Yell Reviews

Updated May 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
73%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Yell UK CEO  Claire Miles
Claire Miles
25 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Targets are tough but can be achieved with long hours(in 19 reviews)

  • "There are no cons I can see with yell(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Birmingham, Tippecanoe, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Unlimited earnings opportunity. Territory management is like running your own business.

    Cons

    Targets can be tough to hit. Particular focus on different products, focus shifts. Lots of admin work

    Yell2014-07-28
  2. "Web Support Specialist"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Higher pay than other employers

    Cons

    No work life balance and lots of management transfers

    Yell2017-11-27

    Yell Response

    December 10, 2017Head of Customer Onboarding

    Hi, Thank you for the review, it isn’t clear from the review when you left the business, but we are pleased to hear that your experience was a positive one. In terms of your feedback one of our key focuses this year has been on facilitating employee’s with managing their work- life balance and where possible we now offer agile-working and home-working across the business. Thank you again for leaving your feedback.

  3. "Good enough firm"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Consultant in Surrey, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yell

    Pros

    Good training in house to date

    Cons

    Hard work at first ly

    Yell2015-01-29
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great until this final year"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell

    Pros

    Outside sales, freedom to work, live and enjoy family activities. Team spirit reward accomplishments

    Cons

    PRESSURE COOKER, moving objectives , management on fear

    Continue reading
    Yell2014-08-13
  5. "Quality co-workers sinking together at a company with no future and no leadership"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in King of Prussia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Here are some of the good things: Good work/life balance High quality co-workers who care about the business Nice office park Lots of jokes can be made about working for the phone book

    Cons

    Here are some of the bad things: Print advertising is dead No faith in new company direction Leadership not innovative - their "new" direction is just copying other people Secretive about future changes Did not leverage people to improve company

    Continue reading
    Yell2013-11-04
  6. "Inconsistent management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent opportunity to make money even if you do not have much experience in sales. The training is good and the resources available are enough to give anyone a chance at success.

    Cons

    Extensive travel keeps you on the road quite a bit. The changes in the industry make it difficult to sell their core product, print advertising. The negative stigma in the market place of the company makes it difficult to overcome when calling on clients. The charge back system is unfair because it makes you not only a salesperson but get involved in collections as well which hurts relationships.

    Continue reading
    Yell2013-03-24
  7. "A little less than satisfactory"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Client Service Representative in Houston, TX

    I have been working at Yell

    Pros

    If Outside Sales Performance is good then company supports you. They do not pay enough bonus on your achievements as other like companies. However, being in outside sales gives you flexibility to manage your time, and if you are a natural over achiever you it can be gratifying to work here. The senior managers of our office are patient and flexible if you are doing your job, and try not to interfere as long as you are performing well with meeting your goals, and expectations of company. Bonuses are easily achieved if one works hard, and it can make up the lack of income on the CSR's average earnings. Great Benefits. Overall not a bad place to be employed.

    Cons

    If Sales performance is poor then serious Micro-Management gets involved which is to be expected. Salaries are under average as with other like companies in Outside Sales. Very little to NO mobility in upwards movement and growth with the company at least in our office. Challenges of income growth or loss are derived by individual performance strictly on sales ability in a downward overall usage trend in our Market or Industry by the belief of consumer's today. Since normal growth patterns of other similar advertising companies still remains positive and growing. Our company is undergoing many changes to effectively compete in the advertising industry of today's consumer needs that it is having a negative impact on any growth and opportunity for advancement in the company. You must work even harder to achieve better than average income, but that is as good as it gets. Plaques and Bonuses do not mean upwards mobility so that said in our industry today be ready to overcome those challenges if you are thinking to work here in outside sales. Be prepared for this Global Change, and with the changes coming into effect the "cons" may eventually work it's way out. But for now, and who knows exactly for how long I do not see any positive reinforcement of upwards mobility with this company. I do however believe the company is moving in the right direction from a Print Only company to an aggressive Online Advertising, and eMarketing Solutions Company.

    Continue reading
    Yell2012-05-22
  8. "Hard work but good salary"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Nice perks ie company car and good training

    Cons

    Management just pushed too much, high targets

    Continue reading
    Yell2020-05-23
  9. "Good entry into sales and marketing."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Relationship Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great training. Everybody very friendly

    Cons

    90's telesales mentality. Never knew my targets until halfway throught the quarter at least. Sometimes targeted on things out of your control and slow to change

    Continue reading
    Yell2020-05-22
  10. "Going Down Hill...."

    2.0
    Current Employee - Customer Relationship Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They can be flexible with working hours. Salary & bonus are ok. Colleagues are nice people making it a fun working environment. Some great team leaders New CEO Now starting to put the customer first New selection of products available to customers

    Cons

    Since Covid-19 understandably a strain has been put onto customer services, management exacerbate this by adding extra pressure & unachievable targets, not taking into consideration individual homeworking situations. Feeling under appreciated. Some Politician Senior leadership team who can never give a straight answer. No progression unless you are in the inner circle. Now being micro managed

    Continue reading
    Yell2020-04-29

    Yell Response

    May 12, 2020

    Thank you for taking he time to leave us a review. It is great to see a long list of positives. We are very proud of our products and people! It is a shame to see that you are feeling under pressure in these unprecedented times. As a business, we are striving to continue to do right by our customer and the current climate has seen our call volumes dramatically increase. We are adapting our processes where necessary in order to deal with these volumes. We are hoping that the pressure will ease soon!

Found 515 reviews
</>Embed