Automated Systems Reviews | Glassdoor

Automated Systems Reviews

Updated Sep 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 37 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Automated Systems CEO Bradley R. Perry (no image)
Bradley R. Perry
16 Ratings
  1. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Automated Systems

    Pros

    Great Co-Workers, Never boring, and there is always an opportunity to learn something new everyday. Company is always trying to improve.

    Cons

    Workloads can be intense sometimes

    Advice to Management

    Keep moving in the right direction

    Automated Systems2019-09-06
  2. "Great company open to change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Lincoln, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Automated Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great employees, great mission, amazing work/life balance

    Cons

    sometimes it's hard not to take work home, but also really nice!

    Advice to Management

    none, just continue to evolve!

    Automated Systems2019-08-15
  3. "Positive changes occuring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Automated Systems full-time

    Pros

    I have been working at Automated Systems for over a year and half now and I have seen dramatic changes since day one. The company has conducted round tables and surveys to see what employees really want and need to feel positive about their work environment. I believe that many changes have been implemented for the better, dress code allows jeans, shorts, etc., while appropriate for the workplace. Company providing... lunch for the whole staff once a month with rotating themes, with not only food but games, activities, and competition is a nice perk. Communication has been improving from leadership, with quarter communication meetings, allowing the whole company to see what progress we have made regarding our goals, recognizing achievements and milestones in employment. Many people may think little things may not matter, but I truly appreciate the National Coke, Cookie, or Ice Cream days and having a little something left for my at my desk or in the break room. It can be challenging for less tenured employees to understand changes cannot happen overnight and should be aware the company leadership is trying to improve the culture and organization as a whole. Negativity can breed amongst co-workers, but many times these individuals may not be the right fit for the organization or do not have any suggestions for improvement and rather sulk in that negativity. For those individuals who possess the desire to apply themselves, engage in the learning, strive to develop and improve, have the ability to advance within the company if they desire. They are looking to improve processes in place within different departments to see how we can engage new and existing employees with ongoing training and development, with the hiring of a new Training and Development Manager. Over the last two years the company has been looking at how their training and passing of knowledge on to these newer hires. It is a challenging place to work and there can be a steep learning curve, but there are people willing to help and there are tools available. We have made improvement with staffing and continue to hire for many of the different departments. Making an investment of new equipment for Client Services such as new wireless headsets seems to be making huge improvements. I have worked in many different fields and jobs, and many times I find it surprising how some people perceive their employment in this organization. With new hires, positivity and change has been occurring.

    Show More

    Cons

    Insurance for any smaller company can be a challenge and they are working to offer competitive benefits and insurance. Again, it is a technical job so there can be some challenges of learning the software in the beginning, due to there being so much to learn.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen and seek feedback from employees.

    Automated Systems2019-07-24
  4. "Challenging, but rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Client Service Analyst in Lincoln, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Automated Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The best part of working here is the ability to direct your career path. The company has maintained a small company feel, so there is plenty of opportunity to learn outside of your assigned environment. The casual environment and friendly employees are a huge plus as well. The positions here can be challenging, but the relationships you can build with the client base makes it very rewarding. The combination of... skills necessary to do well at the job are customer service, banking experience, and technical knowledge. If you have two of the three, you'll learn the third on the job and improve the other two. I left the company for about a year over some frustrations, and came back when I was assured that things were changing for the better. I have been very satisfied with returning and would encourage anyone looking for a good challenge to look over any openings.

    Show More

    Cons

    As a smaller company, insurance benefits are a little lacking. There has been high turnover in the past. It seems like many of the employees are first-time college graduates, some of which are first entering the workforce. Some of these employees have different expectations about what a career looks like. In the past, this had been a job that you could do just enough to get by and that was good enough, but this is... improving.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Changes are going in the right direction. I'd really like to see improvements in benefits.

    Automated Systems2019-04-29
  5. "Networking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dev 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Automated Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good place to start for young people.

    Cons

    The owner is crazy from what i have seen. He comes in once in awhile and just throws a fit. And i have met him at a bar when he was really drunk. Everyone else there is really nice. Pay is below average. Once again, good place to start.

    Advice to Management

    Not sure about advice.

    Automated Systems2019-05-03
  6. "Dramatic Improvements"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Automated Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have been with the company a few years now. When I think back to when I started, I am not sure why I stayed. Now that I did stay, I am happy that I did. End of 2017 was a very challenging time for all of us. We didnt have a manager for almost a year, the software releases were all broken and banks could not figure it out. We had hundreds of calls every day. EOY in 2017 was a horrible experience. I still dont... know why I stayed on during that time. About a year ago, Brad Perry announced changes in support and we got a new manager. This past year was also challenging, but huge improvements. Everywhere in the company, stuff is better. The software releases are better. The support we get helping banks is better. We now have a manager and supervisor willing and able to work with us and the rest of the team. We have a new QA manager who helped ensure the releases the past year were better. And most important, EOY 2018 was incredible. I heard last year staff were here until 2:30-3:00am, but this year everyone was done and able to leave by 11:00pm. I know there are still challenges, but we havnt had very many people quit. The new employees go through training that is much better than what I had and I dont have banks screaming at me anymore. Pretty much everyone who was hired this past year is still here. I think that is great. I would say things are looking up.

    Show More

    Cons

    Some of our equipment is outdated. Old phone system that does nothing but allow us to talk to people. Phones today can do so much more. Plus, we have to use old wired headsets that are kind of gross. How much are new head sets ? How about wireless? How about a phone system that integrates with our system? The system we use is really old and hard to use and update. Sometimes I dont even know what I need to do... that day. We could use some help with our system. Improvements are coming out, so that is good. Reviewed them, but havnt seen anything yet. Some staff have to use win terms. When I was new, I didnt even understand what a win term is or how it works. Well, it doesnt work well. I am able to use a PC now, but newer employees have to use win terms. Not sure why and cant imagine there is really a big cost difference. Lack of experience and knowledge. I am not sure what happened, but somewhere the company did not hire enough people. I think there is a gap between when I started and then when really no one started. I high number of people started last year, so that is good, but they are all new and it takes a long time to learn the system. Plus, the people who have been here a long time and really know the system are on the other side of the building and refuse to help. Sometimes it is an us vs them between support and development - QA area. Development is slow going. Im not sure how long it has been since Insite 8 starting being developed, but it seems like a long time. When will it be done. Having some stuff in Insite and some stuff in Toolkit and between and the banks dont know what is what can be really hard to support.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    We really like what you started this past year. I really like the new way support is set up and managed and I know pretty much everyone else does too. You should look at some of the changes that have been done already this past year (support, training, QA) and keep doing the same in other areas. It is frustrating when we have to fix problems that were caused when software releases are wrong, when conversions are... not done right, when banks do not have training, etc. Keep up the fun activities and recognition. Keep asking for our feedback. I hope a lot of people completed the survey this year. We all now have the chance to provide feedback, so if we are not doing that then it is our problem. But then its is your problem if you dont listen and make changes. So far this past year, you have been listening. Thank you for that.

    Show More
    Automated Systems2019-01-29
  7. "A successful company working hard to become even better."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Automated Systems full-time

    Pros

    I have worked at ASI for a number of years and am surprised by some of the negative reviews. I can count no less than half a dozen employees working here now who left at one point for a variety of reasons and have come back. Some moved out state, tried going into business on their own, pursued other employment opportunities, etc. but eventually came back to ASI. To me that shows ASI is a great place to work that... so many people would want to come back after exploring other options. Management continues to implement changes to improve the company culture. Changing the dress code to allow jeans and shorts, introducing a fun committee to organize company outings, company teams in recreational leagues, and inter-office games and competitions. Offering company lunches for the employees and hosting quarterly communication meetings are all just a few examples of changes management has implemented. There are numerous career advancement opportunities as well, many of the managers started in entry level positions in the company years ago. Stability and growth of the company are both significant positives, the customer base and revenue stream has followed an upward trend every year I have been here and according to coworkers has been that way for several decades.

    Show More

    Cons

    Long learning curve, software is very robust and diverse with lots of options for customization. Can take time to really understand everything there is to know about the software. Benefits are good but insurance like most places is expensive.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to the employees, communicating freely, and looking for ways to improve.

    Automated Systems2019-01-16
  8. "Positive changes are being made"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Automated Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -The culture team makes sure we get extra treats or fun activities every month. -Freedom to experiment in position/learn new skills -People are friendly and willing to help their team -Communication has gotten a lot better

    Cons

    -PTO, particularly when you first start is almost non-existent.

    Advice to Management

    It's been great to see you open the floor to allow employees to make suggestions, and then to make those suggestions actually happen. Please keep doing that and don't stop because you think it's good enough. Continue to empower employees to form ASI and IDS into a work place we are excited to come to every day.

    Automated Systems2019-01-14
  9. "Don't always judge a company but its reviews."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lincoln, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Automated Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been working at Automated Systems for about 6 months. I was surprised how different this place is compared to the reviews that were left by previous employees. If you have a drive to learn something new, then this place might fit you well. While you do have deadlines, you also have the freedom to learn new skills to help you get your job done. It’s also nice that upper management bring in lunch for us maybe... every other month. Everyone here seems to get along and have the same goal of making this place better for the customer as well as each of us working here. I’m happy to be working here.

    Show More

    Cons

    Healthcare is a little bit high for the family plan, but it’s better than nothing.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the communication coming. I like to hear about how the company is doing.

    Automated Systems2018-11-19
  10. Helpful (4)

    "High turnover rate for a reason"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Automated Systems full-time

    Pros

    Great coworkers Lunch once a month

    Cons

    Management disregards a lot of suggestions that the employees submitted to try to improve the workplace Low pay, with bad hours, not flexible whatsoever No sick days, as your made to use your Earned PTO for your sick days so during flu season it is a coughing/sneezing mess in the office Computers are out of date as well as many of the software used here were approaching EOL Very Unprofessional CEO and upper... management is lacking communication with the rest of the employees, despite their effort, relationship is still shaky nonetheless

    Show More
    Automated Systems2018-11-06
Found 37 reviews