Uptake Reviews | Glassdoor

Uptake Reviews

Updated December 6, 2017
72 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Brad Keywell
52 Ratings

72 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Amazing perks (snacks, drinks, unlimited PTO, etc (in 12 reviews)

  • work life balance: most engineers work 30 hour weeks because there isn't a product (in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • Too many silos and lack of transparency (in 4 reviews)

  • I was also told there was good work/life balance, but I usually see people working during the evening and on weekends (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (8)

    "Wonderful work environment, great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Designer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uptake full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I've been here over 4 months and I can definitely say that your work and opinion is valued, there are many opportunities to learn about something completely new, people are engaged, there are opportunities for professional growth, and there is a good work/life balance through wfh flexibility, flex hours, and unlimited PTO.

    Cons

    As with any company this size, working with IT can be quite frustrating when you've got a creative tech idea and a deadline to hit.

    Uptake Response

    May 15, 2017 – Uptake

    Thanks for taking the time to post this feedback. We appreciate it.


  2. "Software Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Very interesting work, growing insanely fast, awesome people and relaxed culture. They let me directly join a team as an intern which was a great learning experience

    Cons

    Internship could be a little hectic with the fast paced growing. Need more resources to manage the internship

    Advice to Management

    I think management did a good job. I felt like i was heard and was able to contribute my own ideas even as an intern

  3. "Good Learning Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uptake full-time

    Pros

    Best Practices Followed
    Smart Peer Group

    Cons

    Competitive Work Environment can sometimes be taxing

    Advice to Management

    Better Work Life Balance

    Uptake Response

    Nov 17, 2017 – Uptake

    Thanks for sharing your feedback. We're glad to hear you acknowledge we follow best practices and have smart people on our team. Both are important to us!

    While Uptake is a fast pace, high energy... More


  4. Helpful (3)

    "Great snacks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Uptake full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Great snacks
    - Flexible working time
    - Nice work-life balance

    Cons

    - Unlimited PTO, flexible but the same as other big companies
    - Your work would be under-assessed.
    - Smart guys have left, sometimes if you have problems that cannot be solved, they will stay there for a long time.
    - Can hardly see the future of the company even the CEO has talked about this in many situations
    - Don't have a core product
    - Lack of transparency, in terms of products and managements.

    Advice to Management

    Need to restructure the company, if not, just keep doing what you are doing.

    Uptake Response

    Oct 13, 2017 – Uptake

    Thank you for providing this feedback. We respect your thoughts but don't believe they accurately represent Uptake or the efforts we've made to develop a clear product roadmap and vision for the... More


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Uptake is great a place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uptake full-time

    Pros

    Lots of very smart people. They have a special willingness to adapt to new ideas and better ways of doing things. I've constantly asked "why?" and never once been told "just because!". This means that when I see a problem, I have broad latitude to fix it. Also there is a surprising lack of politics and everyone seems to care a lot about WHAT work that is being done instead of HOW the work is being done. Fantastic at work benefits!

    Cons

    They will lowball you on salary. I've seen them offer about 80-70% of what the person is worth. I've seen some of our best talent quit because the salary was fairly low. Negotiate with them!

    Advice to Management

    Pay the very best more so that we don't lose them. Hire fewer people and fire more! Not all software engineers are created equal and often fewer, more competent engineers are better!

    Uptake Response

    Sep 26, 2017 – Uptake

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We're glad you're asking "why?"; that's the type of curiosity our culture thrives on.

    Regarding your thoughts on compensation, we know... More


  6. Helpful (5)

    "large startup with a lot of younger, extroverted people..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Uptake full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Like everyone else said, free snacks, lunch credit, etc. If you know the right people, it seems like you can get ahead. Unlimited PTO. Lots of work events (for fun, learning, etc.) and clubs, and events are held during work hours sometimes, and there are a lot of common areas for meeting.

    Cons

    It's a huge startup, but still retains startup desk rows (in some areas), so it's hard to get things done if you're ADD and prone to distraction, especially if you dislike people walking up behind you. It also helps if you're an extrovert just overall in terms of the company--the layouts, the work events, the lack of documentation so you need to ask people who they are and what they do, even on your own project, etc.

    During the interview, I was told it was a very flat organization, but my project has several layers of management, and even after 3 months, I do not know what they do or who they all are. Additionally, not a lot of communication comes down from management, and information has to trickle to the bottom. I was also told there was good work/life balance, but I usually see people working during the evening and on weekends.

    After being hired, I sat and did nothing for a week and nobody trained me. I hear that is common. However, I am able to learn on my own and started talking to random people on my own to understand how everything works. Not everyone can do that.

    Advice to Management

    Some managers do not really seem to be managers--dealing with people, instituting processes, etc. Also, ensure teams are ready to handle new employees, and perhaps encourage training within the team in addition to basic formalities, such as introductions to other teams and members.

    Uptake Response

    Oct 5, 2017 – Uptake

    Thanks for sharing your feedback. We're happy to hear you've enjoyed some of the perks. We like the events, snacks and community groups, too. We believe fostering community helps everyone's... More


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uptake full-time

    Pros

    Big problem to solve involving huge amounts of data.

    Cons

    The work can be unstructured. Things change very fast.

    Uptake Response

    Aug 29, 2017 – Uptake

    Thanks for your feedback. Love to hear you consider Uptake an awesome place to work.

    As with any fast-growth company, change happens. With having a fine point on things like our strategic... More

  8. "Product Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uptake full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great, innovative product. Building something unlike anything I've worked on before.

    Cons

    It's a start-up so things can be crazy, but what else is to be expected of a company this young with this much success.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uptake full-time

    Pros

    Flat management structure on the data science side. Interesting projects.

    Cons

    Too many company wide meetings.

    Uptake Response

    Aug 7, 2017 – Uptake

    Thanks for your feedback. We appreciate it and are glad you're pleased with our culture and the projects being worked on.

    Regarding your point on having too many company-wide meetings, we’re... More


  10. Helpful (5)

    "A good place for software company experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Uptake full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Lots of good, fun people. Nice perks.

    Cons

    Hard to see impact of your work. Super high turnover of many talented people.

    Uptake Response

    Aug 16, 2017 – Uptake

    Thank you for taking the time to share your honest input. We are pleased to know you like the people and the perks.

    Regarding your cons, we understand it may be difficult to see the impact of... More


Showing 72 of 75 reviews
Reset Filters