Weaver Reviews

Updated Apr 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
63%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Weaver Managing Partner and Chief Executive Officer John Mackel (no image)
John Mackel
38 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work-life balance in our group is pretty good(in 15 reviews)

  • "More personal time than at other firms, particularly the Big 4(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Good accounts replaced by interns for busy season(in 13 reviews)

  • "401k match is subpar, health insurance is virtually useless(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Loved working here!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Experienced Tax Associate 

    I have been working at Weaver full-time

    Pros

    Culture is great! Management is great!

    Cons

    Not many cons that I can think of

    Weaver2019-11-09
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good for a public accounting firm"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Audit Senior Associate in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Weaver full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great experience, mostly good management, and variety of assignments.

    Cons

    Lack of direction for staff and management often contradicts other management.

    Continue reading
    Weaver2020-04-02
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Smoke Screen"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advisory Staff in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Weaver full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some genuinely nice, sharp people, interesting engagements, started to be more forward thinking. There are lots of great teamwork opportunities. If you get in the right clique you can have a good time while at work and it won't be so heavy. The dallas office is really cool.

    Cons

    Cut-throat environment in many ways. They expect a lot out of employees but don't return the favor. They are quick to point out everyone's flaws and shortcomings (except their own) but slow, if at all to praise the good stuff (consistently for everyone) . They find the people they like and they focus only on them and provide opportunities and flexibility and ignore other people until they fire them. People taking credit for other peoples ideas and nobody says a word. Several people in management appear to be nice and pleasant but behind the scenes they are not - pretending to be genuinely caring, positive people and then turning around and in reality using everything they can against you, very cold, and vindictive. Seems like management like to have their pawns to overdelegate to. If you stick up for yourself or what's right, probably be fired so best to stay quiet or just leave. Many people are all about themselves and it creates a culture where it appears nice and shiny on the outside but it is toxic on the inside. There are definitely some out of control management who have clearly never had good or any training and are too young to be in their positions which shows by lack of maturity. A generally gossipy culture. Expectations are unevenly distributed but if you sell sell sell or bill bill bill you'll likely find a blind eye turned to any bad/toxic things you do. Attitude and power tripping are common. There are some 'chosen ones' who can do no wrong and everything they do is overlooked and they're allowed to treat people however they want. Might as well go work at Big Four from what I hear.

    Continue reading
    Weaver2020-03-26
  4. "It was okay"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Audit Associate 

    I worked at Weaver full-time

    Pros

    Learn a lot from Public accounting

    Cons

    Public accounting is very high stress

    Weaver2020-02-25
  5. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Weaver full-time

    Pros

    Great people for the most part! Growing firm

    Cons

    Not the best pay, culture in some offices needs improvement

    Continue reading
    Weaver2020-02-09
  6. "Good Company Overall"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tax Associate in Dallas, TX

    I worked at Weaver full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay people are friendly

    Cons

    some people like to gossip

    Weaver2020-01-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Manager 

    I have been working at Weaver full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company culture and work life balance

    Cons

    I don't have any cons related to Weaver

    Weaver2019-12-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Auditor"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Auditor in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Weaver full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Exposure to many different industries

    Cons

    Mandatory Saturdays every week during “busy season” (Jan-May)

    Weaver2019-11-12
  9. "Not Perfect But Good Company To Start Your Career"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate II in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Weaver full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Ability to work from home/remote occasionally, part-time or even full-time especially in our group. - Partners in our group are great, super friendly and understanding. - Ability to move - up quickly - Ability to get experience in various aspects of the group/not the same old over and over - Friendly co-workers - Lots of happy hours and opportunities to hang out - Work-life balance in our group is pretty good - Free soft drinks in the break room

    Cons

    - Houston 12th floor office space is terrible. I understand the growing pains but having "trading" style desks for accountants with very open floor plan is a terrible idea. There is no sense of personal space/privacy because everyone can see/hear everything. Hopefully when a new building is viable, that changes. - Pay is not very competitive - Annual bonuses are not very good either - Training could be better but it's getting there

    Weaver2019-10-23
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Extremely Cliquish"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Weaver full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There were many employee related events to build camaraderie. Benefits are acceptable.

    Cons

    Too many cliques and talking behind peoples backs. Some assistants acting like they run the place and try to tell you what to do when they need to keep quiet. Management is seriously lacking - mainly due to be spread too thin.

    Continue reading
    Weaver2019-10-23
Found 120 reviews