Absolute Reviews

Updated Apr 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
59%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Absolute Chief Executive Officer Christy Wyatt
Christy Wyatt
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "Some great people work there and the culture was great when I was there(in 20 reviews)

  • "Working time is flexible and promoting work-life balance(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "C-level executives threaten and force employees(in 8 reviews)

  • "A lot of pressure from senior management, especially quarter end(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Absolute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very relaxed work environment, plenty of room to develop in your career, friendly people in the office, good work lie balance. Its hard not to like being here.

    Cons

    Still lacking some industry standard processes and best practices, but it has gotten a lot better since the new CEO was hired. I look forward to seeing where absolute is in 5 years.

    Absolute2020-01-30
  2. "Strong core capabilities with a great team building for the future"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Absolute full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    We have a unique and easy to describe value proposition and we really deliver on it! Great corporate culture and a team that is invested in making Absolute and it's products the best they can be.

    Cons

    Some legacy baggage that the current team is working hard to overcome. Reliability and transparency of the product is definitely improving.

    Continue reading
    Absolute2020-04-20
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Absolute Software"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Absolute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good technology, company been around a long time.

    Cons

    Mgmt. and direction controlled by one persons agenda. company really run for the profit of a few board members.

    Absolute2020-01-22
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Sales Review"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Absolute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people around you. Typical yearly sales meeting held on resorts in Canada.

    Cons

    For a company so small, it lives in its own way in times of delivering executable paperwork to customers for purchase. Also, is heavily reliant on OEM and partner to assist sales process. Poor career growth. Poor culture: work life balance, work from home, you will be treated like a number, and looked at sideways if any leadership knows you wish to or took vacation. Horrible end of quarter processes. Leadership is designed to lead through fear over enablement.

    Absolute2020-01-15
  5. "Small company but great network"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Absolute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule depending on manager

    Cons

    Lack of diversity and culture

    Continue reading
    Absolute2019-12-24
  6. Helpful (10)

    "Don’t work for this company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Absolute full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    If you get a C-level position, all you need to do is nothing and collect paychecks.

    Cons

    1)Most employees underpay 2)Commission is low because they always have the hard time to hit the target 3)Short in budget, cutdown backfill positions 4)C-level executives threaten and force employees 5)No annual raise 6)They don’t promote hard worker 7)Executives dislike changes, so no improvement 8)Employees turnover rate very high 9)Dirty data in 2 systems 10)No matter how much revenue you bring into the company, and no matter how long you work for the company, once executives dislike you and they will throw you out

    Absolute2019-08-21
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Review from my tenure a few years back"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Inside Sales Representative in Austin, TX
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Absolute for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Canadian headquartered so it has a different vibe than a lot of software companies in Austin. Annual sales meetings are usually in Vancouver and can be a lot of fun. Some great people work there and the culture was great when I was there.

    Cons

    Absolute struggled to make the transition from the "Lojack for Latops" days to managing an array of smaller, more mobile devices. They went from being the only game in town for laptop recovery to a much more fragmented space of mobile device management and security. Revenues stagnated, attainment struggled and pressure began to build. It's been years since I've been there but word is they're still struggling to hit goals.

    Continue reading
    Absolute2019-01-24
  8. "Love My Job and Our Customers"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Specialist in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Absolute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    High energy, strong leadership, growing, customers love us

    Cons

    Extremely fast-paced, pressure to grow faster

    Continue reading
    Absolute2019-01-24
  9. "great company"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Absolute part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    this was a decent company

    Cons

    the management could have been better

    Absolute2018-10-12
  10. Helpful (11)

    "Corp Greed at its finest"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Absolute full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great technology and a great office space in downtown Vancouver

    Cons

    CEO and CFO are really only concerned with lining their own pockets. Most of SR Mgmt is subservient to them and walk around on egg shells

    Continue reading
    Absolute2018-03-15
Viewing 1 - 10 of 163 Reviews