AppDirect Reviews

Updated May 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
74%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
AppDirect Co-Chief Executive Officers Nicolas Desmarais & Daniel Saks
Nicolas Desmarais & Daniel Saks
114 Ratings
Pros
  • "free food , nice people and environment, located in downtown(in 17 reviews)

  • "Perks and compensation are also great, and so is the work life balance(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "This cripples the platform with tech debt(in 6 reviews)

  • "There was a lot of brain drain there(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Why I chose AppDirect over Venture Capital"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SDR Team Lead in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppDirect full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    // Mentorship - I went from minimal sales experience to setting up deals with some of the largest enterprise companies in the world. AppDirect has also given me a deep understanding of industries like ISV, Manufacturing, MSP/VAR, FinServ, Telco, etc. // View - 360 unobstructed view of San Francisco from the 25th floor (I’m writing this while looking at the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz) // Friends - I couldn’t wish for a more supportive and friendly work environment, even senior leadership has taken the time to get to know me personally // Flexibility - I’m given the freedom to take daily gym breaks and work from home when needed // Career Development - I get ~$,1500/yr to go to events, take classes, buy books, etc. as well as unlimited free access to Udemy courses // Salary - they pay is above market average (with an uncapped quota + accelerators) with significant career growth opportunities, 401K, fully covered health/dental // Enablement - I’d like to think we are the most enabled SDR team out there...AppDirect has invested in giving us world-class sales tools and marketing collateral, and hands-on training (making my job easier) // Andddd yes there’s free lunch every day and all the snacks/drinks you could want

    Cons

    We've had some turnover, but that's the nature of the industry. The reality is that we're getting invaluable experience.

    Continue reading
    AppDirect2019-07-30
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture and amenities"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppDirect full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly and fun culture, great office/views, approachable management/leadership, opportunity to grow in and even change you career path

    Cons

    Open floor plan can feel a little messy

    AppDirect2019-02-07
  3. "Good Tech... Niche Market"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager 

    I worked at AppDirect full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome company with really smart people. Good work environment.

    Cons

    Limited market enterprise sales reps to chase. Although a great value prop for companies that need a platform, build vs. buy headwinds are substantial.

    AppDirect2020-05-11
  4. "The company lost its direction"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at AppDirect

    Pros

    Great managers and smart people

    Cons

    Most of the engineers left in the past years

    AppDirect2020-03-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Administrative"

    2.0
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 

    I have been working at AppDirect part-time

    Pros

    Quiet and chill work environment

    Cons

    No communication and low pay

    AppDirect2019-09-17
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Hoping stock options end up worth anything"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AppDirect full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work with good people and interesting technologies; good work/life balance

    Cons

    Questionable senior management and staffing decisions

    AppDirect2019-09-10
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Not recommended"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AppDirect full-time

    Pros

    Nice and smart colleagues. Good work life balance.

    Cons

    As others said, promotion is just a way to give people more work without increasing the pay. Business outlook is unclear. The actual career growth and compensation growth are very limited. Shorter sighted decisions at all levels.

    AppDirect2019-07-23
  8. Helpful (5)

    "No"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AppDirect full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good view Salad lunch every day Hot lunch on Friday The teams are still trying their hardest and are generally great Plenty of work to do Healthcare is decent only if you have no dependents.

    Cons

    Compensation is not competitive for any role in SF. The only promotions are for sycophants or those that threaten to leave after working themselves to death.There is no meritocracy at AppDirect. The leadership team does not provide any leadership. Management does not know how to coach their teams or make improvements for their teams. Leadership could not tell you what success for the company is. All the extra work from the lay offs last year is still with the remaining employees but with no increase in pay. HR does not take action on yearly feedback survey.

    Continue reading
    AppDirect2019-07-20
  9. Helpful (3)

    "This is an "imaginary" unicorn"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AppDirect full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Location, Office views, Remote Work, Snacks, Friday Lunch

    Cons

    Poor Management Weak Leadership Compensation not competitive with the market HR team is trying to improve things by letting people know things are improving. Basically doing nothing and just saying for the sake of it. Smart people not appreciated Sycophants promoted Lack of transparency No clear direction for success Lack of managers and leaders who are coaches. Newbies who are sycophants are promoted to managerial positions.

    Continue reading
    AppDirect2019-04-12
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Great people, culture and office!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppDirect full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome people, food, and view of SF. Very supportive, friendly people. Exciting things happening for this company.

    Cons

    Several interviews but they move very quickly and want to ensure it's the right fit. There was recent reorg but things are looking up!

    AppDirect2019-02-07
Found 157 reviews