AAR Reviews

Updated Jan 6, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
65%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
AAR CEO and President John Holmes
John Holmes
43 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great place for learning Airbus A320 series aircraft(in 19 reviews)

  • "Relaxed work environment, supportive supervisors(in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • "HR and upper management needs to be worked on(in 19 reviews)

  • "Low pay, minimal raises, and no growth opportunity(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. "Yah"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at AAR full-time

    Pros

    Relaxong a lot of the time

    Cons

    Stressfol a lot of the time

    Continue reading
  2. "Not good"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Technician in Indianapolis, IN

    I worked at AAR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers were nice and always helpful

    Cons

    The whole company, there is nothing good about working for this. Company

    AAR Response

    January 8, 2021Director, Talent Management

    Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that your experience working for AAR was not what you had hoped. We have great people that are doing everything they can to have a positive impact on the company. We will share this feedback with the Indianapolis location.


  3. "Decent but slow"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance 

    I worked at AAR full-time

    Pros

    Relaxed work environment, supportive supervisors

    Cons

    Not challenging, slow to change

    AAR Response

    January 8, 2021Director, Talent Management

    Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that the work environment and our managers make AAR a great place to work. Our goal is to continue to implement the necessary changes for our business to move forward and our people to grow.

  4. "Growing Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AAR full-time

    Pros

    There are some strong leaders in the right positions to help the company continue to grow

    Cons

    The hierarchy becomes a little flat and makes it difficult to advance beyond a point

    AAR Response

    December 11, 2020Director, Talent Management

    Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you think we have the right leaders in place at AAR! Our goal is continue to help the business move forward. In addition, we are committed to creating career growth and development opportunities for our people. At the end of the day, our company is based on the success of our people!

  5. COVID-19

    "AAR LGS"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Landing Gear Technician in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AAR full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, lots of overtime ( before pandemic ).

    Cons

    Micro management. Only the people that are cool with the top bosses move on .

    AAR Response

    January 8, 2021Director, Talent Management

    Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the benefits we offered. The goal of our managers is to provide feedback, communication, development and recognition for our employees to feel good about where they work. We will share your feedback with the Miami location.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Only entry level apply here"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Connection Center Associate in Oklahoma City, OK

    I worked at AAR full-time

    Pros

    the money, location and overtime

    Cons

    leadership, the work, and the morale

    AAR Response

    January 8, 2021Director, Talent Management

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate you letting us know that your compensation and other working items were good for you. We are sorry to hear that the local leadership, work and morale were not up to the best of your expectations. We will continue to do what we can to work with our managers and employees to provide the most positive working environment we can. We will share your feedback with the OKC location.

  7. "Structured and demanding"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AAR full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lot of opportunity to learn from senior mechanics. Frequent opportunities to move up in the company. Decent benefits. Variety of customers which also means a variety of A/C fleets to gain experience in working on.

    Cons

    Management demands are occasionally unreasonable. Frequent mandatory OT. Dwindling base of experienced technicians.

    Continue reading

    AAR Response

    January 8, 2021Director, Talent Management

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate the fact that you feel our company has great people to learn from. We will continue to work with our managers to ensure that our employees have the best experience possible.

  8. "Avoid"

    1.0
    Former Employee - Senior Tax Analyst in Wood Dale, IL

    I worked at AAR full-time

    Pros

    Starting pay was good to start

    Cons

    Management wasn’t receptive. Neither was HR

    AAR Response

    January 8, 2021Director, Talent Management

    Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that your experience working for AAR was not what you had hoped. We have great people that are doing everything they can to have a positive impact on the company. We will share this feedback with the Wood Dale location.

  9. "Good"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Aircraft Mechanic in Indianapolis, IN

    I worked at AAR full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Not a terrible place to work

    Cons

    Low pay and bad benefits

    AAR Response

    November 12, 2020Director, Talent Management

    Thank you for your review. We know that the aviation industry is very competitive when it comes to compensation and benefits. We will continue to do our best to make sure we are in line with what the market tells us. Our goal is to continue to provide employees a great place to work with all the best pay, benefits, resources, and perks to go with!

  10. "Typical"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Warehouse Worker 

    I have been working at AAR part-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and safe environment

    Cons

    Lots of work to get done

    AAR Response

    November 12, 2020Director, Talent Management

    Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you think it is a safe environment to work in especially with everything going on with the COVID crisis. We will continue to make sure our employees have the best resources in place to provide the safest and healthiest workplace. We know we have a lot of work to do, but that is also a good thing to show that our business is still moving forward!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 329 English Reviews
</>Embed