AARP Reviews

Updated Apr 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
58%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
AARP CEO Jo Ann Jenkins
Jo Ann Jenkins
153 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Field staff get second-rate everything and are completely marginalized in decision making(in 15 reviews)

  • "Full time employees are highly biased against contractors(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good place for internship overall"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends

    I have been working at AARP part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay for a firm in DC; Amenities such as nice gym and shower, own laptop, stand-up table, transportation stipend. Respectful and very friendly co-workers Access to internal directory so it's quite easy to reach out to people you want to chat with and most of the time they are willing to meet you for lunch. My supervisor is chill and supportive of my work. Also, he always acts as a resource that I can reach out to any time. My team also always gets me involved in the department's meetings or helpful activities. Grateful for this opportunity. Responsive recruiters Mission

    Cons

    People working from home frequently so it's hard to really get to know people in your department, but I'm working part-time so I cannot complain that much.

    AARP2020-04-06
  2. "Business Analyst"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AARP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good benefit, good for long-term career

    Cons

    low response, not many young people

    AARP2020-04-13
  3. Helpful (3)

    "The good and bad..."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Advisor in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AARP full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Beautiful building, great benefits (except VERY high health insurance), training budget to grow skills, pension, matching 401k, GREAT work/life balance, friendly staff who truly care about AARP

    Cons

    organizational structure is flat, zero ability to grow title wise, good Managers are few and far between, they waste money on the craziest things you wouldn't believe, very hierarchical

    Continue reading
    AARP2020-04-07
  4. "Good company to work at!"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at AARP part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Provides a very collaborative environment. 2. Friendly co workers

    Cons

    No senior data science employees.

    AARP2020-02-24
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Beware!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate State Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AARP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -compensation -flexible work location -little oversight -travel

    Cons

    -flawed accountability system -terrible communication flow/feedback system -no training on processes

    Continue reading
    AARP2020-03-10
  6. "Bad and sad"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Msr in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AARP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    PTO and work from home

    Cons

    You get calls from people that are wrongly informed base on aarp ads on tv deceased people never get out of the system and crying members call asking why they do not stop getting there love ones mail after 10 yeas they also say is a none profit but the true is members are meant to be ask for renewal of membership if they renew 2 days after the call how is that a none profit people never get there magazine some times also most of the discounts do not workb

    Continue reading
    AARP2020-02-04
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Everyone is overpaid, which is pretty great."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AARP full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    AARP has great benefits and will definitely overpay you.

    Cons

    There is very little continuity in the organization. If you’ve worked at the organization for 30 years you are able to “eliminate” another’s position because they don’t like you - despite consistently positive performance reviews and good standing with others throughout the organization. Also, if you don’t know how to open a pdf and are not required to use a computer to do your job then you should probably not be responsible for managing anyone.

    Continue reading
    AARP2020-01-22
  8. Helpful (10)

    "A torture chamber of toxicity"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AARP full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent base compensation Excellent 401k match with immediate vesting Adequate health insurance, but VERY high deductible

    Cons

    The culture here is toxic and abusive. Welcome to an employer where it's encouraged for people to yell at and insult one another! There are no opportunities for professional development or opportunities for advancement. Mediocrity is rewarded. Hitting goals doesn’t do you any favors. Just find the right person to suck up to and you’ll be fine...until someone overthrows that person. Never worked in a place that was this racist, sexist, ageist and discriminatory. From comments made about African Americans to comments about Catholics to comments about women, the discrimination goes every which way here. There is extreme hatred and resentment for anyone under 45. HR turns a blind eye or worse, they’ll find a way to punish you if you report. They have more money than they know what to do with and yet they STILL take federal funding. At a volunteer event, a senior executive told volunteers to stop working so hard because "we were packing too many meals for seniors in poverty." Shameful.

    Continue reading
    AARP2020-02-07
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Lack of Communication- Very Administrative"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AARP full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Time Off - Fair Benefits

    Cons

    Very Segregated and Administrative

    AARP2019-12-14
  10. "AARP Foundation - the 501(c)3 AARP non-profit organization"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at AARP full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people Clear Mission Resource-rich environment Measurable Impacts Thoughtful Leadership

    Cons

    Occasionally staff members were under-utilized Still trying to establish itself as separate from AARP the entire organization Frequently unclear career paths

    Continue reading
    AARP2019-12-01
    Previous
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next
Viewing 1 - 10 of 432 Reviews
</>Embed