iTutorGroup Reviews

Updated May 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
40%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
iTutorGroup Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer Eric Yang
Eric Yang
124 Ratings
Pros
  • "This gives me the freedom to work from home and WHEN I want to work(in 146 reviews)

  • "Pretty flexible schedule, they reduced the required MPT last year so it’s pretty good(in 73 reviews)

Cons
  • "I was also surprised at the extremely low base rate for adult lessons(in 79 reviews)

  • "They said they would start (base pay) at(in 67 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Nice"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online Tutor in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at iTutorGroup full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    24 hours, easy premade lessons

    Cons

    Slow technical support, student ratings can affect your job

    iTutorGroup2019-12-20
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Need improvements but can earn some extra cash"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at iTutorGroup full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I like the part that I can get support from other teachers and get some experience to help improving my teaching skills. The training portal is helpful as well but the video is way too long. I only teach adult for now I guess they are all professionals so not having hard moment with them yet.

    Cons

    They sent out too many emails about the certificate, recently became the BG check. I can understand it’s the regulation but maybe it’s could be a better way to deliver the msg.

    Continue reading
    iTutorGroup2020-05-02
  3. "Terrible Scam of a Company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Online English Teacher in Jersey City, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at iTutorGroup part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can have a flexible schedule

    Cons

    Falsely advertised compensation Stubborn management You must pay for all of the necessary materials to begin teaching (e.g. A logo-less red polo, a backdrop of iTutorgroup) Why? Useless IT Very Low pay with no bonuses

    iTutorGroup2020-05-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Advertised pay is very deceptive - borderline a scam."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tutor in Clearwater, FL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at iTutorGroup part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good online training tools, good tech platform, good clients

    Cons

    They advertise $18 to 20 per hour. The reality is less than half of that. Getting enough hours seems to be a challenge. Hours very sporadic.Pay ends up being very dependent on a lot of things you can't control. If you factor in the time wasted waiting for potential lessons the pay is probably less than $5 per hour

    Continue reading
    iTutorGroup2020-05-04
  5. Helpful (2)

    "An OK place to get your feet wet."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at iTutorGroup part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They have a decent platform and your colleagues are always ready to help. The kids are great, but I think you will find that with any Chinese company.

    Cons

    The curriculum is terrible. Basically, anyone can write curricula; it doesn't matter whether s/he has experience or not. Even if the lesson has flagrant errors, you still have to teach it, or be penalized should a student complain. The company doesn't care about qualifications. You get paid according to where you live. For example, you could have Ph.D in Education or Applied Linguistics, twenty years of experience, and be a native speaker, but if you choose to live in the Philipines or Thailand, you could make 2 or 3 dollars an hour. However, if you live in the States, for example, and have a Groupon TESL certificate (120 hours), chances are you will be making 10 times what the Ph.D is making. I've never seen such a disregard for quality. In addition, they are quite punitive to their teachers- there is no grace period to learn the ropes. You basically have to sink or swim.

    Continue reading
    iTutorGroup2020-05-01
  6. Helpful (4)

    "It's great to work here, but........."

    4.0
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at iTutorGroup full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, Very understanding with cancelation, Always pay on time, a large number of great students

    Cons

    The rating system is very unfair especially in group classes with Juniors. I once had a child who refused to participate in class, when he did talk, he'll just argue with me on present tense and past tense, I tried correcting him, he got mad, gave me a rating of 1 without any tag. This negeatively affected my ratings and with student not rating classes and not getting about one class a day or hardly any, it's been a struggle getting the ratings back up. I used to be fully booked but now I'm getting nothing, and lots of other teachers aren't getting anything too. Lack of communication or reply to tickets/emails is also a big issue, we don't get informed or updated on certain things. I had my OUP tag taken away without any form of reason and this happened to a lot of teachers. 85% of my classes are OUP. Now I hardly even get one class a day. How do I boost my ratings when I'm not getting classes. I do this job full time working 7 or more hours a day, 7 days a week. Lots of people think I'm a fool doing this full time, But I like committting to anything that I do. I love this job, I commit my full time to it. I hardly ever cancel, I have not absences, have tons of regular student, no longer have any. I love this job at this point am almost getting depressed wondering what the future holds for me, as there are no classes to help me in bossting my ratings

    Continue reading
    iTutorGroup2020-04-05

    iTutorGroup Response

    April 12, 2020Senior Systems Analyst

    Thanks for sharing your experience of working with iTutorGroup! Regarding unfair low ratings, don't worry, we won't let your effort ruined just by a few unfortunate cases. Our low rating invalidation policy removes a certain percentage of your lowest ratings so that your payment will still reflect your genuine hard work. We've opened multiple channels for consultants to communicate with us, we also have a suggestion box that you can chat with our CEO directly regarding any feedback or suggestions. We will continue to improve our platform with your valuable voice. Look forward to hearing from more feedback and suggestions to help us move forward. Have a great next session!

  7. Helpful (8)

    "Strange company."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at iTutorGroup part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy. Flexible schedule. Cancel when you want.

    Cons

    I worked everyday for 10 months straight. Read these stories of others complaining, wondering why they were complaining. The job is so easy and flexible. Then one day they stopped giving work without explanation. I read others in forums having the same thing happen to them. All people with good ratings. Then I read other people just starting with the company and getting work. While people who have put in work getting nothing. No one answers your questions or cares. Do it to make a little money if you need to. But don't take it seriously. Because its a joke.

    Continue reading
    iTutorGroup2020-04-09
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Great company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online ESL Teacher in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at iTutorGroup full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible for work from home job. Easy to get attendance bonuses and other bonuses.

    Cons

    Performance bonuses are not based on actual performance, rather if the parents like you or not, even though all session are recorded. So even if your performance was AMAZING, if the parents didn’t like you and give you a bad rating, you won’t get that bonus, which sucks.

    Continue reading
    iTutorGroup2020-03-17

    iTutorGroup Response

    March 23, 2020Senior Systems Analyst

    Thanks for sharing your experience of working with iTutorGroup! Who would not say it's an ideal job of being an online English consultant? We've offered great flexibility and autonomy to consultants who have passion for teaching and exchanging mind! While we can not force students to leave their feedback (as this is voluntary), we do engage in every possible effort to encourage our students in doing so as this will increase the algorithm's adaptability. Feel free to shoot us an email or via comm center if you'd like to discuss this further.

  9. Helpful (3)

    "Worst paying company out there"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - English Tutor in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at iTutorGroup part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros for this company

    Cons

    poor paying and false advertising

    Continue reading
    iTutorGroup2020-04-18
  10. Helpful (8)

    "High Maintenance for What it Pays"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at iTutorGroup part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * Adults and Older Children--I prefer these age groups, even if the adult classes pay peanuts! *SUPER flexible schedule. I can open up classes and have them booked THAT DAY. I can cancel whenever I want...some companies will fire you for that. *Recruitment team is helpful and friendly *Pays on time, and wires directly to your account.

    Cons

    * Pay is not as advertised. I was told going in that 16/hr was the BASE for ITG. That may be true if you are teaching 25 min OUPs or REGs, but is CERTAINLY not the case for the 45 min REGS. Those give you $7. 50/hr for base, plus 'bonuses' contingent on student ratings. Student ratings are highly variable, so you can make even less than $7.50 if the student rates you negatively. *Oh, and your job depends on these ratings. If your ratings fall under 9 out of 10 stars, you are gone! Buh-bye! So, not only do you have to depend on these highly subjective ratings, but you will lose your job if some pissy student gives you a 1. No, HR will not evaluate the WHYS. People get low ratings because other students have loud backgrounds, because they showed up late to class and missed a ton of material, because they do not like to share group courses with other students, because they don't like your face, exc. * Local staff are dipshits, and the company is honestly a diva. ITG requires an elaborate background for teaching purposes. Mine was rejected several times because the idiot who was supposed to evaluate it was adhering to rules that had been changed months ago (nb, this was likely the only job the individual in question must do). I lost weeks of an income due to this. Now, it appears that they want me to make a new profile pic due to new, updated rules. Oh, yeah. And they want you to do unpaid training every time they update those materials. *Everything is so anti-teacher, and teachers are blamed for everything. *You can receive a class 1 hour in advance. I like the flexibility, but I do not like being on call for hours I may not even be paid a measily 7.50 for! Oh, and if you don't notice that class because you are....living in that one hour window, you get marked absent. 6 absences in 6 months get you kicked to the curb.

    Continue reading
    iTutorGroup2020-02-18
Found 423 reviews