7 Layers Reviews | Glassdoor

7 Layers Reviews

Updated Jun 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
32%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
Wilfried Klassmann
10 Ratings
  1. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at 7 Layers

    Pros

    great place to work for technology

    Cons

    conflicts between project managers/engineers, but that's expected in any company

    Continue reading
    7 Layers2016-02-01
  2. "Ehh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tso 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 7 Layers full-time

    Pros

    Good stepping stone for your real career

    Cons

    Terrible management and pay

    Continue reading
    7 Layers2019-06-05
  3. "Great for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at 7 Layers part-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and great co workers

    Cons

    Some training falls short but ok for little prior experience

    Continue reading
    7 Layers2019-04-05
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at 7 Layers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible time off, not much work to do, great start job to prop up resume

    Cons

    Terrible management, passive aggressive work environment and no one is professional and everyone will just blame each other for things going wrong. You will hate working here after a couple months.

    Continue reading
    7 Layers2019-03-19
  5. "Difficult"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Test Engineer in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 7 Layers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free coffee Opportunity to learn anything and everything about cellular technology. Small company vibe, you will be able to work on everything the company has to offer.

    Cons

    No guidance, no structure, no training. You are left to fend for yourself and figure it out. No clear path for growth.

    Continue reading
    7 Layers2019-01-25
  6. "work part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Test Systems Operator in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 7 Layers part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    experience at an engineering company. good for when you are still in school.

    Cons

    bad management. bad work life balance.

    Continue reading
    7 Layers2017-11-15
  7. Helpful (1)

    "No opportunities to move up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at 7 Layers part-time

    Pros

    OK for a college student

    Cons

    No opportunity to move up. Management is terrible. Hours are terrible. Managers will not work under your schedule. They will assign you any shift and make you take it. Schedules are never released on time. Constant miscommunication between engineers and HR

    Continue reading
    7 Layers2017-11-16
  8. Helpful (1)

    "A Confused Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 7 Layers part-time

    Pros

    -Anyone who is not in the upper management team are great coworkers -Good starting job for Techies -Good on Resume for future jobs -Really skilled and friendly Engineers

    Cons

    -Way too much unnecessary Micro Managing going on from the higher ups. -Every year they hire a batch of people right before projects and somehow after the projects are done people always start getting fired. Of course they would wait until the dirty work is done before they fire them. If it was truly a really bad reason, why wait? And then they start stressing again when new projects come and are understaffed. Hire more people, expect them to learn super fast, complain that the work is not flawless(duh), and repeat again. -Lots of unnecessary nagging about things that does not even affect the actual testing, the only time you see a manager is when you are about to get lectured about something totally random. -Wants to be seen as a big Tech company but runs it like a small business. They have you changing light bulbs and sweeping the floor. Really....? Ever heard of Job Positions? You can't hire Operators and demand Engineering duties. Something they also do. -Wants a ton of staff when there are stressful projects but hates having to pay them when they don't have much to do after. (Hint, that's how it works in the Tech industry 7Layers, you can't have it both ways. Especially with a slogan "24 hour testing". You either have staff who may periodically be relaxing because of slow months or you deal with the projects on your own with the little staff you have. This is probably the company's biggest confusion within itself.) -Again, loves to hire Part Time testers, but they can't figure out why people keep leaving. (Answers: We can't survive on a part time pay, We are students, or you treat us as expendables). You have to deal with it if that is the route you chose to take. You also can't expect part timers to be as loyally committed as the full timers. Why do you think other similar company's in the area only hire full time? Because they want to avoid this exact situation. -You have people who don't work in the testing rooms dictating those rooms, moving stuff around to unknown locations, and nagging about progress when they don't know exactly what we have to deal with. -I don't know how they did it but the whole upper management team consists of expressionless, emotionless, monotoned, stingy, unempathetic, and uptight folks from Overseas (No not Asia, Europe). Did they purposely hire every single one of them because they all literally have the same personality? -That Nando dude at the top is the company's kryptonite but he has his little circle of upper managers who worships him and together diving in money, they are all oblivious to the rest of the company and don't care because they are doing well.

    Continue reading
    7 Layers2017-10-22
  9. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 7 Layers

    Pros

    Times are very flexible as a Test Technician.

    Cons

    Upper management could be better.

    Continue reading
    7 Layers2017-05-15
  10. "Your worst nightmare comes true."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at 7 Layers part-time

    Pros

    Very easy to impress interviewers for a job with very lazy lazy pay. Being upstairs is way better than being downstairs for TSO staff. Everyone waiting for 5pm and the next opportunity outside of this company. job is a stepping stone as everyone waits for the end of the day while browsing their mobile.

    Cons

    Constant turnover in TSO depart. I've learned more (career-wise) in my high school than at this company. The HR lady upstairs in the far far corner office room does not know my name correctly even after two years. the engineering managers upstairs complain but do not do anything about their issues. Don't waste your time with this company unless you need a slightly better pay than a job in retail. Just a dollar (or a half) maximum better than retail but without all the people/kids/customer stress. Some of the senior full-time employees do not care about the part-time TSO staff. I think I am wasting my time here.

    Continue reading
    7 Layers2017-06-14
Found 31 reviews