Apigee Reviews

Updated Mar 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
72%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Apigee CEO Chet Kapoor
Chet Kapoor
95 Ratings
Pros
  • "Smart people, market leader, work with fantastic customers who have an urgent need for Apigee's solutions(in 13 reviews)

  • "Great work environment, good work/life balance(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "You must be very self motivated and self-directed(in 6 reviews)

  • "Environment may be too fast paced for some(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fantastic company, great culture"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Apigee full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    One of the best companies I have worked at.

    Cons

    Self directed folks most successful

    Apigee2020-03-23
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Politics Galore"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Apigee full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Apigee was full of great people.

    Cons

    Terrible Politics. Apigee was full of great people that were held back by office politics.

    Apigee2019-08-16
  3. "Software Engineer"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Apigee full-time

    Pros

    relaxed culture, happy people, great lunch

    Cons

    politics in upper management, tech was a mess

    Apigee2018-02-22
  4. "GL accountant"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Apigee

    Pros

    everything is good everything is great.

    Cons

    Nothing to mentioned everything is perfect.

    Apigee2016-11-29
  5. Helpful (12)

    "Thoughtful, Passionate People"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales & Marketing in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Apigee

    Pros

    The people are incredibly passionate about their work, bright, and supportive of each other. It is truly a hub of learning how companies across the world are becoming platforms and implementing API business models.

    Cons

    It's tough to come up with cons as I had a wonderful experience at Apigee. Be ready to move fast and be accountable for your own growth and learning.

    Continue reading
    Apigee2016-07-21

    Apigee Response

    July 22, 2016

    Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. It is always sad to see a review from a "former employee" but gratifying to know that you had a fulfilling experience. And, I can't agree enough that we are blessed with "thoughtful, passionate people" All the best to you in you in your future endeavors. Please visit often.

  6. Helpful (2)

    "Awesome company with lots of opportunity for growth"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Apigee full-time

    Pros

    - Really interesting technical problems to solve on all fronts (customer-facing, internal tools, infra, open-source) and opporutnity to work with brand new/up and coming technology - Dedication to open source contribution and presence in communities - They take care of their employees, great benefits, pay, perks and appreciation from coaches - Coach > Manager, your coach is the person responsible for evaluating bonuses and doing all the managerial things, but they also take their job as a mentor seriously. I've had great coach relationships and they've been the highlight of my time here. - Lots of opportunity to step up and take ownership of projects - Obvious that everyone believes in and is passionate about the company and is unified behind a central vision. - Flat hierarchy means you can talk to anyone, and it is in fact welcome/encouraged

    Cons

    - can feel slightly chaotic at times due to flat hierarchy, when attempting to determine who the PoC is for something - hint of poor work/life balance, sometimes messages will come in on weekends or late hours of a weekday, sometimes asked to make really tough deadlines (however upon hitting them, reward is not far behind)

    Continue reading
    Apigee2016-08-04

    Apigee Response

    August 5, 2016

    Thank you for your thorough review. I've learned from reading your thoughts. Perhaps one of the most gratifying things I've read here is when you said "I've had great coach relationships and they've been the highlight of my time here" Totally appreciate the work/life balance comment. We are surrounded by dedicated, committed people who integrate work and life and often find the work part to subsume much of the life part. I suspect that some of this is simply the way we are wired. That said, am always open to ideas re. how we might improve in this area. Last thought: I'm reading this at the end of a week. You've set me up for a nice weekend. Thank YOU!

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Fantastic Internship Experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Apigee

    Pros

    - As an intern you get to work on projects which are interesting, challenging, and will actually be used - Interesting people, great work environment - There are biweekly lunch and learns where the CEO, the CTO, senior engineers, and other interesting people talk about their experiences and answer questions - Fun events for interns - The other interns are great to work with - Lunch is catered and is always different

    Cons

    I have not really had any downsides working here as an intern. Truly a great place.

    Continue reading
    Apigee2016-08-01

    Apigee Response

    August 2, 2016

    I'm glad that you stuck with it too and am thrilled that you are having a great experience. Thank you for writing such a thorough and thoughtful review. And, thank you for dedicating your summer to us. I hope you've learned a ton.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great company which customer focus"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Apigee full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture (people, mentor) Fast reaction to customer demands (very active customer interactions, POC design) A bunch of great people with a wide range of knowledge (technology, strategy, sales) Concrete actions and delivery (it is all about what to contribute)

    Cons

    Being customer focus is not enough since there is a need to be ahead of what the customer need/want, There are some cliques (technical/nontechnical, new hire/old hire, previous company) that in term could create some problems, Sometimes acting too much at strategic consultant with high vision but no path to execution.

    Continue reading
    Apigee2016-08-02

    Apigee Response

    August 4, 2016

    Thank you for your thoughtful review. I agree that we've built a pretty special culture and that we place priority on "fast reaction to customer demands" It's an interesting thought about being "ahead of what the customer need..." Clearly, this would be awesome. At the same time, this philosophy has plagued the IT industry with products, features, functions that have no market. As in all things, I'm sure that the right answer lies in moderation and balance. Please let me close by wishing you good fortune. I hope that your next experience offers you all that you are looking for and that you find happiness and success.

  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great impressions"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Apigee full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are a lot of exceptional people at Apigee. There are also people who aren't quite there yet, but most of them are young and by being here, they'll definitely be exceptional in their field in the future. If you're an Engineer, you'll be tasked with challenging problems. The problems, in my experience, have been fun and exciting. I remember during my interview, my interviewer said something that really stuck with me and enticed me into joining and that was "We're trying to solve the problems of the future". For context during the interview, "problems" referred to technical problems, but in many ways Apigee as a whole is trying to solve other problems in the world. If there's anything that you need in order to do your job better, you can definitely send a casual message to either the front desk (people ops) or IT. There's also a vending machine with common accessories. Parking is a breeze if you manage to get access to the building's parking lot. Otherwise, it's a small walk from the other parking lot down the street. Keto/Low-carbers will not have many issues with the catered lunch selections. There's usually always options. I, however, sometimes cheat when Sushi day comes along. Mostly everyone's calendar is public so you can spy Table tennis table and billiards in the gym

    Cons

    You might gain weight here if you aren't strongly willed when 11:30am comes around, but even the healthy options are tasty

    Continue reading
    Apigee2016-07-29

    Apigee Response

    July 29, 2016

    Wow, what a wonderful way to start a day! I woke up to this review and feel like my day is off to a great start Thank you for being so thorough and so thoughtful. We are operating on the belief that our environment impacts our engagement and our engagement impacts our ability to serve customers. Your review gives me confidence that we are on the right thought. Thank you!

  10. Helpful (10)

    "Solid company: Better employees"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Apigee for more than a year

    Pros

    Great product, backed by a better team. Open door policies and genuine top of the class team. Forward movement and a general happy work environment.

    Cons

    More openness about big company and product changes, but overall a good job by management. Could me more accommodating of remote employees.

    Continue reading
    Apigee2016-05-18

    Apigee Response

    May 20, 2016

    I think that perhaps the best testimony about a company comes from someone who is now a "former" employee. While I'm always sorry to see people leave, I understand that change is inevitable and that there are times when the best situation in a new one. Thank you for honoring your former colleagues with this review! I can't agree more that we have a "genuine top of the class team" I wish you the best of luck in your new role and hope you know that if you ever need our help we'll be here for you.

Found 124 reviews