KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

evo

Engaged Employer

evo

Add a Review

evo Reviews

Updated Jul 7, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 69 of over 78 reviews

4.2
75%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
evo Founder and CEO Bryce Phillips (no image)
Bryce Phillips
38 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    it's a special place

    Jul 7, 2022 - Talent Acquisition Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company is headed in such an exciting direction and I feel empowered and impactful in my role. Lot's of collaboration across teams and a clear set of goals & objectives to feel successful. evo has great retention and many employees have been with the company for 10+ years, making it feel like a family. Lots of focus on bringing in and supporting a diverse work force with ERG groups and community impact initiatives & partners. It's very clear leadership puts building something special, unique and community driven over profits. It reflects how the business is run and the experience they give employees.

    Cons

    Processes and tools are being built. I think the right fit for evo is someone that wants to build those and can handle a level of ambiguity. If that works for you, you'll have the ability to make an impact and thrive.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Not a waste of time, but definitely not a place for a career.

    Mar 1, 2022 - Management in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Benefits for full-time employees -Industry discounts -Lifelong friends

    Cons

    -Communication: amongst management to staff, hq to management, one person would say one thing and another would say something else. There wasn't any consistency. -I dealt with issues with the managers I worked with, pointing out flaws within our team, with the hopes that through training and proper communication, we could work through those issues. I was shot down immediately. I was told that "you either jump on the bus or you're not on the bus." You can't have an opinion, let alone let those you work side by side with that you don't agree with how they are managing. -When I stood up for the employees (overworking, being treated poorly by customers, high expectations, mental health), I was ignored and told to focus on other things. -Towards the end of my time, I was told that I was the problem. Ultimately that led me to leave, as I felt disrespected, unheard, criticized, and unwelcome in a place that I had loved working. -You are constantly told that there is room for growth - for some, there is. For others, they'll put their time in and learn everything they possibly can, and be told that they're too valuable in the role they're in to see any upward growth into a new position.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great, not perfect

    Dec 13, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company values (the great 8) can actually be seen in action, unlike any other company I've worked for. Great team atmosphere, although quite youthful. Internal promotions happen everywhere. It seems like 90 of HQ started in customer care. Employees are passionate about the outdoors and you will be too, whether or not you are when hired.

    Cons

    Evo doesn't realize it's a big player in the market now, and there are expectations that come along with that. Pay is below market rate for all positions, which was understandable as a small "scrappy" company, but doesn't cut it anymore. While early to mid-level career growth is great, senior level roles are sparse, which leads to a ceiling after 5 years or so. Upper management is mostly people who have been with the company since the beginning, and may not have experience at their level. This is not an issue by itself, but certain personalities are more accepting of new ideas than others.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Really let me down ...

    Sep 24, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Awesome product - Volunteer paid time off was a wonderful program - Growing fast

    Cons

    I worked at evo HQ for several years and found myself disappointed by evo's external brand reputation not matching what HQ office culture was like. Online retail can be inherently stressful, but I felt consistently overworked. I was in many meetings where managers behaved rudely and hurt the feelings of fellow employees. This isn't the lifestyle company they claim to be. Paid time off was measly. Some employees were cliquey with a serious "boys club" making it hard to get invited to ski and ride. Yes, you may get a free board every year but you're making $5K less than market wage. You'd be able to afford a new board every year and cash the other $4k at another job. I've been able to snowboard/ camp/ bike way more at my non-outdoor-industry Seattle job with better time-off than I ever did at evo.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Fun Job

    Apr 21, 2022 - Ski Sales Associate in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great discounts and fun people.

    Cons

    Busy and understaffed during peak season.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Place To Work!

    Mar 14, 2022 - Ski Bootfitter in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great environment for employees, really good benefits, chill supervisors yet they know what needs to get done, a community of people focused on bringing others together rather than selling as much as possible.

    Cons

    Honestly none. Great place to work

    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great vibes, long shifts

    Apr 28, 2022 - Sales Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Talk about gear and share passions for the outdoors!

    Cons

    Shifts are very long and exhausting

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great people, fun perks, and growing fast lots of opportunity for growth.

    Jan 16, 2022 - Outbound Supervisor in Sumner, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The team is an incredible group of people. They work hard and play hard.

    Cons

    We are busy lots of hours for those that want them.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    A job

    Apr 14, 2022 - Product Photographer in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture, Discounts, Friends, Lifestyle, Fun

    Cons

    Low pay, tough to move up, unorganized at times, scrappy

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good company

    Mar 28, 2022 - Inventory Control Specialist in Sumner, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free health insurance, free gear to use every year, good culture

    Cons

    Doesn't have the greatest pay

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 69 Reviews
</>Embed

evo Reviews FAQs

evo has an overall rating of 4.2 out of 5, based on over 78 reviews left anonymously by employees. 75% of employees would recommend working at evo to a friend and 82% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 5% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, evo employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.6 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at evo. This rating has improved by 8% over the last 12 months.

75% of evo employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated evo 4.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.5 for culture and values and 4.0 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at evo to be culture, coworkers, benefits and the cons to be diversity and inclusion, management, career development.

Popular Careers with evo Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at evo? Share Your Experiences

evo logo
or

evo Photos

+ Add Photo
evo photo of: evo all company retreat 2019
evo photo of: evo International Women's Day ride day event 2022
evo photo of: evo x Trew team working on collab collection in evo HQ office
evo photo of: evo private label winter exclusives displayed at evo HQ in Seattle
evo photo of: evo crew bike ride in Salt Lake City, UT
evo photo of: evo Seattle store
evo photo of: boot fitting at the evo Seattle store
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Rhythm Snow Sports Japan