Torrid Reviews | Glassdoor

Torrid Reviews

Updated Jun 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 553 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Liz Munoz
25 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Brought in upper management from failing retailers and they have implemented their own failed ideas(in 39 reviews)

  • "All part-time hours besides management; depending on how many store credit cards you sell will depict hours(in 33 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Love working for Torrid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Coordinator in City of Industry, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Torrid full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My ecom team is great, they treat eachother like family and truly want the best for Torrid. They give me room to push myself to grow in my position. I truely love working here. I highly recommend applying if you are interested in working with Torrid.

    Cons

    I live on the West side which means its a long commute for me. But honestly I love it there so I make the drive anyways. Thats pretty much my only con.

    Advice to Management

    No advice. They are great.

    Torrid2018-09-27
  2. "LOVED this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Jonesboro, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Torrid full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fashion, loyal customers, and great work environment.

    Cons

    not enough hours staffed with younger group and needs a variation

    Torrid2019-06-13
  3. "Fun but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Torrid part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun, great people, decent discount for employees. If you're in school or active military and want to earn some spending money, it's a good job.

    Cons

    Little to no hours - max for PT was 10 - 12 hrs a week with less than 5 hour shifts so they dont have to give you a break. 'Fun' wasn't bringing in any money and I had to find a different job.

    Advice to Management

    Don't say "up to 30 hours a week" and screw someone over. Be honest about the hours someone will get.

    Torrid2019-06-17
  4. "Is Bullying Worth a 40% Discount?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Torrid part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    When I started working here, the manager was great and helpful. The other employees are friendly and supportive. The 40% discount is great.

    Cons

    Management is full of pettiness and bullying. A district manager spoke inappropriately to one of my coworkers, and when I brought up my concerns about it to my manager, I was punished by being given 4 hours a week and policies changed to threaten my employment.

    Advice to Management

    HR needs to be more readily available.

    Torrid2019-06-12
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Catty Managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Lakewood, CO
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Torrid part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Gigantic discounts Lots of fun merchandise to spend your discount Positive mission of the company

    Cons

    Bad place to work for students Catty/cliquey managers

    Torrid2019-06-03
  6. "Still growing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Store Manager 

      I have been working at Torrid full-time

      Pros

      Bonus program, great discount, good customers

      Cons

      Behind the tech curve, lean payroll

      Torrid2019-06-05
    • "Store manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Store Manager in Carmel, IN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Torrid full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      -very good discount -love my team

      Cons

      -corporate level management is a joke. numerous complaints from multiple sources have gone basically ignored, both from employees and customers -unrealistic expectations for low pay

      Advice to Management

      -pay a fair wage -allot more time to training at every level -listen to employees more

      Torrid2019-05-31
    • "Amazing Experience!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - District Manager 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Torrid full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Fantastic culture! Torrid has been a strong developmental environment for me and my employees in all of my years here.

      Cons

      We need more stores! :)

      Torrid2019-05-14
    • Helpful (1)

      "Little pay for the amount of work and responsibility."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Assistant Manager in San Antonio, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Torrid part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      40% Discount at Torrid, Hot Topic, Boxlunch. Room for growth in the retail industry. Great place to learn good customer service. Upper Management very flexible.

      Cons

      -The pay is under the average of an Assistant Manager. -When you’re in management you are often left to close alone because associates get sick and can’t come in and nobody is ever available to cover shifts. -Conversion and Credits Cards are being shoved down your throat and whoever closes is held responsible if conversion is low. -No matter the position you are basically left doing the same tasks as the store manager...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      -Better hours for the sales associates so we can create a more loyal team and a low turn over rate. -Stop Favoritism -Less floorsets or more non sell hours to finish floorset on time. -Please stop tasking in the middle of the day and demand strict and near impossible deadlines by the middle of the business day so it doesn’t distract us from focusing on customer service.

      Torrid2019-05-26
    • "Horrible"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate in Gretna, LA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Torrid part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      40% off store discount great

      Cons

      No hours leaving you no reason to work

      Torrid2019-06-06
    Found 553 reviews