Apache Reviews | Glassdoor

Apache Reviews

Updated Jun 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 186 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
John J. Christmann, IV
53 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good people to work with and for(in 18 reviews)

  • "The company has great benefits and is doing well in the oil industry during this climate(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Huge workload, no work/life balance(in 13 reviews)

  • "All of the department managers allow 1 single girl to run the department based on her opinions, with only 6 years experience in oil and gas mind you(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Laborer in Lexington-Fayette, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Apache full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great benefits at this job

    Cons

    none that I can think of now

    Apache2019-03-28
  2. "Great technical staff with challenging management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Completions Engineer 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Apache part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, fun work environment, good pay

    Cons

    Management disconnected from their staff

    Apache2019-06-04
  3. "Company in freefall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Geoscience in Midland, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Apache full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pays out the face to keep people from asking questions. Managers have no idea who does the work and how much. Sit back and coast thru life

    Cons

    Follows an unfounded female promotion policy breeds male resentment. Promotes unqualified people over hard workers who have sacrificed living in the oilfield for years. Invested billions into a gas play that the industry rightfully so passed ove for decades. Losing money every day if it wasn’t for international. Can’t follow simple accounting procedures.

    Advice to Management

    Sell to a major

    Apache2019-06-18
  4. "Good Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Apache full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Very interesting work that has significant impact on the company. The company is small enough that you can see the impact of your work in day to day operations. -Amazing location, nicest office I have ever been in -Most of the people are extremely friendly and helpful

    Cons

    -Apache's higher-ups aren't great. They all reside in Houston and love to exert their power over the San Antonio office through de-funding, red taping, etc. Often this is for reasons that are provably false or insignificant.

    Apache2019-04-10
  5. "Awesome company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pogram/Project Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Apache full-time

    Pros

    Really nice people. Laid back but professional. Strong company in a great industry. Work life balance awesome...work only 1,2 day Fridays

    Cons

    Like all company's, communication can be lacking.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up. You do a great job

    Apache2019-03-08
  6. "Good Team Good Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Reservoir Engineer I in Midland, TX
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Apache full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good Team Good Bosses Good Pay

      Cons

      People complain about the stock price too much

      Apache2019-02-25
    • Helpful (1)

      "Apache"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Treasury Analyst in Houston, TX
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Apache full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Good benefits. New management is good. Typical mid major e&p company. Culture can vary department to department

      Cons

      Not as well designed rotational programs as majors

      Apache2019-02-04
    • "Lead Operator"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Apache full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Safety orientated, hands on help from supervisors

      Cons

      Aggressive, someti.es micro management

      Apache2018-12-02
    • "Good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Apache full-time

      Pros

      Talented people, good location, great package

      Cons

      Need to elevate base salaries, other offers can easily snatch people

      Apache2018-11-29
    • "Great"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Pumper in Houston, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Apache for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great companies to be employed by and wish we didn’t get bought out

      Cons

      None that I can think of. Great companies and amazing perks

      Apache2018-11-21
    Found 186 reviews