World Animal Protection Reviews | Glassdoor

World Animal Protection Reviews

Updated Feb 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
41%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
World Animal Protection Chief Executive Steve McIvor (no image)
Steve McIvor
23 Ratings
Pros
  • "Innovative and driven organisation that covers animal welfare issues from a global perspective(in 13 reviews)

  • "You get to work towards something you believe in, whether you make a difference or not is hard to tell(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Senior management make commitments and don't follow through(in 21 reviews)

  • "Steer clear of this soul destroying black hole in the animal welfare movement, where supporter donations go to die(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Fake stories and false claims"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at World Animal Protection full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great, talented, and diverse staff. Hard-working teams. Good middle management that genuinely cares. I've met some great folks who truly believe in the mission.

    Cons

    Bad and disorganized upper management (no clear vision, no long-term planning). Horrible waste of money on the organizational level (flights, conferences, accommodations...). A lot of false claims and "fake stories" of "thousands" of animals that are being saved somewhere in Romania without any factual back-up. A low ranking on Charity Navigator is justified.

    Continue reading
    World Animal Protection2019-03-13
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Could have been better than it was"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at World Animal Protection full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Mission is honorable and the on-the-ground projects are inspiring

    Cons

    They don't really care about their employees

    Continue reading
    World Animal Protection2017-09-21
  3. Helpful (2)

    "difficult to work for a subsidiary of an international org"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at World Animal Protection full-time

    Pros

    most people are passionate about what they do; nice office space

    Cons

    waiting on permission/approval/information from international - it is always delayed; don't have a great ratio of program:admin costs and has a terrible charity navigator score; very small local office - approx 5/15 employees left over last 6 months

    World Animal Protection2017-06-14
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Its not better, in some ways worse."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at World Animal Protection full-time

    Pros

    Pay, some of the staff. How obvious it is that the most recent posts are by HR and the interim CEO and his friends. He is a vocal critic of Glassdoor for obvious reasons.

    Cons

    Transparency remains an issue with the interim CEO employing his friend on a 800 a day consultancy salary instead of recruiting full time staff and giving too much power to his deputy who wields it with a great deal of unpopularity. The interim CEO is also planning a restructure and you have to ask why he is allowed by the board if he is an interim. The current interim CEO needs to really learn the art of accepting others opinions rather than bullying people into submission when views are even mildly different.

    Continue reading
    World Animal Protection2016-03-04
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at World Animal Protection full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I can't think of anything I would recommend. I truly hope potential employees will head these warnings.

    Cons

    I wouldn't recommend this workplace to anyone. Leadership is petty and acts as though they're in primary school, refuse to accept new ideas, and apparently thrive on a culture of fear and insulting employees. It appears to be a power trip more than a job for most people. For employees seeking charity work, you want to keep looking. I've never worked in a worse environment and I was only there for a year.

    Continue reading
    World Animal Protection2013-07-30
  6. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at World Animal Protection full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great organization and leadership team

    Cons

    Can't think of any cons for the organization

    World Animal Protection2020-02-04
  7. "Stressful role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Role 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at World Animal Protection full-time

    Pros

    Small Non-profit, good location, few employees

    Cons

    Weekly meetings at supervisor, dept, organization level. I felt I was being micromanaged at all levels. They teach a 'culture' that revolves around whether you are the outgoing type or not. I learned in my role that I needed to have an outgoing personality to have a good relationship with my boss - something I am not.

    Continue reading
    World Animal Protection2019-11-25
  8. "Confusing workplace with lots of big egos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at World Animal Protection full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to work towards something you believe in, whether you make a difference or not is hard to tell

    Cons

    Some people work for charities to polish their own egos, not so much because they actually believe in the charitable objection of the organisation. There are a lot of big egos in this place and certainly not everyone is in it for the right reasons.

    Continue reading
    World Animal Protection2019-11-05
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Brazilian direction is hell on earth | The rest of the team is amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in São Paulo, São Paulo
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at World Animal Protection full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is an organization where you can learn a lot and there is a great opportunity to work on several subjects at the same time. And most importantly, there is motivation for a very beautiful cause. In Brazil, campaign managers and area coordinators are extremely competent and inspiring professionals who are truly committed to improving the lives of animals. The team is very integrated, fun and friendly. The compensation and benefits are great for CLT (Brazilian hiring policy).

    Cons

    Very troubled country director in Brazil. Lack of transparency, tiresome speech and disguised false democracy - if you're emotionally prepared, if that's possible, the amazing team usually help each other in this challenge even beeing everyone affected by the governance abuse. In general, there's no opportunity for professional growth.

    Continue reading
    World Animal Protection2019-09-19
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Don't go there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at World Animal Protection full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Has lots of resources

    Cons

    A lot of employees who stay on but aren't actually qualified to do the work.

    World Animal Protection2019-08-25

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 97 reviews