WesBanco Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

WesBanco Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
WesBanco CEO Paul M. Limbert (no image)
Paul M. Limbert
24 Ratings
Pros
  • "The company is growing and provides good benefits and the opportunity to grow into a career(in 4 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, even offered to part time employees(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 4 reviews)

  • "I think it's because their pay scale is on the low side(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Nice Community"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Manager in Lexington-Fayette, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at WesBanco full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The benefits were on par with other banking jobs. Wesbanco is much smaller than the big banks that, in my opinion, tend to be more corrupt and profit-focused. It's also a healthy bank - no concern for failure.

    Cons

    Regions are currently very spread out, which can mean a lot of travel

    WesBanco2019-08-08
  2. "Working at Wesbanco"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Float Teller 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at WesBanco full-time

    Pros

    It was a great environment and I loved the people I worked with.

    Cons

    Low pay, boring at times

    WesBanco2019-09-19
  3. "Ok place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Teller 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at WesBanco full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits even as a pt employee. Good amount of vacation and sick time.

    Cons

    Low pay scale. Frequent turnover of employees.

    Advice to Management

    Higher raises. Better training.

    WesBanco2019-08-14
  4. "Only promote males"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WesBanco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company for male employees

    Cons

    The one or two women at the top are fake and will throw anyone under the bus. Do not work here.

    Advice to Management

    It is 2019, not 1978.

    WesBanco2019-08-21
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WesBanco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People I worked with. Medical insurance.

    Cons

    There's no one way to do anything. Different people give you different answers and no matter what you do you're inevitable wrong.

    Advice to Management

    Everyone needs to be on the same page starting with training.

    WesBanco2019-04-28
  6. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Clerk in Wheeling, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at WesBanco full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    No work required on weekend

    Cons

    Not easy to get promotion

    WesBanco2019-03-19
  7. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Wheeling, WV
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WesBanco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice company, long time local employer.

    Cons

    Pay could be higher but I understand why it's where it is.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    WesBanco2019-03-27
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great image, mediocre career development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at WesBanco full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and affordable insurance Time off

    Cons

    If you're looking for higher level promotion, look elsewhere. There's a lot of pep from WesBanco about how they value employees, but they really don't. We're pacified with a pretty poor facade of career development, when it's become a 5/3rd social clique over here. Rather than promote our own qualified employees, who have invested years into pushing forward WesBanco's vision, we've started hiring bff's from other... major financial institutions. What originally started as a small town community bank with big bank capabilities has now become like every other major financial institution across the nation. We're sellouts and our employees are taking notice. Pay is super low compared to other banks in the area. Lots of pettiness from executive management

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Promote from within!

    WesBanco2019-02-15
  9. "PB Role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at WesBanco full-time

    Pros

    Good Benefits, Bank hours, good CEO

    Cons

    Not so competitive wage, small commission sharing, low amount of internal promotion, sales driven to make the bank the largest profits

    Advice to Management

    Advance lower level employees and share some of the pie.

    WesBanco2019-01-09
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good but going down hill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teller in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at WesBanco full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    you get to build customer relations, learn a lot and meet a lot of people.

    Cons

    They do not respect their seasoned employees. I have been working with them for 5 years, step in for the supervisor when she's out of office and perform the responsibilities of that job. I also meet my goals. They have hired three new hires and all three haven't had any banking experience and they all three made more than I and my fellow co-workers who have also been with the bank a while. And I'm not talking a few... cents more, I'm talking dollar amounts more. They'll ask you to do other jobs and not fairly pay you for them and then give newbies more than you. And it's a very consistent situation. It's no wonder there is so much turn over.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Some advice would be to not pay someone in the same position more than a person who has been with the company longer and is more qualified for that job. It's not right or fair whatsoever. Especially when other Banks offer a higher minimum starting wage anyways.

    WesBanco2019-01-24
Found 66 reviews