Wellcentive Reviews | Glassdoor

Wellcentive Reviews

Updated Jun 8, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
62%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Wellcentive CEO  Tom Zajac (no image)
Tom Zajac
8 Ratings
  1. "Have enjoyed my time here so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Alpharetta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wellcentive full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Flexible work hours, work/life balance - "No-blame" attitude. Never been thrown under the bus. We acknowledge mistakes and work toward a positive solution. - Friendly coworkers - Opportunity for growth if you are valuable and are capable of self-advocating

    Cons

    - Sometimes we wait too long to start a project or don't allot enough time which can cause temporary increased workload - Employee experience is inconsistent, depends on which area you work in

    Advice to Management

    First and foremost, This is non-specific to management but on the whole, I'm writing this review because people with negative experiences review far more often, and I feel that people should hear from those who have had positive experiences as well. i don't appreciate another reviewer's attempt to discredit my review as "fake" because I didn't share their experience. I'll acknowledge that some reviews below have... some truth to them, as experience varies widely by person and department, and some people have it worse than others, but I also think that senior management has done a very good job. Overall, I feel well cared-for. What I advise is that we have more eyes on middle-management as we promote those with less management experience and help to develop their managerial talent.

    Show More
    Wellcentive2016-12-06
  2. "Great people, great product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Wellcentive full-time

    Pros

    The people at Wellcentive were one of the best parts of that job. I enjoyed working with everybody. The product and business were something we could believe in, as well, and leadership always did a really good job of casting the vision of what we were trying to achieve.

    Cons

    Some of the tech we worked with was very industry specific, which made it difficult to build a resume there, unless you wanted to stay. I hope changing that was on the roadmap for the company. Also, moving into a more interesting or challenging role is more difficult here than I would have liked, which was actually why I left.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on upgrading the software so that it is built using technology that the rest of the software industry will recognize. Also, though there are obvious physical restrictions on this, focusing on giving people challenges they enjoy would be another excellent addition to the role.

    Wellcentive2017-06-06
  3. "Not the best, but not the worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Alpharetta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Wellcentive full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company has an encouraging culture. Flexible, understanding, environment, some good talented employees. Startup like environment. Opportunities. Food is everywhere.

    Cons

    Releases are a joke. Not true agile than anything else. Clients continuously threaten to walk is when the "A" teams are brought in. Software and ideas are great concepts, but implementation and execution are the downfalls. Consistently counts on the warriors to make up for others. Development teams are not US based. Focus is all in the wrong places. Don't get me wrong, most good middle/first time managers I've... worked with have been far superior than many others with multiple folds of experience but they are spending all of their time with their teams on other teams priorities out of necessity. Most senior leadership think they know everything and force us to follow even though presented with consensus showing otherwise. Tried to apply to other positions but did not meet the technical requirements. There are too many meetings. The company has not embraced processes and encourages over communication to the point where it is negatively impacting their productivity.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The few technical people on other teams are willing to help others. They are the true warriors of this company. Witnessed countless times their willingness to work in "startup" mode and makeup for the downfalls of executions. I've also witnessed other groups get all the credit for their work. Know who is valuable in the company. Take a hard look at the internal problems. Morale is low. Don't be afraid to scrap... all the debt.

    Show More
    Wellcentive2017-06-08
  4. Helpful (8)

    "The leading PHM vendor of vaporware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wellcentive full-time

    Pros

    Most of the people are true believers in the mission of public health. Few of them are true believers in the product. If you're a cheerleader who blindly totes the company line, this might be the place for you.

    Cons

    Supporting features in a product that are not ready for prime time. "Agile" doesn't work when releases are perpetually pushed back and when they are deployed, three or four hot fixes are required to get the client's reqs met. That's best case: a client may purchase a service that doesn't even exist, with sales tap dancing (read: lying) until a working solution gets escalated. Clients: threaten to walk if what was... sold to you doesn't even exist in the application or on the ephemeral "road map".

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    C-suite: don't write fake positive reviews to cover the honest ones. That alone is saying enough. Also, just because an employee does a reply-all to every corporate wide email does not mean that person is qualified to do anything other than "rah-rah" the corporate line. Don't reward that. It's demeaning to the people who are too busy to be on Skype all day. And while we're at it, just because someone is a great... analyst should not be a requisite for managing analysts. Hopefully the Philips acquisition will put an end to a flawed system of "identifying" and reward managerial talent. I would have stayed longer if middle management had any real managerial experience. Lots of first time managers rewarded for their non-managerial work (and it shows).

    Show More
    Wellcentive2016-09-06
  5. Helpful (1)

    "You Get What You Give"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wellcentive full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wellcentive is a company that allows you to forge your own path and excel as far as you are willing to get involved and contribute. If you want a company where a career path is laid out in front of you, this is not the place. If you want to challenge yourself and have the opportunity to envision and create your own path, Wellcentive provides that chance regardless of age or experience on paper. The industry we... work in is relatively young and evolving rapidly with an ever-changing regulatory and financial landscape for our customers. At times it can be challenging to be building the care while driving it, but it is what the market demands and required in order to be as successful as we have. I get a lot of fulfillment knowing that my work matters and is making a difference for our customers and our customers' patients.

    Show More

    Cons

    As with any company of our size, benefits and 401k matching are not as strong as those of large corporations. I feel this is a comparable trade-off for the career growth opportunities offered. Also, leadership has always been very transparent as to what company milestones must be met in order for these benefit "extras" to be available. Rapid growth is not for everyone. The key here is ensuring people who join... the organization are a good fit and thrive in this type of environment.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    As others have noted, keep a focus on culture even as we continue to grow. Ensure team level managers are coaching/mentoring and providing consistent feedback to their staff.

    Wellcentive2016-07-08
  6. "A Standout Career Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wellcentive for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Across my entire career, there are few things that standout about Wellcentive compared to other places I've worked: 1) The people are very passionate about their work and making a difference in healthcare 2) There are a lot of very talented people in the company 3) The collaborative nature of the employees and camaraderie is awesome 4) The product we are all contributing to is making a difference RIGHT NOW in... millions of patients' lives, and has the potential to be the driving force in transforming our healthcare industry for the better. 5) Wellcentive is a true meritocracy. I have never seen a promotion in the company that I thought was political. The people having the biggest impact on the company are recognized by the leadership and tend to get promoted. This is not trivial! Kudos to the leadership team for building a culture based on merit of the employee, not time-served or politics. For these reason, I go home on the vast majority of days feeling very satisfied with my work and in taking a part of this company.

    Show More

    Cons

    Startup/growth companies have the goal of growing exponentially fast. Wellcentive is such a company. So, if you join Wellcentive, expect that something like every 2ish years the company will go through a reorganization as part of the scaling process resulting from success and growth. Going from 10 to 40 employees, then to 120, then eventually 250, 500 employees, etc is going to cause growing pains. That's a normal... part of company scaling, but sometimes yes it is uncomfortable.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The founders of the company created a great company culture. Please do whatever you can to maintain the core Wellcentive culture as the company grows and changes shape! It is one of the things that makes Wellcentive different (and better) from other places.

    Wellcentive2016-07-06
  7. "Wellcentive is an excellent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wellcentive full-time

    Pros

    Strong leadership and vision has resulted in the company becoming the market leader in PHM. Wellcentive listens to customers and delivers tangible results in this complex environment. The company has excellent leadership, highly motivated, intelligent staff and a clear vision.

    Cons

    No real cons. The company and market is growing fast, so you have to be comfortable working in a fast paced, high-tech environment.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on employees and scaling of the organization and technology.

    Wellcentive2016-07-05
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Leadership needs improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Wellcentive

    Pros

    There are some exceptional people that work here that one could build long-lasting relationships with. Food is always brought in for various reasons.

    Cons

    Morale is pretty low right now. There has been an excessive amount of resignations over the past few months. These resignations have been due to reasons ranging from low pay, leadership's lack of respect for employees, lack of career path within the company, and employees not feeling valued. The product has great potential but because of the lack of planning and poor decision-making, the product is half-baked and... does not work properly. We continue to sell a product that doesn't work as it should! The demos for the product are done in a working environment and when the client attempts the same actions as the demo displayed in their live environment, it doesn't work. It's time to work smarter and produce better results.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please pay attention and acknowledge that the company is falling apart. With the resignations and everything that's going on in the office, this does not produce an environment where people are comfortable or want to stay with our company.

    Wellcentive2016-06-11
  9. Helpful (3)

    "On a really bad downhill slide"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Wellcentive for more than a year

    Pros

    On the bleeding edge of an industry that is still in its infancy. They do a good job understanding what the market opportunities are and where the industry is heading. Unfortunately they cannot seem to find ways to execute any effective strategies to capitalize on it.

    Cons

    Product quality is slipping drastically. Releases are creating more significant issues than they are resolving. QA is almost non-existent. Changes in roles are not discussed with impacted people before they are implemented. Changes are implemented hastily and without thought to employee or customer satisfaction, and as a result both are suffering badly. HR continues to be a joke. There is 1 HR person who... really doesnt have a clue whst they are doing. Poorly performing employees are allowed to continue being bad while good employees are punished for calling out the ones who are not pulling their weight. Then the HR person brings in their husband to mediate and train. Talk about a conflict of interest!! Benefits are mediocre at best. Insurance is expensive with high deductibles and a ridiculous spouse penalty. 401k is not matching and you can only make changes once per quarter. If you want to increase or decrease your contribution you may have to wait up to 3 months for it to go into effect.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management team, in the last 3 months you have almost negated everything that used to make this company great. You don't seem to care about your people at all. Its quickly becoming a sweat shop. As a result, people are running away in record numbers. Find your way again and re-engage with your teams as colleagues. Stop treating everyone like children and actually ask people what their interests are and what... they want to do. Don't just tell them what to do without any input. And please give people some career paths. The latest services re-org did not solve this problem and actually made it worse. If you don't, people will continue to leave and you will be the only ones left to do the work.

    Show More
    Wellcentive2016-05-25
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Pretty Good Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Alpharetta, GA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wellcentive full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Absolutely wonderful culture. You will meet great people who will become lifelong friends. Everyone is pretty nice and there is an open door policy. People are generally willing to help. Atmosphere is extremely relaxed. Wear what you want, just get your work done! Food is always being catered so that's a plus if you're a foodie. Pay is also pretty good, they don't lowball people. Great work life balance, plenty of... PTO which they do not make it hard to use, and fair workloads. Lots of room for growth if you want it. Also, the software product IDEA itself is awesome, how they execute it could use a LOT of work.

    Show More

    Cons

    Like I said, the idea is great. Healthcare population analytics - in my opinion everyone needs it! However, they literally do not know what they're doing. The development team is NOT U.S. based and I can almost guarantee they don't know how to use the product or what it's even used for. You ask them to write a code and they add it in with all the other codes. Good luck asking them to take it out though because they... won't know what the heck they just added! Releases are every two weeks, ALWAYS delayed, and ALWAYS break everything that was fixed in the LAST release. And I don't mean hiccups. I mean major issues with no explanations. They have ONE QA tester so you can bet your last dollar there will be issues every single time. Imagine working with customers under these conditions (I had a customer facing role). You look crazy. THIS is the only issue with this company and its the reason you'll probably get burnt out and leave.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You got the culture. Fix the product! You have an awesome idea. Get some developers in the U.S. who speak ENGLISH and can take this thing to the next level. Have some accountability for when people break things. Your customers and employees are fed up. Stop being so arrogant comparing yourself to the likes of McKesson, you're not there yet! It's been over 10 years, ask yourself, why is it still a startup?

    Wellcentive2016-05-23
Found 16 reviews