Addepar Reviews | Glassdoor

Addepar Reviews

Updated April 13, 2017
56 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

4.5
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Addepar CEO Eric Poirier
Eric Poirier
37 Ratings

56 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Flexibly work life balance options (in 6 reviews)

  • Loads of perks: everything from free food/laundry/etc (in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • Sometimes people have to work extra long hours to get something done, since manpower is limited (hopefully this is changing as more people get hired) (in 5 reviews)

  • Work/Life balance can be hard to achieve because there's a lot to tackle (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Great working environment"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mountain View, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Addepar full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Awesome culture, promote transparency and new ideas. Great future for the product. Coworkers are smart and helpful.
    I learned a lot from my projects, my manager and my coworkers.

    Cons

    Sometimes product management could be messy.
    The 3 different office location makes the collaboration more challenging.
    Super fast pace and changes are always happening.

    Addepar Response

    Dec 8, 2016 – VP, People

    So glad to see such a positive review! Very glad you are happy at Addepar!


  2. "Growth opportunities in the business, team, and role!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Solutions in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Client Solutions in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Addepar full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Addepar is a mission-driven company and the team here is highly motivated to develop amazing technology, solve critical problems in Finance, and grow a business we're proud of.

    Cons

    The addressable market is huge and we have multiple teams and 4 offices attacking the opportunity. With that, you should be comfortable with a fast-paced work environment, some inevitable uncertainty and misalignment, and the occasional strategic pivot. With that, comes the engagement and fun!

    Addepar Response

    Apr 17, 2017 – VP, People

    Glad to see this positive and realistic review of what its like to be at a fast growing start-up like ours. Thanks for your feedback.


  3. "The best company I've worked for"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mountain View, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Addepar full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Addepar was easily the best company I worked for. One of the biggest reasons I stayed at the company for so long was the people and the culture - most everyone is friendly and super passionate about what they are doing. I also had the freedom to execute on what I thought was most important, and full support of the executive team. Eric P is one of the best executives I've ever worked with, and as long as he is there, I am confident about Addepar's future.

    Cons

    Addepar has grown rapidly in the last couple of years, and like an adolescent going through an awkward growth phase, Addepar is figuring out their identity as a company. I've seen some erosion in the culture over the years, and the rise of politics/political players, which could hurt the company long term.

    Advice to Management

    Avoid process for the sake of process, and avoid decisions based in fear and uncertainty.

    Addepar Response

    Apr 7, 2017 – VP, People

    Thank you for the review! Great see that Addepar is the best company you have worked for and your continuing confidence in Eric. We appreciate the feedback on what to watch out for in culture ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Collaborative culture, intelligent people, good vision, and respect for employees makes Addepar a great place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Addepar full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    -Great work/life balance
    -Long term plan is clear and well explained
    -Really bright engineers
    -Interesting challenges
    -Everyone's voice can be heard
    -Pretty good benefits

    Cons

    -Lots of paradigm shifts for how planning gets done can be confusing to track
    -No shuttle or Caltrain Go-pass for SF commuters

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Fewer organizational changes is always a plus; stability is good. Don't over fix what isn't broken.

    Addepar Response

    Apr 7, 2017 – VP, People

    Thanks for the great review and feedback on what we can do better.


  6. "Challenging Workplace"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Addepar full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The company attracts top talent, compensates fairly and has awesome growth opportunities ahead of it. The work is also meaningful. Addepar is one of the few companies that can draw a line from the intersection of tech and finance to very meaningful impact.

    Cons

    Self-management and the ability to deal with hard tradeoffs is a constant requirement at the time of writing. This makes both growing when you have less experience and focusing at any level difficult. And it brings a certain amount of stress to the job. Given the growth pace, there's a fairly hard road ahead and that means it isn't a place for everyone. It can be exhausting.

    Advice to Management

    Be extremely selective and picky about how the team grows. Make sure you have the right group to do what Addepar needs to do. Even though it is hard to slow down and assess fit when you're growing this rapidly, having the right people on the bus is critically important. With that, as we're growing, keep on every individual to steer away from complacency. Mandate that everyone on board is growing together.


  7. "Addepar is a huge part of my life."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Mountain View, CA
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Addepar full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I really love the people that I work with. I've been here for 3.5 years and I still really enjoy the work that I do.

    Cons

    We have some growing pains.

    Advice to Management

    Keep Addepar unique and full of kind, hard working and smart people.

    Addepar Response

    Apr 7, 2017 – VP, People

    Glad you have been at Addepar 3.5 years! Cheers to many more. Thank you for the feedback.


  8. "Employee Review"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mountain View, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Addepar full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Smart, kind & amazing people to work with, interesting product with great growth potential, unbelievable perks (free food, free dry cleaning, gym stipend), great office culture, endless opportunities to add value and grow your career.

    Cons

    This is not a negative for me personally, but can be for some people. The job is what you make of it at Addepar. It is up to each employee to figure out how they can best add value to the firm and build their career. Managers will support you, but you have to figure it out for yourself.

    Addepar Response

    Apr 7, 2017 – VP, People

    Thanks for the review and your thoughts on role and career development. Your manager is there to help you develop the right goals to have maximum impact, as well as help support your career ... More


  9. "Best company I've ever worked for"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Addepar full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    You're opinion is heard and you are able to contribute in a way that highlight your strengths.

    Free breakfast lunch and dinner

    Unlimited PTO

    Flexibly work life balance options

    Clear expectations and outlines of opportunities for career enhancements

    CEO and all leads care about you personally

    Cons

    Is gaining 10 pounds from free food a con?

    Addepar Response

    Apr 7, 2017 – VP, People

    Tell me about the Addepar 10! Glad to hear you are having a positive experience!


  10. "Great On-boarding and Employee support"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mountain View, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Addepar full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Sure they have all the perks of a tech startup but they also have the employee support. The talent support and operational support in my experience has been one of the best.

    Cons

    Just like most young and growing tech companies the opportunities to put in extra hours and take on projects are plentiful.

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in the culture and maintain the standards set in recruiting and hiring.

    Addepar Response

    Apr 7, 2017 – VP, People

    Thank you for the compliments regarding employee and operations support. I am glad you feel it!


  11. "Best place I've ever worked!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Advocacy Manager in Mountain View, CA
    Current Employee - Client Advocacy Manager in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Addepar full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Addepar is easily the best place I've ever worked! Everyone is happy to be at work, super friendly, smart, capable, and passionate. Management is very accessible and actively keeps employees in the loop about what's going on with the business. Benefits are great. The new office is open and modern, and a block from downtown Mountain View. I honestly can't say anything bad about my experience so far.

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Addepar Response

    Apr 7, 2017 – VP, People

    Thank you for the wonderful review! Very glad to have you at Addepar!


Showing 56 of 58 reviews
Reset Filters