Aecon Reviews | Glassdoor

Aecon Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 158 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Aecon CEO John M. Beck
John M. Beck
44 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Calculate loads and design HVAC systems for new construction buildings and/or renovations; create whole building models"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Aecon

    Pros

    Great bosses and multiple company events

    Cons

    Pay is too low for degree

    Aecon2015-01-14
  2. "maintenance tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Aecon full-time

      Pros

      good money and decent benefits

      Cons

      sometimes contracts change swiftly and could be out of a job; if they do not renew contracts

      Advice to Management

      change the tone and moral of the team; very cut throat

      Aecon2017-04-26
    • Helpful (3)

      "Clear difference between what Aecon says it is and what it actually is"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Prefer Not to Say in Ontario, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Aecon full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Honestly, there are very few positives to being here. Of those, we have solid benefits and, personally, my co-workers are a lot of fun and help me make it through the week. Sadly, that's about it. Aecon is doing very little to retain me as an employee.

      Cons

      Get ready for a good read! There's a clear difference between what Aecon says it is and what actually happens here. Aecon is continually on the "Best Employers in Canada" list, but our scores - which are shown to employees in HR-led meetings/witch hunts - are laughably low. Despite the Best Employers survey being anonymous, management tries to figure out who gave low scorings or made negative comments that are meant...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      They won't read this, so it doesn't even make a difference. They need to read my "Cons" and figure it out for themselves. I make it pretty clear.

      Aecon2015-06-17
    • "Project coordinator"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Project Coordinator in Toronto, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Aecon full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great Compensations & Benefits Goo mentor-ship

      Cons

      Bad Work/Life Balance Poor training programs

      Aecon2019-04-01
    • "CDMS/ Billing Administrator"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort McMurray, AB
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Aecon full-time

      Pros

      Good place to work, supportive collegues

      Cons

      None except not enough work!!

      Aecon2019-03-22
    • "Lock out captain / Quality Control"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Red Seal Journeyman Electrician in Saskatoon, SK
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Aecon full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Respectful personnel, excellent remuneration, positive work environment

      Cons

      Available projects for secure future

      Advice to Management

      Secure another project and call me

      Aecon2019-03-08
    • "Job review at Aecon constructors"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Project Coordinator in Bowmanville, ON
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Aecon full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Great living allowance 600$/ week

      Cons

      Too many people doing nothing. Bad working environment. Bad management

      Advice to Management

      Fire them

      Aecon2019-03-02
    • "Project Coordinator Engineering"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Aecon full-time

      Pros

      - Colleagues are amazing, everyone is helpful and young. - transparent and clear communication - Pay is competitive

      Cons

      - New employees get about a month of orientation, which is a bit excessive

      Advice to Management

      More organization during onboarding

      Aecon2019-02-05
    • "Average"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Aecon full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Diverse, flexible hours, lots of free "business" lunchs and drinks.

      Cons

      Pay, lots of politics, weak middle mgmt, communication

      Advice to Management

      Reward the hard workers not the smooth talkers.

      Aecon2019-02-16
    • "Project Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Aecon full-time

      Pros

      Big enough to sustain everyone with projects

      Cons

      Don’t get stuck with not being the favorite

      Advice to Management

      Try to speak to workers at the lower levels once in a while

      Aecon2019-01-31
    Found 158 reviews