KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

simply mac

Part of GameStop
Is this your company?

simply mac

Add a Review

simply mac Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 295 of over 297 reviews

2.3
22%
Recommend to a Friend
22%
Approve of CEO
simply mac President & CEO Steve Bain (no image)
Steve Bain
125 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "This all goes back to the upper management.(in 33 reviews)
  • "Low pay.(in 26 reviews)
  • "The management is awful.(in 26 reviews)
  • "The company has made no formal announcement about this, but with rumors going around the company to many managers saying this is the most likely outcome, it seems that the company is completely switching gears and soon will be solely a Electronic Vehicle outlet, and will no longer service or sell Apple products.(in 15 reviews)
  • "No training time for certifications(they're expected to be done off the clock).(in 12 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of simply mac and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Ok

    Apr 16, 2022 - Sales Representative in Tampa, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It was ok at best

    Cons

    Nothing bad decent discounts easy process

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Decent but improvements needed

    Sep 19, 2022 - Technically Support 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Simplymac was a decent job

    Cons

    horrible management which ruined everything

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Not an Apple Store

    Sep 8, 2022 - Sales Associate in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Loved working with technology, and believing in the products I sold.

    Cons

    The store ran as if it were a busy apple store, when in fact we were so slow, most reps had little to do, and that was every location I visited. As a Sales Floor Lead, I was not allowed to help a customer directly, I had to deligate help to that customer, even if everyone else was busy repairing tech in the back, and I was the only person on the floor.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Overworked, Underpaid, Exploited

    Aug 22, 2022 - Sales Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people that come in are a delight and your coworkers can be some of the best folks; almost like found family.

    Cons

    However, the district management and up don't care about their managers, staffing issues, or otherwise. Just make the paper and be accountable for their lack of accountability.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Not too great

    Sep 18, 2022 - Technician in Marietta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The friends I made was the best part.

    Cons

    The management was awful. They didn’t care about you or anything you had going on in your life.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Your Team Will Make It Or Break It

    May 12, 2022 - Technician 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I was very lucky to have the team I did. We were a new store so we all had a sense of comradery as we almost had to literally build our store. This is a good job for someone just out of college/doesn't have any dependents. Otherwise, things will be tight. They boosted the pay rate for every position which significantly helped, but if you live in a major city or anywhere in general with a high cost of living it's just not enough for a full-time job. If you enjoy seeing the insides of phones/computers and such, then you will generally enjoy most aspects of this job. Just as important as your team, who you have as your store manager will make or break this job. I was super lucky and had a manager that was pretty accommodating if I needed a shift changed or needed a specific day off here or there. Overall my experience was that my own store's culture was great to the point where we would hang out after work from time to time.

    Cons

    First and foremost, you are a salesman. Doesn't matter what your job title actually is, you are a "won't take no for an answer" type of salesman. In your typical role, this wouldn't be a big deal, however, they got rid of commission and changed to a goal to bonus structure. Essentially, if you hit your goal, you get a bonus. Except that bonus only applied to the store manager, sales specialist, and ops manager. If you're a part of the service team, there is ZERO incentive other than "management said so" to push sales, except you will be penalized if you don't. There is zero structured training. Training for every person at every store will look different. Usually, when a new store opens, they will send the new employees to train at the closest store (usually a couple hours away) WITHOUT compensating for miles on personal vehicles. "Just carpool." This is a full-time job. People rely on this as their primary source of income. But upper management doesn't seem to care as they will cut people's hours (which cuts pay) if it is a slow day. It's all about the numbers to them. If you hit your goal one day and miss it the next, they only focus your miss. There's zero realism. Some days are just slow, some days you will see less than 10 people, but to them that's not an excuse for not meeting unrealistically high sales goals. They will push you to sell "Simple Care", an Apple Care alternative that's honestly a horrible deal, especially if your store is in a college town. They try to get you to push it as the better option since there's no deductible, but what they leave out is that it only covers the cost of the device, and repairs on Apple devices are expensive. 1 display repair later and you've already exhausted most of your care. It is only good at a Simply Mac location, so if you're a student, that's not a viable option. Every time you sell a device without Simple Care, they make you fill out a form on why you didn't sell it. Even if it's just as simple as the customer didn't have enough money for it, YOU are at fault because YOU didn't properly explain the value in it. Another reviewer put it best. Playing middleman between the customer and Apple is beyond frustrating. Customers see the Apple logo underneath the Simply Mac logo and expect the exact same experience and charges. Nope. We charge $30 just to touch their device and it's actually the biggest daily sales goal. Every employee has to get a certain amount of these iOS Support fees daily. You can imagine the backlash you'll get telling someone that they have to pay for something that is normally free. I understand why, we aren't Apple and charge for our services, but it's almost like we sneak it in there. It isn't really advertised and we have all of these additional repair fees which brings up the cost of an already expensive repair. Upper management has zero clue what they're doing. Our regional manager changed 3 times in a year. Some were fired, eventually, they got rid of the position completely. Expectations, processes, and company structure are constantly changing. Now they're trying to sell EV Scooters. They keep pushing them but they frankly don't sell. We probably had 15-20 scooters in inventory and would sell maybe 2 a month.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Worst board ever

    Aug 29, 2022 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Field teams were amazing. They excelled at what they did

    Cons

    The owners/board of directors completely screwed everyone to make a buck. People should be thrown in jail for how they treated the teams

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Not bad

    Jun 24, 2022 - Sales Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Wasn’t hard if you could talk to people A lot of computer timer

    Cons

    In a mall Not enough traffic

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Not Good

    Aug 23, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It was a hostile place to work.

    Cons

    company went out of buis.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Repair Center

    Jun 26, 2022 - Technician 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Was a good place the first year and then it went to dirt. Pay was okay, Employees and repairing was great.

    Cons

    corporate, constantly changing policy and hours, not helping when you reach out, tossed around the company, if you were a female you got harassed by upper management.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 295 Reviews

simply mac Reviews FAQs

simply mac has an overall rating of 2.3 out of 5, based on over 297 reviews left anonymously by employees. 22% of employees would recommend working at simply mac to a friend and 15% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -17% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, simply mac employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.7 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at simply mac. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

22% of simply mac employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated simply mac 2.4 out of 5 for work life balance, 2.2 for culture and values and 2.5 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at simply mac to be workplace, coworkers and the cons to be benefits, career development, senior leadership.

Popular Careers with simply mac Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at simply mac? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

simply mac Photos

+ Add Photo
simply mac photo of: What a nice and clean looking store!
simply mac photo of: Accessory wall is looking awesome!
simply mac photo of: Look at that happy customer!
simply mac photo of: Simply Mac on point!
simply mac photo of: Interior of Foothill
simply mac photo of: Inside a Simply Mac store
simply mac photo of: Store display wall
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

GameStop Corp.Apple Inc.Spring Mobile

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

simply mac Job Seekers Also Viewed

Apple Logo
Apple

4.3

33,342 Reviews
Compare