made, we would like to remind you that making untrue defamatory statements amounts to libel which is an offence under French Law (Freedom of the Press Act of 29 July 1881). We hope that once the anger has passed, you'll be willing to discuss them with us directly if you feel the need. The TextMaster team

  2. 2.0
    Current Contractor

    terrible pay and platform

    Oct 26, 2020 - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    payment is quick project manager's response is instant

    Cons

    1. the rate is so-so, but they don't pay for content of 100% repetition rate. I picked up a task that said only 2200 or so words, but after i opened it, it suddenly became 12000+ words, with only 2200 payable... On their "easy-to-use"platform, you can't even know which is paid which is not. Even though some segments have 100% repetition rate, you still have to painstakingly click "confirm" one after another after another...(1000+ segments) This is ridiculous. It is also akin to lying. 2. there isn't much work and tasks usually aren't very interesting. Some are overly technical and some don't have (much) context. 3.Sometimes they contact you, saying there is a such and such big project and ask you if you want to join. But later there isn't any followup. The whole thing just vanishes. Once I asked the project manager and was told the project was just cancelled... 4. the translation platform is a torture. It doesn't show machine translation suggestions.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Freelancer

    Good place to start to do online translation

    Oct 1, 2020 - German> English Translator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good platform for getting started with online translation and will give you reasonable entry-level experience, no language qualifications needed to work at standard level, just need to pass a short translation test, also very attentive support staff to help with problems

    Cons

    Relatively few jobs, don't rely on this for your main income, but still useful for earning some extra money

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Freelancer, less than 1 year

    Texmaster, now Acolad, is under tax audit by the French government since 2019

    Jun 20, 2020 - Freelance Copywriter in Frankfurt am Main
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    No pros after my bad experience

    Cons

    Alhough I have provided all necessary information from the beginning and provided with the help of my tax advisor a confirmation from the German tax authorities that I have paid all my taxes correctly in Germany they still send canned emails (without addressing me personally) and send me a long form that they want me to send all those personal data via an unsecure email without giving further details and without respecting GDPR data compliance. I have done only one job for them in 2018, had already costs for the tax advisor caused by Acolads problems with the tax authorities and after I spend hours to send them all information they still continue to send canned emails. I really regret that I ever did one job for Textmaster and will never work for them again.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Freelancer, more than 1 year

    Excellent company for translation and reviews

    Apr 16, 2020 - Interpreter/Translator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good WoW, decent rates and fast pay

    Cons

    Not enough tasks for the translator

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Freelancer

    Good Company but not much work

    Mar 27, 2019 - Freelance Translator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Rate is good Has their own Translation platform Prompt Response from Project Managers Quick pay, almost instant Do not rush translators

    Cons

    There is not much work for my language pair. Sometimes the online platform sometimes is not working well and hinders translation.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Freelancer, less than 1 year

    Great entry-level casual work

    Oct 16, 2018 - Community Translator in Paris
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    *You can accept tasks at your leisure which means that you set how much or little you want to do. * Pay per task is low for the field, but is perfectly reasonably for entry-level and casual work: it's easily better than other part-time jobs, too. * Project managers and moderators are very helpful and communicative in resolving issues. * Variety of work also improves your skills and lets you translate based on your interests.

    Cons

    * Tasks are accepted quickly, so you always have to keep a page refreshing – not always the most convenient, but a necessary evil of the job!

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Nice atmosphere and colleagues

    May 11, 2018 - Project Manager in Paris
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Young, hard-working colleagues that are all very nice. Good atmosphere at the office. Very centrally located in the 2nd arrondissement of Paris, close to lots of good restaurants & take-away. Yoga after work. Autonomous work. Easy to work from home, if you're ill or have to be at home. Managers are open to suggestions for improvements in workflow or software, and these are followed up if deemed useful. Nice clients, which you get to meet in person at events.

    Cons

    Salary is low compared to other employees at TextMaster. No money available for other equipment than a desk, chair and laptop, so you'll need to bring your own mouse, keyboard and laptop stand. Less flexibility in adapting daily working hours to personal situations. The French team managers are young and unexperienced, and sometimes have difficulty managing people in a constructive way, and managing other cultures. Managers require you to be very autonomous. Even though they will help if you ask them, there are no weekly or monthly personal meetings with your manager. The software for project managers is outdated and not very user-friendly, but small tweaks are possible.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Freelancer

    A good platform, perfect for freelancers

    Jan 5, 2016 - Freelance Copywriter and Translator in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - The Standard rate is very good - There is strong emphasis on quality of work - There is good variety to the jobs on offer - The platform is extremely intuitive and easy to use - Highly flexible way of working

    Cons

    - As perfection is high on the agenda, there isn't much margin for error. A couple of mistakes will mean demotion to a lower pay grade - Work comes in fits and bursts and can be in short supply at times

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Freelancer, less than 1 year

    Useful for my purposes, but not going to earn you a salary to live on

    Aug 15, 2018 - Freelance Translator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Platform is user-friendly Easy to send messages to clients to ask questions so you can do better translations I'm using it to get experience in translation, and it's working fine for me on that front

    Cons

    Don't seem to be many jobs for my language pair, but that's not a surprise. You're not going to get enough work or money to support yourself

    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 English Reviews

Popular Careers with TextMaster Job Seekers

Freelance Translator/Copywriter
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at TextMaster? Share Your Experiences

TextMaster logo
or