deVere Group Reviews

Updated May 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
61%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
deVere Group CEO Nigel Green
Nigel Green
375 Ratings
Pros
  • "The earning potential is second to none(in 36 reviews)

  • "It is a job that requires a lot of hard work and effort but the rewards are very tangible(in 28 reviews)

Cons
  • "Need dedication and to be a self-motivated individual, so often work long hours (although weekends are always off)(in 64 reviews)

  • "The training done in Malta might not be fully applicable to where you end up working, due to different exam boards etc(in 39 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (13)

    "Positive"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at deVere Group full-time

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere. High income potential.

    Cons

    High demand and high stress

    deVere Group2017-08-09
  2. "Review"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Busineess Development in New York, NY

    I have been working at deVere Group full-time

    Pros

    really nice team with good training programs and seniors help and train juniors a lot

    Cons

    sometimes the team is not very professional

    deVere Group2020-04-05
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Terribble stay awa"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Business Development Manager in Malta, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at deVere Group for less than a year

    Pros

    none really, nrot a great company

    Cons

    none truly, same as above

    Continue reading
    deVere Group2019-01-17
  4. Helpful (39)

    "Not a graduate course or a finance role"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at deVere Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Apply if you want to travel a little but you will burn through your savings to relocate and because they place you on a draw. If you apply you will get through, they take everyone since so many people quit so at least it's an easy process. Some people will make commissions, this could earn you an average amount within the first year. These people are in the minority, a number of factors out of your control will effect it. You will have fun on training, its basically a boozy holiday with a bunch of other 21 year olds. There is no actual training though, we were forced onto the phones to recruit other people for the course.

    Cons

    This is neither a graduate course nor a finance role. It is entirely sales. You will dredge through LinkedIn to find prospects then cold call 100 of them a day, everyday. There is no personal development, financial training or knowledge. You advise clients to transfer their UK pensions or save. But there is no thought to suitability for clients hence the trouble the firm has been in around the world. Do a quick search for "devere group" then either "fines" or "suspended" or "complaints" before you apply. There is a striking lack of ethics at the company. You will be placed on a draw so you will earn no immediate income apart from in one or two select locations. Even in these locations, salary is below the living salary. You will require significant savings and be prepared to burn through this. There is very little assistance when relocating abroad. They recruit 50 people anticipating many will leave. Including myself, there are 5 people left from my course of about 30. They tell you these people leave because they could not put the hard work in whereas the truth is the work is basic and monotonous. You are essentially a glorified secretary. As an example, some people doing the job were floor fitters back in the UK, which there's nothing wrong with but just don't go expecting a tough graduate course that will develop your financial knowledge. They will actively lie about how much they will pay and what your role in the field will be. Personally, I felt scammed when I arrived in the field. We were not paid the promised amount after the training course and certain expenses we were told would be covered in the field were not covered when we arrived. The salary listed online of up to 40k or 80k is simply a lie. Certain places will give you 27k GBP or lower, then you may get commissions but almost every office you work in has employees on a draw. During the training they scrape your LinkedIn and send recruitment messages to your connections whilst mentioning your name . They ask your permission but you are pushed into doing this. Be aware that moving to a new finance role after is challenging because the company is not viewed very highly by others in the industry. I would never recommend this role to another graduate.

    Continue reading
    deVere Group2018-08-06
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Coordinator"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at deVere Group full-time

    Pros

    Work with an international team. Good sales training.

    Cons

    Long hours. Boring work. Poor career advancement opportunities.

    deVere Group2018-08-03
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Beware"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at deVere Group

    Pros

    intensive sales training, but no real organized training

    Cons

    No real management Everyone is in it for themselves

    Continue reading
    deVere Group2018-08-21
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Potential to earn"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at deVere Group full-time

    Pros

    If you hit a few good clients and were able to receive some referrals and continue using that as a business model the returns could be great.

    Cons

    If you got stuck and had a few bad weeks or months it becomes very hard to get out of the red.

    Continue reading
    deVere Group2018-04-16
  8. Helpful (6)

    "very challenging but rewarding"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Wealth Advisor in Malta, MT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at deVere Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The training is the best I've ever gotten The trainers are very knowledgeable and very helpful Very good team spirit great opportunity to travel and make good money

    Cons

    don't do this program if you aren't willing to work hard. they expect a lot from there staff and you will be expected to give 110% effort from day 1

    Continue reading
    deVere Group2018-03-01
  9. Helpful (3)

    "client coordinator"

    2.0
     

    I have been working at deVere Group

    Pros

    good group of people that work there for the most part, very competitive and sales oriented. cold calling is the job pretty much

    Cons

    very long process that takes a long time to close deals, not much central management but more small team driven and competitive culture

    deVere Group2016-12-02
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Challenging But Rewarding"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Trainee Wealth Advisor in Malta, MT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at deVere Group

    Pros

    intensive training - learn a lot in a short time. CEO is very hands on and approachable

    Cons

    hard work - working 6 days a week on occasion on top of work to do at home and reivsion

    deVere Group2016-09-05
Found 521 reviews