Amazon Robotics Reviews | Glassdoor

Amazon Robotics Reviews

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 120 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Amazon Robotics CEO  (no image)
9 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Can be complicated to manage your own work life balance if you don't focus on it(in 17 reviews)

  • "No recognition for the hard work(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Analyst - Consulting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in North Reading, MA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Amazon Robotics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good working conditions and pay

    Cons

    none i can think of

    Amazon Robotics2019-01-24
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Extremely Toxic Environment with Massive Turnover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Amazon Robotics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The technology is cool. There are some very smart engineers there. It looks good to have Amazon on your resume.

    Cons

    Extremely toxic culture from middle and upper management. Promotion is extremely subjective. I was offered a 0% raise after being give an "exceeds expectations" perf review. I was only offered a raise (of 30%, I was severely underpaid) after I threatened to leave and lined up another offer. I was ultimately offered a 60% raise to stay and turned it down. I was treated like dirt. The turnover rate was over 75% for my... team in 2 years. For a lot of the org it is this way. A lot of upper management hired their friends rather than qualified individuals for very high up positions. I was used and used until I couldn't take it anymore. I would never work here again, and I contemplated not paying back my sign on bonus due to misleading hiring practices and borderline harassment treatment by management. I can confidently say this company has huge turnover for good reason.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Completely clean house for GSS team. Stop abusing people and using misleading hiring tactics. Don't treat overachievers like dirt. Don't give positive reviews and back them up with no or low raises. Take a hard look at HR department, they didn't help me even when I reported borderline illegal behavior.

    Amazon Robotics2019-08-12
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Core technology is still cool. Latest endeavors are mostly missteps"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer 
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Amazon Robotics full-time

    Pros

    Smart and friendly engineers who are willing to provide guidance. Flexible hours and good perks.

    Cons

    Most middle/senior management are incompetent. Turnover rate is high, and they do not promote from within, or promotion is based on buddy system. Many of the recent projects have not delivered results, let alone being production ready. The North Reading office is dated and crowded.

    Advice to Management

    Take a long hard look at the performance of the middle managers.

    Amazon Robotics2019-04-25
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Company pays a fortune to have these scrubbed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Amazon Robotics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You will meet other sad and overworked people to commiserate with

    Cons

    This place will look good on your resume but that's it, you will hate your time there and the people. Management is full of sycophants

    Advice to Management

    Clean house

    Amazon Robotics2019-02-28
  5. "Awesome company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Reading, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Amazon Robotics for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, independence and flexibility.

    Cons

    I have no complaints, it is a great company!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Amazon Robotics2019-01-09
  6. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in North Reading, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Amazon Robotics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People are amazing - smart, hard-working and very collaborative. Working behind the Amazon curtain is interesting and you'll learn a lot working here.

    Cons

    Amazon is a big company and some of their policies don't easily translate into a smaller subsidiary. It can be frustrating at times.

    Advice to Management

    Hold onto your AR culture as long as you can.

    Amazon Robotics2018-12-06
  7. "Keeps you busy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in North Reading, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Amazon Robotics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Talented colleagues, amazing scale of work, challenging work

    Cons

    Hectic, you have to be your own advocate

    Amazon Robotics2018-11-14
  8. "Robotics Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I worked at Amazon Robotics

    Pros

    Very challenging work and smart people

    Cons

    High pressure and the location is far from town

    Amazon Robotics2018-11-13
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Roll your own dice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Amazon Robotics

    Pros

    Nice benefits, it's amazon. Good projects, learn a lot, nice environment, nice office.

    Cons

    Management is not great, where you end up is completely in their hands.

    Amazon Robotics2018-11-12
  10. "Electrical Engineering Coop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Amazon Robotics full-time

    Pros

    Fast paced, great supervisor who is intelligent and helpful. Amenities including cereal, soft serve, bananas, coffee, tea, etc.

    Cons

    45 Minutes outside Boston depending on where in the city you live. Sometimes fast pace in many sections of the company results in some periods of managerial backup but rarely.

    Amazon Robotics2018-10-25
Found 120 reviews