USG Reviews | Glassdoor

USG Reviews

Updated Jun 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 235 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Jennifer Scanlon
20 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "USG takes care of their own."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Engineer in Commerce, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at USG full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People want to stay at USG, always a good sign.

    Cons

    Dealings at the top of the company are opaque. Corporate communications are boilerplate business-speak.

    USG2019-04-29
  2. "Good Start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Marketing Intern in Chicago, IL

    I worked at USG full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you are a person that enjoy doing nothing and getting paid this is for you. There is a cafeteria with food so you dont have to leave for lunch. The managers are great and its a good place to get your feet wet in the corporate world.

    Cons

    Lots of grunt work. Some days you will just sit around and basically stare at your computer screen with nothing to do.

    USG2019-06-17
  3. "Great Company and going places"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Architectural Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USG full-time

    Pros

    - People make up a company and this company has some great people in it who care about what they do - Continuous training

    Cons

    - There aren't really any cons to working with USG

    USG2019-05-13
  4. "Good place if your unsure of timeline at EOY."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Transaction Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at USG full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly Environment and Responsive management

    Cons

    Since a lot of temps on other projects hard to coordinate workload cross disciplines

    USG2019-05-07
  5. "Project Engineer Career Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer 

    I have been working at USG full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Independence and variety of experiences

    Cons

    Little experience in management roles; little mentorship

    Advice to Management

    Be career/people oriented, not production oriented

    USG2019-05-01
  6. "Corporate mindset."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at USG full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Many employees and good benefits.

    Cons

    Limited advancement and top heavy management.

    Advice to Management

    Less consultants.

    USG2019-04-23
  7. "Safety"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production 

    I have been working at USG full-time

    Pros

    Very concerned about safety of workers.

    Cons

    Too many things going on to focus on production only.

    USG2019-03-26
  8. "Great experience for a co-op"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer Co-Op in Galena Park, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at USG full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is a lot to learn and people that are willing to provide you with all the tools you need.

    Cons

    At the moment there are no cons for me.

    USG2019-03-24
  9. "A lot of fake reviews."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Operator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at USG full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It used to be a great place to work. Pay is still good.

    Cons

    Did anybody notice 85% of reviews with 5 star ratings are listed as "current employee"? That is obviously an attempt to manipulate ratings. Virtually all other "Great Reviews" are from people listed as management... As an operator I can say this place is thriving for poor management. No work/life balance. Will only change as a reaction to issues rather than proactively making things better. By the time they react,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Production is what brings in the money to sustain you... Stop putting production staff at the bottom of the priority list.

    USG2019-04-06
  10. "n/a"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Machine 
      Recommends

      I worked at USG full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I enjoyed my time working there

      Cons

      i hate the fact i had to leave

      USG2019-03-05
    Found 235 reviews