The Rockefeller Foundation Reviews | Glassdoor

The Rockefeller Foundation Reviews

Updated Aug 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 35 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
The Rockefeller Foundation CEO Dr. Rajiv Shah
Dr. Rajiv Shah
2 Ratings
  1. "Got to work on really cool projects!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Rockefeller Foundation for less than a year

    Pros

    People, Quality of work, Brand name

    Cons

    No visa authorization for international students

    The Rockefeller Foundation2018-06-09
  2. "Decent work environment- no real social good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at The Rockefeller Foundation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Comfy work environment with subsidized food.

    Cons

    Very stuffy and conservative. No real motivation to do social good, rather focus on media partnerships and brand recognition. Try actually improving the lives of poor and vulnerable people, you’ll have to write memos, play internal politics and pay external consultants to tell you what you already wrote in the memos.

    The Rockefeller Foundation2019-08-05
  3. "Solid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Project Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends

    I worked at The Rockefeller Foundation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Solid place to work Great benefits

    Cons

    Not a lot of room for promotions

    The Rockefeller Foundation2019-05-06
  4. "Nice people, nice offices, casual work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at The Rockefeller Foundation for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people, offices and work environment

    Cons

    Low pay and lack of critical thinking on impact/benefit (or lack thereof) of some programs

    Advice to Management

    Stop chasing the next shiny object/over-hyped buzzword tech/investment strategy to solve world hunger. It's mostly BS.

    The Rockefeller Foundation2019-04-26
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Great people, challenging work, but tons to be desired (especially if you are not white)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Rockefeller Foundation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great and genuinely caring people Great benefits Work / life balance Strong brand

    Cons

    No promotional track Lacking diversity (still predominately white staff) Shifting into a consultant / fixed term employee org. Executive team is a who’s who list of the presidents friends (it’s public record)

    Advice to Management

    Managers should take implicit bias training Treat all employees the same

    The Rockefeller Foundation2019-03-21
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Working at RF"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at The Rockefeller Foundation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There were not many perks.

    Cons

    There is a lot of reorganization taking place.

    The Rockefeller Foundation2019-03-18
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Intern 

    I worked at The Rockefeller Foundation

    Pros

    Worked in an investing group with very smart people.

    Cons

    Overall strategic objectives seemed to be shifting and deprioritizing certain areas.

    The Rockefeller Foundation2019-01-04
  8. Helpful (1)

    "General"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Rockefeller Foundation full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, great work/life balance

    Cons

    No room for promotion /

    Advice to Management

    Promote from within

    The Rockefeller Foundation2018-09-16
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Nice People, Old institution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at The Rockefeller Foundation full-time

    Pros

    Very friendly and comfortable working environment with nice offices and amenities.

    Cons

    Bureaucratic and too focused on optics over impact.

    Advice to Management

    Don't use the institution to advance own political ambitions.

    The Rockefeller Foundation2018-08-07
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Inspiring and Great, but also limiting. Ultimately not for me."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at The Rockefeller Foundation full-time

    Pros

    I worked with intelligent and energetic people who were passionate about their work. The scope (globally speaking) of the work that the foundation is doing is impressive.

    Cons

    There was not a lot of transparency from management regarding decision making. I definitely felt limited in my role. The somewhat stiff corporate culture felt unnecessary at times.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff, respect them and take their opinions seriously.

    The Rockefeller Foundation2018-03-07
Found 35 reviews