AAR Reviews | Glassdoor

AAR Reviews

Updated August 14, 2017
190 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
AAR Chairman and CEO David P. Storch
David P. Storch
76 Ratings

190 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Good people and good middle management, it's a mid-sized company that acts like a small company, Senior management is insulated from the actual work (in 10 reviews)

  • Great place to work if you like a quick pace company with many challenges (in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • ve heard remarks from upper management that are borderline harassment and unappropriated for a workplace (in 18 reviews)

  • Management has no respect for their employees (in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Try it and see if you like it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Re Avionics
    Current Employee - Re Avionics
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AAR full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Pros you learn many skills that you can take anywhere.

    Cons

    You have to lead these skills sink of swim.

    Advice to Management

    To many chiefs trying to take charge and make changes.

    AAR Response

    Aug 17, 2017 – Director of TA Strategy

    Got it! THX, & blue skies everybody!!


  2. "Aviation athlete"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AAR full-time

    Pros

    Disneyland for serious aviation professionals.

    Cons

    All good, as aviation requires a stout heart & great optimism.

    Advice to Management

    Keep growing, & take share from competition.

    AAR Response

    Aug 17, 2017 – Director of TA Strategy

    I wrote this one, as always working to be fast, flat, & communicative. Email is gdellinger@aarcorp.com & phone is 630-227-2074. Also, please LI with me, & Twitter is @4geeman . Straight ahead... More

  3. "AAR LGS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Miami, FL
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at AAR full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great place to work if you like a quick pace company with many challenges. They pay for your education and they have excellent benefits

    Cons

    Sometimes you will have to work the whole weekend but it doesn't happen often

    AAR Response

    Aug 17, 2017 – Director of TA Strategy

    THX. Education is transformative! Let's keep Fix 'em & Fly 'em!!


  4. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AAR full-time

    Pros

    Military style and driven by military attitude but definitely favoritism and officer club drives everything.

    Cons

    Disorganized, secretive, did not seem to care much for employees. High turnover all the time. Lot of churn. I did not enjoy my time there.

    Advice to Management

    Follow through and listen to your people.

    AAR Response

    Aug 17, 2017 – Director of TA Strategy

    THX for the input. Looking ahead, all of the best! G-Man


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Past employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cadillac, MI
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cadillac, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AAR full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Good place to work. It took a while to move up the ranks, but was meaningful.

    Cons

    Some management personnel was not in it for the company, only for themselves. They would do anything to "self promote".

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course, clean out the deadwood periodically, and persevere.

    AAR Response

    Aug 17, 2017 – Director of TA Strategy

    THX. Very much appreciate.

    V/R,

    G-Man


  6. "production controller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AAR full-time

    Pros

    nice to get experience and a good resume to get out of there

    Cons

    not a good pay , not a good HR and management

    AAR Response

    Aug 17, 2017 – Director of TA Strategy

    THX for the input.

    G-Man


  7. "Logistics Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AAR full-time

    Pros

    Easy flexibility with my schedule

    Cons

    no opportunity for advancement at location

    AAR Response

    Aug 17, 2017 – Director of TA Strategy

    Appreciate the post.

    Straight ahead everybody,

    G-Man

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Large company with large company issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Field Service Engineer in Huntsville, AL
    Former Employee - Senior Field Service Engineer in Huntsville, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AAR full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Decent selection of benefits, industry average pay.

    Cons

    Micro-managing senior staff. Far too much compliance training.

    Advice to Management

    Let the employees do their damn job and stay out of our hair.

    AAR Response

    Aug 17, 2017 – Director of TA Strategy

    We'll keep working hard to be #DoingItRight.

    S/

    g


  9. Helpful (6)

    "I want to love this job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician in Duluth, MN
    Current Employee - Technician in Duluth, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AAR full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great coworkers, always willing to help out, which is good because there is no on the job training and no direction from leaders -there is a real 'figure it out or be shown the door' mentality from management which is dangerous when putting the lives of airline passengers on the line. Airplanes are complicated and nobody is an expert at all tasks.

    Cons

    One particular manager is single handedly going to shut down the MRO. All of the good technicians and team leads have fled the company within the last 3 weeks due to his mismanagement. Our planes go out weeks late and when they go out they come back the same day with problems, which are usually unethically and illegally jury-rigged.
    Pay is very poor for the field.
    Managers and supervisors seem to be unhinged, emotionally unstable, unpredictable maniacs and are either your best friend or at risk of physically assaulting you at any given time. Verbal abuse is the norm. Forced mandatory overtime and 12 to 14 hour days have burnt out the few people who actually cared about their work. In addition to the Duluth facility losing 20-30 of their best employees of maybe 300 some employees, a handful of career ending injuries and heart attacks have cost even more.
    I wouldn't be caught dead on an Air Canada or United plane... well... I suppose there is a really good chance I'd be dead if I ever flew on one these disasters.

    AAR Response

    Aug 17, 2017 – Director of TA Strategy

    Give me a buzz at 630-227-2074.

    Blue skies all,

    G-Man


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good place for building experience on a resume....other than that, get out ASAP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - A&P Technician in Indianapolis, IN
    Current Employee - A&P Technician in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AAR full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Time off
    Insurance is okay.
    The requirement is 20 words, and I really have no other pros to say so I'm filling up space.

    Cons

    Pay
    Schedule
    Lack of leadership
    Morale
    Micromanagment
    Lack of experienced mechanics to learn from
    Time constraints and budget force leadership to rely on the few experienced individuals to carry the load while the inexperienced fall further behind and learn nothing.

    Advice to Management

    There's really nothing to say, because as they have proven time and time again, they listen to no one. Nothing changes. It has steadily gone downhill for the past 4 years and has made no strides in progress from an employee stand point. In about 10 years ALL their best employees will be gone to better and higher paying companies that are willing to compete and only then will AAR (maybe) change their business structure to retain their valued employees. By then it will be too late.

    AAR Response

    Aug 18, 2017 – Director of TA Strategy

    Thank-you for review, as been with the Company 7 years now, so call (630) 227-2074 to discuss if you want.

    Let's keep 'em Flying everybody,

    G-Man


Showing 190 of 208 reviews
Reset Filters