AAR Reviews | Glassdoor

AAR Reviews

Updated Nov 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
61%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
AAR CEO John Holmes
John Holmes
24 Ratings
Pros
  • "AAR Corp is a great place to work if you are entrepreneurial and ambitious(in 16 reviews)

  • "AAR has a great work environment with cooperative team environment(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "HR and upper management needs to be worked on(in 18 reviews)

  • "Low pay, minimal raises, and no growth opportunity(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Air Ops Officer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AAR full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fair wages; good benefits; great people.

    Cons

    Cumbersome on boarding process that took much longer than necessary.

    AAR2019-10-22
  2. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Control in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AAR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people. Exciting field to work in

    Cons

    No room for advancement unless your a licensed mechanic

    Advice to Management

    Not without a mechanics license

    AAR2019-11-05
  3. "Vice President"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wood Dale, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AAR full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Opportunity for advancement; not too much bureaucracy; global aviation is exciting industry

    Cons

    Managers need more training; would like stronger connection between leadership and below

    AAR2019-10-25
  4. "Business analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Business Analyst 

    I have been working at AAR full-time

    Pros

    good environment and place to work

    Cons

    tricky management and lack of communication

    AAR2019-11-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Low Payscale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Planner 

    I have been working at AAR full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great bosses and great team. Great tuition assistance.

    Cons

    Low pay, minimal raises, and no growth opportunity

    AAR2019-10-30
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good to get Experience, Bad for Longevity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manufacturing Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AAR full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Has some interesting work. Composites/Aerospace industry is a very unique and exciting area to be working. There is a lot of knowledge that you can learn from working in this industry, although the industry is isolated to certain areas, and need to have people there that want to share their knowledge.

    Cons

    There are not to many people that seems to want to share their knowledge. Poor management that does not care about the employees. The manufacturing is always hectic, mandatory overtime most of the time, and if you can't work, they express their disappointment. No room for growth, even though they say there is. They are barely getting by, working from the stone age of manufacturing, doing nothing to become a... modern manufacturing site. I wouldn't work at the Sacramento site, as the company will be moving everything to Florida is the near future. There are a lot of unethical things happening at AAR, the quality system has been completely overhauled by Operations management, they are more worried about getting parts out the door than making quality parts, and you will get written up if you try to do to right thing. The pay is not worth it, and it shows in the quality of product. I had to fight to get a big pay increase.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Grow, update to modern manufacturing, hire qualified techs, pay techs proper pay. Make quality parts, do right by your customers for once.

    AAR2019-10-30
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Wage Theft"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanic in Duluth, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AAR full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This company does not require any prior experience.

    Cons

    I left this company last July, the company has yet to pay out my final wages. I have attempted multiple times to contact [Name Removed] in the Duluth [Removed] department as well as [Name Removed] in the corporate office, and my messages go unanswered. This company owes me thousands of dollars, they won't answer phone calls or respond to e-mails.

    Advice to Management

    Stop subsidizing your business through your workers. HR should work to address complaints to avoid situations like the assault of an employee with a chair that occurred on the floor of the hangar after a former employee's complaints to HR went ignored.

    AAR2019-10-13
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Just a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Inventory Analyst in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AAR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Standard Benefits, open work environment

    Cons

    Low pay, no advancement, no raises, no bonuses. Immensely understaffed, and refuses to add additional resources so mgt can retain their monthly incentives and yearly bonuses.

    Advice to Management

    Compensate the people accomplishing the work, and stop lavishing all the bonuses and raises onto management!

    AAR2019-10-10
  9. "Mechanic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanic in Indianapolis, IN

    I have been working at AAR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It’s a good start to a career.

    Cons

    Management is not the greatest.

    AAR2019-09-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "The best job ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tankroom and Layup in Goldsboro, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AAR full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    As long as you do your job and come to work theres no problem . Great superviser all ways there if needed .

    Cons

    Some employs stand around and watch everybody else work . Stay on there cell phones all the time .

    Advice to Management

    Fire ones caught on cell phones with out promission from superviser.

    AAR2019-08-09
Found 286 reviews
</>Embed