AAR Reviews | Glassdoor

AAR Reviews

Updated May 21, 2018
239 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
AAR Chairman and CEO David P. Storch
David P. Storch
114 Ratings

239 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • its like family, I am a temp but all the people I work with treat me as I am family it's a great place to work, I hope to get hired full time (in 15 reviews)

  • AAR has a great work environment with cooperative team environment (in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • ve heard remarks from upper management that are borderline harassment and unappropriated for a workplace (in 17 reviews)

  • low pay compared to major airlines (in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Palm Bay, FL
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Palm Bay, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AAR part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    its like family, I am a temp but all the people I work with treat me as I am family it's a great place to work, I hope to get hired full time

    Cons

    I have seen nothing ton contrary to what my Pro's have been

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work and don't loose the culture

    AAR Response

    May 8, 2018 – Director of TA Strategy

    Thank-you, & let's keep 'em Flying! G-Man


  2. "Operations Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AAR full-time

    Pros

    AAR has a great work environment with cooperative team environment. Good benefits package to include but not limited to 401k, tuition reimbursement and full medical, dental and vision package. Structured hours. Training and mentor opportunities.

    Cons

    There is not enough room for growth. Jobs are contract oriented, so stability is determined by the availability of contracts.

    AAR Response

    May 22, 2018 – Director of TA Strategy

    THX, & let's keep working to delight Customers! Blue skies, G-Man

  3. "Overwork Understaffed IT Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AAR full-time

    Pros

    Wood Dale is a beautiful facility. The spent alot of money renovating the building.

    Cons

    IT Department has been understaffed for years. They won't hire needed personnel and would rather overwork their current employees.

    Advice to Management

    Spend some money on what you need.

    AAR Response

    May 22, 2018 – Director of TA Strategy

    5/22/18 UPDATE, as had the opportunity to visit with Kevin (CIO). Having such a spirited, entrepreneurial culture, it's pretty cool that we get to work so many dynamic items. Of course that rolls... More


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Proud to call AAR, my employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Wood Dale, IL
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Wood Dale, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AAR full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Extremely intelligent coworkers, opportunity to advance, ability to interact with senior leadership, world class facility in Wood Dale.

    Cons

    I haven't experienced anything close to a "Con"

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    AAR Response

    May 1, 2018 – Director of TA Strategy

    Thank-you for the review, & let's keep 'em Flying! Blue skies, G-Man


  5. Helpful (1)

    "bad company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Inspector in Miami, FL
    Current Employee - Quality Inspector in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AAR full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    the only good thing is that they pay for your school.

    Cons

    very very very poor management.
    pay low!!!
    you are just a number.
    you have to be family or friend to be able to grow up.
    they expect you to work 24/7

    AAR Response

    May 11, 2018 – Director of TA Strategy

    Continuing your education/tuition reimbursement is definitely robust across all the MRO stations, including your MIA hangars. Thank-you for signaling that for sure. Making a tight turn into overall... More


  6. "A good start point"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - A&P Mechanic in Miami, FL
    Former Employee - A&P Mechanic in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AAR full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    -Good crew members

    -Schedule flexibility (depending on team leader)

    -Great place to learn. The fellow mechanics have no problem working with you and teaching.

    -Great HR dept.

    -Advancement is available (as far as pay raises / position climbing, up to a point), and rather easy to accomplish.

    Cons

    -Failing Equipment

    -Shop, as a whole is worn and needs serious upkeep to the doors, equipment, etc (but, to their credit, they are slowly making changes)

    -Management, if they don't know you, they aren't interested in your feedback. While this varies from one project manager / team leader to another; this "i don't know you, so you know nothing" outlook is generally the same for 75% of the managers and leads.

    -Bad Coordination and Communication between managers and teams.

    -Competitive environment, not co-operative (between teams)... Crew 1 members will help other Crew 1 with aircraft one, but Crew 2 can fend for themselves in the eyes of Crew 1, even if and when Crew 1 is idle and available to help. It's largely a "not my job" mentality. It SHOULD be "many hands make light work". Not so much a problem with the shop itself as much as the typical employee.

    -Not enough equipment (Mainly because the failing equipment finally broke due to co-worker incompetence, or it being misplaced)

    -If there is no work, you will be sent home (If Airplane 1 is done, and there's no new airplane for crew 1 to work on, crew 1 is sent home. If Airplane 2 is being worked on by Crew 2, crew 1 can't work on it, because that's the 2nd Crews aircraft.

    -If i finish my job faster, there's no reward for it. It's actually a risk to me and my crew. If Aircraft 1 finishes a week early, then all the crew members who worked on it are sent home to wait for new work.

    -Nepotism is rampant. It's 100% who you know, not what you know. Team Leader and Project Manager favorites get away with xyz, at the expense of others.

    -Low Pay. This may be more so an issue with Tri-County as a whole. Overpopulated areas tend to pay less due to having increased supply of workers to pick from. Why pay person A $25/hr when i can pay person B $20/hr

    Advice to Management

    -Maintain Equipment. Staff may or may not tag it, but i've seen managers remove the tag and say "just get it done".
    -Have proper accountability as far as the shop goes. Don't yell at person A for using a damaged forklift, yell at person B for breaking the forklift in the first place
    - Incentives are needed, badly. If crew 1 finishes their aircraft a week early, they are sent home for a week without pay. This promotes "stretch out my job, so i have a job" mentality.

    AAR Response

    May 1, 2018 – Director of TA Strategy

    Thank-you for your review & input. Blue skies, G-Man


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Managment is the major downfall of this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - A&P Lead in Rockford, IL
    Current Employee - A&P Lead in Rockford, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AAR full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great place to get experience.

    Cons

    Be prepared to take on everyone elses job, responsibility, and take the blame for everything.

    Advice to Management

    Get everyone on the same paige before giving direct orders. Ask your lead before firing his/her mechanics.

    AAR Response

    May 12, 2018 – Director of TA Strategy

    Good copy friend.

    Blue skies,

    G-Man

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wood Dale, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wood Dale, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AAR full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    AAR's staff members are very supportive and resourceful. When it comes to #DoingItRight, AAR truly exemplifies great leadership and values their core competencies. AAR is an entrepreneurial company that always wants to be the best in the Aviation industry. AAR has a good balance between work and social life as well.

    Cons

    Hiring process may take longer than expected, however, management is aware of the process and exciting changes are in action!

    AAR Response

    Mar 23, 2018 – Director of TA Strategy

    Thank-you for your post, & appreciate the input around hiring. With aviation, & the criticality of what we do, sometimes the runway can be a little longer, yet, as we all know, innovation is in the... More


  9. "Director of Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AAR full-time

    Pros

    Growing company, ambitious plans in the MRO sector

    Cons

    Politics, unprofessional or poor skill lvl employees left in place due to politics. Pay can be low for junior.

    Advice to Management

    Properly access employees - give them training needed or let them go. Don't play politics, deal by facts.

    AAR Response

    Apr 4, 2018 – Director of TA Strategy

    Got it, & thank-you. Spot-on regarding MRO growth, as Company has really hit the after-burner, pushing past 5.5m hours. Comp is always dynamic (especially at the beginning), yet plenty of... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Recruiter in Wood Dale, IL
    Current Employee - Corporate Recruiter in Wood Dale, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AAR full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    • Work life balance is awesome! Goes without saying, AAR values all their "Aviation Athletes"
    • Management and co-workers are very transparent and supportive
    • As an Aviation Support Company, we are able to work with the most innovative tails in the world!! i.e. Airbus, Boeing, Bombardier, Embraer, & many many more!
    • Fellow Millennial Talent Base has been coming in waves!!
    • AARs Stock has continued to grow and grow!!

    Cons

    • The onboarding process can take a few weeks. (However, the company is aware and is attempting to streamline for the future. Exciting Stuff!)

    Advice to Management

    • Keep up AARs stance forward!!

    Side note, a lot of my fellow millennial teammates are quite excited to work under the CEO "Elect" John Holmes. #WorkAsOne

    AAR Response

    Mar 13, 2018 – Director of TA Strategy

    Thank-you for your review. Blue skies!


Showing 239 of 265 reviews
Reset Filters