simply mac Reviews | Glassdoor

simply mac Reviews

Updated May 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 167 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
31%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
Steve Bain
75 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management was terrible (not the store manger)(in 18 reviews)

  • "Employees are given hard to achieve commissions to justify minimum wage(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Team - Love my Store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Specialist in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at simply mac full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Love the people I work with, and my management team. Love being around apple products.

    Cons

    As others have said on here Apple doesn’t treat their partner stores very fairly and are always making our job harder.

    Advice to Management

    Seeing all the negative reviews on here I’m guessing those stores has store issues that need to be addressed. Replicate my stores culture across the company and I think you’ll see improvement.

    simply mac2019-02-20
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Worst leadership I’ve seen."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Gainesville, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at simply mac full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Servicing electronics and learning new things can be a lot of fun.

    Cons

    Leadership focuses on the negative (20 kpis) and leads out of fear. Plays heavy favorites. No development taking place. Beware EMPTY PROMISES MADE!

    Advice to Management

    Stop it! Don’t call out the bad stores in all store meetings and emails! Celebrate the good! Inspire your teams to want to do good rather than just not be bad. Don’t just say inspirational quotes but apply them to your own leadership skills.

    simply mac2019-05-28
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Poorly Ran, terrible environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at simply mac full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Product you can believe in.

    Cons

    Company is taking advantage of customers. Over charging and continues to add fees and charges to apple repairs. Upper managers don't care about people, only numbers regardless of company motto. They only act like they care when it suits them. Upper leadership is horrible to work for. Lies to the employees and only surrounds themselves with yes people. The other leaders don’t do anything to help, just tells them what...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Reevaluate how you treat people. Why is there a “leader” that has done nothing but close stores and have people quit? Why is the answer to everything to write people up? This place sucks to work for.

    simply mac2019-05-07
  4. "Find a complete solution for customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Representative 

    I have been working at simply mac full-time

    Pros

    Excellent team design concept, great training from the better stores

    Cons

    Management doesn't know what's going on in most stores.

    Advice to Management

    Listen and empower your team but when they prove they can't be trusted, don't let them walk like that. Illegal activity should have zero tolerance.

    simply mac2019-03-22
  5. "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at simply mac full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, paid vacation, personal days

    Cons

    Poor communication to stores, disorganized, little to no training

    simply mac2019-04-17
  6. "I get where they are going with it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at simply mac full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    *Fun employees *Decent yearly discount *Knowledge of Apple products *Support from sister stores

    Cons

    *Not a big enough headcount *Not enough training for the jobs assigned *Stressful Environment *Unrealistic goals *Cut-Throat Upper Management *Poor Surveillance

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees like people. Stop gossiping to other Store Managers about the flaws of Store Leaders and it's employees. Provide better coaching to your employees, and give them better tools to succeed. This company is decent, but can be so much better, with a stronger structure, bigger headcount.

    simply mac2019-02-19
  7. "Honest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IOS Technician in Missoula, MT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at simply mac full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Okay Pay Great people to work with Great Discounts at GameStop Opportunities to move up

    Cons

    Commission isn't the best A lot of Company Roll Over Management communication needs improvement

    Advice to Management

    Please please stop downing us for regression with sales. This is retail and for a full time job I barely had 40 hours for two weeks which is horrible. I am struggling to pay rent and bills.

    simply mac2019-02-17
  8. "I mean, It's fine..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Apple Pro in Grand Junction, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at simply mac full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to work with Apple (as a third party) and get to be a great associate. You can have a chance to move up, but make sure you tell those that you are available to do so.

    Cons

    No one care directly about you, except those you work with. Couple DMs really screwed over certain sales and relationships just simply because they have power. They only care about the company and not you. Don't ever expect to answer how your day was to higher management. Other than this, Apple themselves have their own policies watch make it extremely hard. I won't charge this towards the company as this is more so Apple's...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop screwing around and actually connect with your employees. I feel like Im being told what to do and I feel squashed.

    simply mac2019-02-16
  9. Helpful (5)

    "The worst place ever to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at simply mac

    Pros

    Literally nothing other than being able to pay for food but only if you work you butt off.

    Cons

    Very bad scheduling, favoritism, the upper management only cares about numbers and not the person. You’ll have to do so much more than you’re meant to and you will he overworked. Go straight to HR with complaints and never talk to your store manager about anything. There’s so much turnover in this company it’s the worst place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Sell the company and close down. Don’t ever open something like this again.

    simply mac2019-01-01
  10. Helpful (2)

    "It was stressful and anything is better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Manager in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at simply mac full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They fire managers like crazy so you might get to be one-

    Cons

    Everything but having food to eat.

    Advice to Management

    I don't think advice will help this company.

    simply mac2018-11-08
Found 167 reviews