xTuple Reviews

Updated Oct 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
61%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
xTuple President and CEO Ned Lilly (no image)
Ned Lilly
9 Ratings
  1. "Great learning environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Internship in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at xTuple for less than a year

    Pros

    People are nice and helpful. Learning a lot about the software industry. Hope to continue working remotely when I go back to school in fall.

    Cons

    Can't think of any thing.

    xTuple2018-06-15
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Bad communication. Lack of direction. Lack of SMEs. Lack of leadership."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norfolk, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at xTuple full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to go see the Marvel movies.

    Cons

    Communication is poor. There is a lack of direction and no one to answer questions when seeking clarification. There is no attempt for employee betterment. Raised issues are ignored until they blow up and then it crashes on the person who had been raising the issues. You won't be informed that there are problems with enough time to do anything to correct them before you are let go. Avoid!

    xTuple2019-10-27
  3. "Working Remote"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at xTuple full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The team at xTuple is strong and talented. They work well together to deliver technology to small to mid sized manufactures and distributors. I worked remotely with customers and the team in Norfolk, which went well.

    Cons

    Working remotely and with open source products had their challenges.

    xTuple2018-06-07

    xTuple Response

    June 11, 2018VP Marketing

    Thanks for your review. Your feedback helps us as we re-evaluate company-wide remote work options. It's really tough to stay connected if you don't have the opportunity for more than the occasional face-to-face "water cooler" time.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Quality Company. Passionate About their Technology."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at xTuple full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Got to work with a wide variety of technology and learn about different industries and their implementations of the software. During my time at xTuple I had two children and an international move with my family. I cannot say enough about how crucial it was to work for an employer that was so solid in their support of their employees. The culture here is phenomenal.

    Cons

    Pay may be a bit less than larger software companies.

    Continue reading
    xTuple2018-03-12
  5. "Great Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at xTuple full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fantastic frequent teambuilding activities. Competent developers really know their field. Laid back atmosphere.

    Cons

    Communication is weak and inconsistent. Goals for new products change too quickly and without adequate communication. Close the **** back door.

    Continue reading
    xTuple2017-08-16
  6. "Making a meaningful impact rather than clocking hours"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at xTuple full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Life-long learning encouraged, room to grow professionally for those willing and able to step-up, strong self-management rewarded. Great environment for solely virtual or combination of office/remote. It's not work; it's a career. Customers and resellers are a big resource for new staff, because they see the value of the product(s) and the company's mission.

    Cons

    If you're not a self-starter and have to be told what to do, then this isn't the place for you. Jump in feet-first!

    Continue reading
    xTuple2017-06-07
  7. Helpful (1)

    "No future without intervention"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at xTuple full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Little, if any, guidance so you're free to work on whatever you want. Good sales and marketing staff. Decent salary.

    Cons

    See above. Horrible technology - think 1990's database application. Meandering product roadmap. CEO knows nothing about the technology or the customer and is without any form or concept of ethical behavior. Remaining technical staff are clueless with respect to functionality or modern application design - two massive failed attempts to port the application to web-friendly technologies. "Application Development" has become bug squashing.

    Continue reading
    xTuple2017-07-05

    xTuple Response

    June 11, 2018VP Marketing

    At xTuple, we value feedback - it's a core part of our open source roots; it's how change and innovation happen here; it's why we value a culture of self-management and professional growth. Thank you for the time you took to write a review; we're sorry that your experience did not match your expectations. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.

  8. Helpful (5)

    "Terrible Company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Norfolk, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at xTuple full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Office Space and Location Interesting and Sharp Technical Staff Good Work/Life Balance Innovative Ideas and Unique Open Source Product mean good opportunities to expand.

    Cons

    -Disinterested and Unengaged management -Withholding of money owed to employees for extended periods of time, causing trouble with their personal finances and personal lives -Political and Cliquish environment among upper levels of management, leading to distrust across departmental lines and companywide infighting -Upper Management lying to employee's asking for pay owed to them (e.g Contracted Bonus' and Commission Pay).

    xTuple2016-07-26

    xTuple Response

    June 11, 2018VP Marketing

    Thanks; your feedback is important to us as we strive to embrace our open source roots by building a culture of openness, transparency, flexibility and, as you mentioned, good work/life balance. This level of collaboration, and the responsibility it requires, isn't for everyone. We are purposely slow to hire and involve many of our team in the interview process for this very reason, to ensure your expectations - and ours - are met. Thanks again and best wishes for the future.

  9. Helpful (9)

    "Textbook Dysfunction"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Norfolk, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at xTuple full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is decent, benefits are okay, hours are flexible. The Norfolk office is nice, with the opportunity to work remotely.

    Cons

    They have the revenue of a small startup, but the political infighting and bureaucratic befuddlement of a third world nation state. Nearly half of the company is managers.

    Continue reading
    xTuple2014-12-11

    xTuple Response

    June 11, 2018VP Marketing

    Thanks for taking the time to write this review, and we're sorry we didn't meet your career expectations. Through our quarterly all-hands meetings, company tech events, one-on-one meetings and all-access, open-door policy, we're working hard to facilitate communication. We have a fairly flat organization structure because we value all voices in decision-making. We hope you find the right position to match your passions. Best wishes.

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 9 reviews