1010data Reviews | Glassdoor

1010data Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 67 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Sandy Steier
44 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The career growth at 1010 can be slow(in 9 reviews)

  • "A little too corporate for a "progressive tech company" and management needs work(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture & growing teams"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 1010data full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Inquisitive, fun, and genuinely helpful colleagues encourage you to be your best and accomplish your goals. Regular social events, active committees, & fully stocked kitchens help you meet your co-workers. Overall, a good work balance by NYC standards. 1010data is also rolling out a new platform--development, customer support, sales, and marketing teams are all working hard, making this an exciting time to join...

    Show More

    Cons

    No major cons to note just yet.

    1010data2019-01-16
  2. Helpful (1)

    "I’m a full time employee for a year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 1010data full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Friendly employees. Lots of social events

    Cons

    HR team isolates employees and at times they can be very unapproachable

    1010data2019-03-21
  3. Helpful (1)

    "So near yet so distant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 1010data full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    * Relatively good work-life balance. The hours are flexible and there are working remote policies. * Supportive managers, they are really nice in personalities. * Easy to get ownership and make impacts, thanks to the above. * For people looking for a support role there are plenty. You can shine here and be a good support. * For people who want to settle down, have babies or mortgages, this is a perfect place.

    Cons

    * 1010 is running mostly on homemade wheels in an ancient vector programming language called K, which no longer has a community. Proceed at your own risk no matter what you do. * The tools are just so immaturely designed and aborted halfway. The interesting thing is the ones who wrote them are often still in the company. They were mostly developed in a secluded environment where people don't care what is going on in...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    IF YOU ARE A MANAGER, YOU ARE THERE TO MANAGE IF SUPPORT CHORES ARE SO FUN, DO NOT BE A MANAGER IF THERE IS NO RESOURCE FOR THE CHORES, GO HIRE SOME AND IF SUPPORT IS IN YOUR BLOOD ADMIT IT IN THE INTERVIEWS?

    1010data2019-03-10
  4. Helpful (3)

    "1010data is growing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 1010data full-time

    Pros

    I wanted to touch on some points in recent reviews from some disgruntled former employees from the perspective of a current employee. 1010data is undergoing significant changes as it aligns the organization with a new corporate strategy. In our technology department It’s true that we use K for development but we also use C, C++, Java, Python, JavaScript, VBA and our own query language to analyze big data. We use open...

    Show More

    Cons

    Though not everything has gone flawlessly at 1010 however we aim to learn from our mistakes and continuously improve the experience for our employees and customers.

    1010data2019-01-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 1010data full-time

    Pros

    Great company with extremely smart people. Not your typical tech company filled with 27-year-olds, there is a wide variety of experience from right out of school to seasoned professionals so there is great opportunity to learn. I have really enjoyed my time here, I find the people personable and engaged with other staff and everyone is really just trying to make and sell a great product.

    Cons

    I do not see it as so much a con but it is a changing company so it not for everyone and you do have to be able to be adaptable in a sometimes ambiguous environment. There has been some change in upper and senior leadership which does mean change across the company but again while some see may see it as a con I see it as a positive change.

    Advice to Management

    Looking forward to seeing what is next, make sure to keep the communication channels open and keep us all updated.

    1010data2019-01-14
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Retail Sales Division"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vendor Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 1010data full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Overall nice culture. Retail division selling like they're in the used car industry.

    Cons

    Retail Division is hit or miss with Retailers they win to manage. They're looking to bring any retailer on board which may or may not be profitable

    1010data2018-12-19
  7. "Senior Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 1010data full-time

    Pros

    1010 has some amazingly smart people. It's a great place to get exposure to several different types of technical implementations, industries and client engagements. You can essentially get 10 years worth of experience in 2 years at 1010data. There are countless opportunities for employees to step up and take responsibility.

    Cons

    The career growth at 1010 can be slow. The People department needs to figure out how to motivate the employees that show talent and hard work with the correct type of compensation and career progression.

    Advice to Management

    Please focus on product direction. I would like to see more pointed strategies when it comes to making product decisions that are scalable and increased investment where there is demand.

    1010data2018-11-08
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Small company, acts bigger than it is."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 1010data

    Pros

    Good work life balance for software engineers

    Cons

    Bloated and slow management, too many separate products with confusing names, "Agile" teams are just "Waterfall in small pieces"

    Advice to Management

    Lose the politics over K vs more modern tooling.

    1010data2018-11-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 1010data full-time

    Pros

    Opportunity to grow Work with very smart people

    Cons

    Too many meetings to discuss even non-essential issues

    1010data2018-10-21
  10. Helpful (12)

    "Venus flytrap"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 1010data full-time

    Pros

    Free coffee, la Croix, and low end granola bars

    Cons

    Nepotism seeped into every management layer. C suite execs were frat bros? Check. Middle management all went to the same school and graduated same year? Check. A tech company with no tech leadership. Management mostly does not hail from a tech background and probably learned how to code through YouTube. The most egregious one of all: 1010data is a small tech company with a proprietary tech stack. That means its...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give yourself a nice severance and kindly resign. 1010 is worth saving but you're not the ones to do it.

    1010data2018-11-21
Found 67 reviews