Wahaca Reviews | Glassdoor

Wahaca Reviews

Updated 30 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
54%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Wahaca CEO Mark Selby and Thomasina Miers (no image)
Mark Selby and Thomasina Miers
6 Ratings
  1. "A good company to work for, Delicious food. It is fun and engaging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wahaca full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Uk's first Carbon neutral Restaurant group in the uk. The owners Mark and Tommi created this Restaurant with great vision and passion.

    Cons

    Pension schemes still need to be improved

    Wahaca2019-10-30
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Waiter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wahaca part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    75% staff discount for you and 3 friends.

    Cons

    3.75% of total sales is removed from your tips meaning sometimes you see none of the card tips earned. Awful management, both in branch and head office. Staff turnover is extremely high in all areas including entire management teams. Managers snap at staff in front of customers. Was often forced to work 40 hours a week despite a part time contract and prior discussion of availability. Inappropriate behaviour is very common.

    Wahaca2019-10-02
  3. "Used to be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sous Chef in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wahaca full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Possibility to progress (but comes with huge price)

    Cons

    Favourism. Unfair expectation. Managers are vengeful when you don't want to "bend over". They make sure you have no personal life with their working hours. Chaotic and messy place. So many broken rules and promises (contract and handbook are worth nothing)

    Continue reading
    Wahaca2019-08-23
  4. "So many awful policies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Waiter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wahaca

    Pros

    Great team of waiters and bar staff, everyone stuck together and socialised outside of work

    Cons

    Management give conflicting orders, one manager will often shout at you in front of customers if she was in a bad mood and often threatened to take your hours off you. Have to bring own float. If make less than 4% of your sales on card tips, you don't get any of them (managers, kitchen and bar get them instead). I would end up receiving 0-10% of card tips which is insulting and feels dishonest to the customer. If you lose a card receipt it comes out of you pay, most waiters fall foul to this at some point, this isn't discounted and has wiped out all of my tips before. The policy on the waiter paying for walk outs was almost always enforced (by certain managers anyway)

    Continue reading
    Wahaca2019-06-20
  5. "Openings Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wahaca full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great family atmosphere and clear goals for the business

    Cons

    The food can cause rapid weight gain

    Continue reading
    Wahaca2019-05-14
  6. "Good training opportunities, but chaotic and not a great life/ work balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Waiter in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wahaca part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I used to work part time and was able to negotiate the hours I needed. Was paid on time. Used to have good training system until it went online.

    Cons

    Moving upwards was hard in a part time position. At some point the training became unpaid but compulsory. Colleagues had to wait till the last minute for the rota so the work life balance was pretty bad.

    Wahaca2019-03-12
  7. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wahaca full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This company embraces individuality, is well organised. Annual party is amazing. Feel part of a community.

    Cons

    Can be long hours but this is the nature of working in hospitality.

    Wahaca2019-03-01
  8. "Would not advise this store."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Wahaca full-time

    Pros

    Enjoyed my shift with a few female waitresses - they were very hard workers.

    Cons

    Ok-ish (not sure I should say Ideal?) job for young people who are trying to make a bit of money doing mundane things all day long but definitely would not want to be stuck here. Very awkward working environment for women. A bit confusing and uncomfortable - may be culture, however honestly feel like there are no excuses. Professionalism is a must, particularly in this industry where women deal with a lot from customers already! Food poisoning in this store! not fun

    Continue reading
    Wahaca2019-01-28
  9. "Nice company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Wahaca full-time

    Pros

    Because the hours are flexibles Managers are really supportive and understandable.

    Cons

    Sometimes The Hours Are Being Cut

    Wahaca2018-12-06
  10. "Waitress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Wahaca part-time

    Pros

    Very busy restaurant, tips were good

    Cons

    Poor management, over complicated menu to explain to customers

    Wahaca2018-11-08
Found 26 reviews