KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Union Bank

Part of MUFG
Engaged Employer

Union Bank

Add a Review

Union Bank Reviews

Updated Jun 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1,096 of over 1K reviews

3.3
52%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Union Bank President and CEO  Kevin Cronin
Kevin Cronin
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "Paid vacation, work holidays, work-life balance(in 77 reviews)

  • "good benefits and free food sometimes(in 70 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Senior management plays favorites and surround themselves with yes sir/man employees creating a toxic culture(in 40 reviews)

  • "Upper management appears to be critical(in 32 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Union Bank and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Awesome

      Nov 20, 2020 - Branch Service Specialist in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      One of the top five banks in the world. Grant opportunity for their employees to be one of the union bank family. Gives benefits for their employees.

      Cons

      N/A I didn't see any.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Employer to work for.

      Mar 18, 2021 - Branch Service and Sales Officer in Costa Mesa, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Bank really cares about us, pay is good, management is solid.

      Cons

      Nothing really is a con at this bank.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good Benefits & life/work balance

      Apr 26, 2021 - Vice President Marketing in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I rarely have to work later than 5pm (or on weekends) - so pretty low stress for me (but not the same for everyone). The company was supportive during COVID and only 1 year later went for the inevitable layoffs. There has been a recent shake-up of senior mgt (our CFO retired and some others). But I find that doesn't really effect me or my job. I started at 4 weeks vacation, which is a lot for me. If you are laid off - there is a very generous (and written down) severance package. Generous yearly bonus

      Cons

      Senior mgt is a old boys club, while some women are getting recognition, I don't see us having a female CEO any time soon. Until recently - they were pretty stingy with computer replacement - mine was over 8 years old - only replaced b/c the of company-wide replacement to Surface laptops. Once you take a job - it is extremely difficult to be promoted.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      HR policies and technology are terrible.

      Jun 16, 2021 - Financial Analyst in Walnut Creek, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My co workers are exceptional

      Cons

      401 k payout once per year Year end rating system impossible Lowest out of the box technology makes it impossible to do your job Bonuses based on budget for the whole bank even if your department did well.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great work environment, excellent ethics

      Jun 8, 2021 - Branch Service and Sales Officer in Gardena, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I appreciate the environment that the company provided to help us through not just the company but ourselves

      Cons

      Nothing I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Solid Company

      Jun 9, 2021 - Credit Associate in Irvine, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Positive work culture and room internal promotion

      Cons

      No major cons other than size / scale

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Excellent

      Jun 7, 2021 - Branch Service and Sales Officer in Coronado, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly environment, take care of employees, engaging management

      Cons

      They restructure job titles frequently

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      great

      Jun 1, 2021 - Maintenance Technician in Buffalo, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      environment is great and unified

      Cons

      hours are long but pay is good

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Everything

      May 31, 2021 - Customer Service Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice people to work with

      Cons

      Small bank but close to home

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great company

      May 25, 2021 - BSA Analyst II in Brea, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company to work for with great benefits.

      Cons

      The compensation offered could be better, promotion from within is difficult.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,096 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Union Bank Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Union Bank? Share Your Experiences

    or