The Learning Lab Reviews

Updated May 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
48%
Recommend to a Friend
27%
Approve of CEO
The Learning Lab Chief Executive Officer Hamilton Lau (no image)
Hamilton Lau
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "It was much more like family than a working environment(in 22 reviews)

  • "Good starting pay for fresh graduates who cannot find a teaching option elsewhere(in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • "Last minute covers (the planning and management team will come and knock on your classroom door and tell you to cover a class in 20 minutes)(in 26 reviews)

  • "The last-minute covers can be a pain(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (19)

    "Good experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at The Learning Lab full-time

    Pros

    Professional and nice colleagues. Office environment is well designed. Curriculum is structured and well crafted. Pay is comfortable. Observations and feedbacks to help you grow and improve.

    Cons

    Have to work on weekends, and 2 late days (till 930) Hard to schedule meetup with friends when your hours are not in sync. Last minute cover classes are quite common. sometimes have to cover classes back to back @ two different venues. Students can be quite a handful sometimes.

    The Learning Lab2016-07-14
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great teaching experience"

    4.0
     

    I worked at The Learning Lab

    Pros

    The company provides various workshops to train newcomers, curriculum teams are willing to openly consider teachers' opinions, nice working environment overall.

    Cons

    Last minute covers can be rather stressful.

    The Learning Lab2015-07-29
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Intern"

    3.0
     

    I worked at The Learning Lab

    Pros

    High salary, flexible work schedule

    Cons

    Work you dry as much as they can

    Continue reading
    The Learning Lab2014-03-04
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Intern"

    4.0
     

    I worked at The Learning Lab

    Pros

    Good pay compared to other student intern jobs in Singapore. Nice working environment, everything is well designed and clean Most students are courteous and fun to be around. Managers are welcoming and approachable. Young workforce.

    Cons

    Front desk work and managing relationship with parents can be stressful. Expect to get screamed at alot. As it is in the service industry, expect to work on either Saturday or Sunday.

    Continue reading
    The Learning Lab2013-04-04
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Colleagues. Horrible Management and Curriculum"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at The Learning Lab full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. I love my colleagues - they feel like a family and we meet outside of work because we genuinely like each other 2. Pay is competitive

    Cons

    1. Last minute covers (the planning and management team will come and knock on your classroom door and tell you to cover a class in 20 minutes) 2. Straddling across locations (In my first year, I had to work in west, east and central branches for my regular classes - not to mention having to cover Ts in other branches - i think i went to tampines, CCK, mountbatten, USQ and rochester in one week) 3. Our weekday classes are 3-5, 5-7. 730-930. (7-730 should be for dinner right? No. We are expected to shuttle from centre to centre across the island during peak hour traffic without dinner to cover classes) 3. Secondary school curriculum team refuses to take feedback from teachers. We let them know how the curriculum is not suitable and they come up with a long list of reasons as how we can 'sell' the lessons to the students. But come on la, students KNOW when we are smoking them 4. Bad management - during COVID we switched to HBL. Primary school colleagues are complaining that they have had to change platform 3 times (teachers are expected to learn and adapt in a very short time - it's not effective for student learning)

    Continue reading
    The Learning Lab2020-05-20
  6. "TLL teaching associate"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Singapore

    I worked at The Learning Lab full-time

    Pros

    mentors allocated to bring you up to speed

    Cons

    stradling of classes across locations

    The Learning Lab2020-03-27
  7. "Educator"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at The Learning Lab full-time

    Pros

    Really depends on where you are posted

    Cons

    last minute cover classes, parents with sky high expectation for the premiums they paid

    The Learning Lab2020-03-24
  8. "Warm and friendly work environment"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Curriculum Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at The Learning Lab full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues, a joy to work with Ts and other colleagues

    Cons

    Takes long for changes (system, processes) to take effect, opportunities for growth take a long time to come, and seem to stagnate after that

    The Learning Lab2020-03-21
  9. "Teaching Associate - English"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Specialist Teaching Associate in Singapore

    I worked at The Learning Lab full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers, positive working environment

    Cons

    Last minute class substitutions, etc

    The Learning Lab2020-03-01
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Come in with a positive attitude."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Learning Lab full-time

    Pros

    Relatively good starting pay for new teachers. It is better compared to most other teaching-related jobs available to fresh grads. But the trade-off is that you have to work on weekends so if you have a lot of weekend commitments or if you don’t want to spend your weekends working, DON’T apply to work here. Higher pay also means higher expectations of you to do your job well professionally. Excellent work culture. Supportive and friendly colleagues. As with any other company, people here expect you to show good EQ and be a responsible employee. One caveat here is that the work culture may vary across the different centres and across the various departments too. I am a teaching staff so I cannot speak for the non-teaching staff. Training and mentoring provided in the probation period to help new teachers fit in nicely. Even after you clear your probation, you can still attend training sessions as refreshers and you can still approach your mentor for guidance.

    Cons

    Steep learning curve for people with little or no experience teaching large groups (12 or more students). But the learning curve can be overcome if you have an open mind and a strong willingness to learn. Once you get through the first year, things will become easier. Workload (marking) can be very heavy at times but you can still manage if you are disciplined enough. Bratty kids can be a handful to deal with if you are teaching at primary school level. As you gain more experience and the kids know you better, things will eventually take a better turn. Key takeaway: be firm but caring towards your students. Communications with parents can be a problem sometimes, especially when you have to deal with parents who think they are entitled to make unreasonable demands just because they have paid “premium fees” to send their kids here for tuition. But don’t worry, such parents form only a (tiny) minority of our customer base. The occasional last-minute covers can be a real pain, especially if you need to straddle from one centre to another within 30 minutes. The bottom line is, as with any other job, you can’t expect everything to be perfect so just take this job with a positive attitude and you will do fine.

    Continue reading
    The Learning Lab2020-01-17
Found 183 reviews