Wunderman Reviews

Updated May 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
51%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Wunderman Global CEO Mel Edwards (no image)
Mel Edwards
10 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Timesheets are a pain as well as the long-hours that are sometimes required(in 27 reviews)

  • "Senior management lives in the 90s when their ideas were good(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good company but needed time to mature"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Service Engineer in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wunderman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of knowledgeable co-works regarding Medical advertising.

    Cons

    Work is semi-seasonal and based on mostly medical fields

    Wunderman2020-01-17
  2. "Great community"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Creative Director in Orange, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wunderman full-time

    Pros

    The best part of this company is the people and culture.

    Cons

    The worst part of this company is the review structure and advancement.

    Wunderman2020-05-08
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Time I'll never get back"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Consultant in Richardson, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wunderman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Decent holiday time and flexible work schedule

    Cons

    completely unfair promotion/hiring practices. Popularity contest where managers promote friends regardless of experience, knowledge or expertise. No bonus program - no incentives. Very little opportunity for growth if you aren't buddies with senior managers. Smokers are given extra break time to go smoke. (disgusting). There are a lot of people doing absolutely nothing all day long and everyone seems to know but no one does anything. They walk around the office visiting all day long while others work long hours for no extra pay.

    Continue reading
    Wunderman2020-03-19
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Poor Leadership"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wunderman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Autonomy and no real office hours

    Cons

    Total lack of vision or leadership- executive team has pulse of top three or four clients, but that’s all. They remain so focused on top-line growth they have very little understanding of true client needs

    Continue reading
    Wunderman2020-03-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Toxic workplace"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Wunderman full-time

    Pros

    Met several nice and welcoming colleagues

    Cons

    - Inadequate onboarding process: was trained by a more senior PM who ended up only badmouthing the other younger colleagues on the team, went as far as name-calling other team members, completely unprofessional. - Exclusion from meetings/preferential treatment: I felt that if you didn't look and/or act a certain way, you lose out on vital opportunities and tasks. Despite having years of PM experience, and asking for more tasks, other colleagues on the team received the said tasks due to favoritism (and I was delegated with incredibly menial tasks.) This situation was quite prevalent in the company. - During one client workshop, the aforementioned PM messaged me to leave the meeting because another AM commented to her that I did not look attentive enough. - While I've met several warmhearted colleagues in this company, I've encountered several members who've lost their tempers, made other colleagues cry, acted completely unprofessional based on whatever personal business they were dealing with, etc. - It was not until I left the company that my supervisors and colleagues realized the value I brought to the projects and the level of effort I exercised throughout my time there.

    Continue reading
    Wunderman2020-02-06
  6. "Great Company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Copywriter in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wunderman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They provide opportunities and challenges on different accounts

    Cons

    They pair up with different people to work. Hard to have consistency with a team

    Wunderman2019-12-16
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Still the worst place I ever worked"

    1.0
    Former Employee - Operations in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Wunderman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Location, I guess? Frankly there are no pros.

    Cons

    If you're looking to be over-worked, under payed, under appreciated, and manipulated, this is the place for you.

    Wunderman2019-12-24
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Opportunity"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Intern in Houston, TX
    Recommends

    I worked at Wunderman part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great environment, everyone is willing to help if time allows and they look internally to fill job openings before broadening search.

    Cons

    Personally I had no cons but if you cannot handle alternating from an extremely fast paced environment to a relatively slow one depending on the project, this is not the place for you.

    Wunderman2019-07-10
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Don't recommend. THOROUGH REVIEW. Employee for 3 years."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Wunderman full-time

    Pros

    - When I was first hired here, they told me they only hire good people. And that could not be more true. Everyone here is pretty awesome. No back-stabbing or malicious activity. - Working right next to Georgetown Waterfront is amazing. Only thing is its expensive to drive and metro. Parking is horrendous and you have to walk a little while from FoggyBottom to get to the office. - As long as you get your work done on-time, you are good to go. People also understand that life happens and if you need to work remote that's fine.

    Cons

    - The pay is low for the industry standard. They are constantly talking about how they don't have the budget for anything. Yet we just went through an office redesign, spent so much on it and now the morale is so low due to the new office. Its a sterile open space office layout. For a while, we weren't allowed to have our own desks—now we are finally allowed to because they recognized how much everyone hated the new space. - The culture is shot mostly due to the office redesign which I mentioned above. We used to have amazing culture and they hire great people. But the space makes you feel like you can't talk to people. There are no paid happy hours. There's nothing (no events) to bring community between employees. - We have standard benefits. But in addition to that, there is nothing you want to strive for because there is really no reward. - Pharma is the only kind of work here. We have expanded into a few other healthcare related businesses. But XELJANZ is the bulk of the business. BEWARE. If we loss XELJANZ, we would probably lose the DC office. - There is little creativity in the work due to stipulations with FDA regulations for the drugs we promote. For a while they only let a select few people be on pitch work but they are expanding because people complained about it so much. - Promotions are few and far between and unless you are a favorite then you likely won't get a promotion. Your manager won't back you up and try to help you get anywhere. You are on your own... There's no end in sight. - There is no annual raise for cost of living. This is also a problem because the pay is so low here.. - Working remote is pretty flexible here but its more flexible for certain people such as those who work remote all the time because either they moved. Just because they chose to move away doesn't make it fair that you can work remote all the time. Also some people have designated "work from home" days. They need to come up with a standard to give everyone a work from home opportunity. **Culture has gotten so bad here that we had a company "off-day" where the business-side was shut down. Everyone had to attend a company event held in our building to address all of the morale problems we are experiencing. This event was held in the beginning of April. Its now three months later and no action has been made...

    Continue reading
    Wunderman2019-07-10
  10. "Used to be a great place to work. Not now."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Quality Manager in Richardson, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wunderman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lot's of room for individual, self starters.

    Cons

    Heavily siloed company without mature methods or processes. Revenue driven - not quality or strategic. Lots of emergencies. Parent company does not understand the culture or methods of the company. Money is badly managed in the past two or three years.

    Continue reading
    Wunderman2019-06-24
Found 394 reviews