TriCore Reference Laboratories Reviews | Glassdoor

TriCore Reference Laboratories Reviews

Updated Mar 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.5
28%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
TriCore Reference Laboratories Interim CEO Michael Crossey, MD (no image)
Michael Crossey, MD
15 Ratings
Pros
  • "Many great people throughout Tricore(in 5 reviews)

  • "Presbyterian insurance provides a gym membership and the Solutions Group offers employees support such as free counseling(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Now during the coronavirus situation, upper management is not giving much guidance to those directly handling those specimens(in 6 reviews)

  • "Constantly understaffed w very high turn over rate(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TriCore Reference Laboratories full-time

    Pros

    new ideas and improved culture - exciting place to be

    Cons

    Healthcare is difficult with uncertain future

    Continue reading
    TriCore Reference Laboratories2017-04-24
  2. "Politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Delivery Manager 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TriCore Reference Laboratories full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very dedicated IT people that work long hours to fix solutions to ensure patients are not impacted

    Cons

    Can easily become overworked, no work life balance Lots of politics, can cause roadblocks

    TriCore Reference Laboratories2020-02-21
  3. "Heartless"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - LA II 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at TriCore Reference Laboratories full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Presbyterian insurance provides a gym membership and the Solutions Group offers employees support such as free counseling . TriCore helps pay for insurance. There are some good people to work with. You get the opportunity to contribute to the community through your work.

    Cons

    Sometimes people yell at and humiliate other employees in front of others. If you address the abuse, you are seen as the problem. Now during the coronavirus situation, upper management is not giving much guidance to those directly handling those specimens. Upper management is rarely ever seen on the lab floor other than one particular individual who sees to operations . There is no acknowledgement or appreciation of employees on the lab floor. Employee morale is extremely low.

    Continue reading
    TriCore Reference Laboratories2020-03-18
  4. "Poor department management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Laboratory in Albuquerque, NM
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TriCore Reference Laboratories full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The day I left TriCore

    Cons

    Office politics and bullying running rampant with Tricore HR protecting the company while letting this behavior continue. I would not recommend working for this company.

    Continue reading
    TriCore Reference Laboratories2020-03-08
  5. "Depends on the department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Laboratory Technologist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TriCore Reference Laboratories full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Upper management has a real presence in the lab and make it a point to make themselves accessible to even entry level employees. Critical evaluations of policies and procedures are taken seriously and beneficial changes are made when they are asked for. There are a lot of resources and opportunities to advance your career if you are willing to put forth the effort to use those resources and move out of your comfort zone by networking.

    Cons

    Whether you will be happy depends almost solely on the department you work in. Sure TriCore pays lower than most other reference labs in the industry, but I believe leadership when they say they're trying to change that. The problems lie with a few select departments. There are people in supervisor positions who honestly have no business whatsoever being supervisors. They don't listen to their employees and often sweep problems under the rug. Some even withhold training and other resources from their employees and the only explanation I can come up with is insecurity. Another con is that there are too many people who don't really care about patient care, they aren't in a job that makes them happy and it shows. Their work ethic is horrible and can end up causing problems for others, especially patients. I get that people need jobs and need to be able to pay the bill, but if healthcare isn't your passion then you need to leave and make room for others that are actually passionate about the job. Funnily enough the managers I alluded to above seem to think that these lazy employees are the best ones they have. If you are interviewing at TriCore, I urge you to ask employees about what they don't like about their leadership and their department. Don't get me wrong, I love working for TriCore. But that is because I'm lucky enough to be part of an amazing department. Some of the departments, I would never let a friend even apply to.

    Continue reading
    TriCore Reference Laboratories2020-01-17
  6. "Do not work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - N/A in Albuquerque, NM
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TriCore Reference Laboratories full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Free gym membership if you opt for insurance

    Cons

    Everything else. The pay is horrible. Management is incompetent. Mandatory overtime. No raises. High turnover. People running out of there like the building is on fire.

    Continue reading
    TriCore Reference Laboratories2020-01-21
  7. "Worked to death"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Phlebotomist in Albuquerque, NM
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TriCore Reference Laboratories full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Co workers are great people.

    Cons

    Convinced to work long, hard hours. 12 hrs on your feet straight 1, 30min lunch only. No breaks. Constantly understaffed w very high turn over rate. Get called in on every on call day. They make you feel special in orientation and then forget all about you.

    Continue reading
    TriCore Reference Laboratories2019-12-01
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Not a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in UNM, NM
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at TriCore Reference Laboratories part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Experience Some people are cool

    Cons

    Pay is not the best Management doesnt listen to employees A division among different shifts Left to pick up slack of those who just mess around and have no reprecussions. Always out of supplies

    Continue reading
    TriCore Reference Laboratories2019-10-27
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Don’t work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Technologist in Albuquerque, NM
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at TriCore Reference Laboratories full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They keep the electricity on...

    Cons

    I have an awful supervisor who has been there for years. If you work through your lunch they will go back and take it out of your pay cause you didn’t get permission. My supervisor is hardly in the office at all, runs all their personal errands during work. They delegate all their work to their techs and doesn’t even manage their own employees time cards, cause that has been delegated out too.

    Continue reading
    TriCore Reference Laboratories2019-10-15
  10. "It was a good experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TriCore Reference Laboratories full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Your alway challenged and get to test your skills.

    Cons

    Pay is not competitive for amount of work and stress.

    Continue reading
    TriCore Reference Laboratories2019-09-26
Found 79 reviews