BASF Reviews

Updated May 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
70%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
BASF Chairman and CEO of BASF in North America Wayne T. Smith
Wayne T. Smith
166 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits package although it gets stingier as time passes(in 115 reviews)

  • "Great benefits that reward health(in 106 reviews)

Cons
  • "Decision making is slow and few bad investments in recent years(in 53 reviews)

  • "Large company so can get lost in structures(in 41 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Supply Chain Planner in Florham Park, NJ

    I have been working at BASF full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits that reward health

    Cons

    Large company not the most agile but making improvements

    BASF2020-04-16

    BASF Response

    May 11, 2020Talent Attraction

    Thanks for your comment & thanks for noticing our intention to become more agile. We appreciated your hard work and dedication to team BASF.

  2. Helpful (2)

    "Overall, good company but not perfect"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Engineer in Geismar, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BASF full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Good benefits package although it gets stingier as time passes. Used to cover all ongoing education costs (including MBA, MS, etc.) but now only cover a certain amount. 401k match is great as well as all the ancillary benefits that are offered to all aspects of an employee's life. * Generally support employee's desire to explore other paths within the company which can lead to a well rounded career * Generally committed to keeping its employees and only considers layoffs as a last resort * Strong position in industry from a product portfolio standpoint * Global presence greatly decreases the change of full-on corporate dissolution * Commitment to safety (within reason)

    Cons

    * Very nepotistic, although this may not be different from any other company. Future upper management selected very early on in their careers; they will get mentorship opportunities that you will not. * Related to the above point, temper your career expectations. This is a good place to stay for many years while bringing in a consistent, solid paycheck. The level of nepotism and foreign delegates who come to the US and occupy management spots mean you are not likely to see much upward growth, as others who have been hand picked as "future leaders" will occupy those spots. Sometimes, they won't even interview for them. * Generally does not (monetarily) value technical expertise. You will not be "highly" compensated unless you are a manager type and every young engineer (especially PDPs) wants to be an SVP one day, so good luck * Early career engineers generally pressured to stay technical by the very people who did not stay technical for obvious reasons (compensation, upward opportunities), and it will be at the young professional's expense but the managers' benefit

    Continue reading
    BASF2020-04-30

    BASF Response

    May 11, 2020Talent Attraction

    Thank you for taking the time to craft such a detailed review. We will take your comments into consideration as we continuously try to enhance our employee experience. Thank you for your hard work & dedication to team BASF & our customers!

  3. "Not what I expected."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chemical Operator in Peekskill, NY
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BASF full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, good perks, decent pay for starting.

    Cons

    Hard to move up. Website with resources was outdated in multiple areas. Management at my site was cruel and promoted fear based tactics for work to get done.

    Continue reading
    BASF2020-05-17
  4. "No life"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chemical Operator in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at BASF full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pretty decent money. Usually lots of overtime available. Able to move up the ladder within as well.

    Cons

    Rotating shift. Ridiculous management. Different treatment for different people.

    Continue reading
    BASF2020-05-13
  5. "Great while it lasted"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BASF full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits Good salary Good knowledge resources

    Cons

    Typical large corporate mentality You’re just a number No synergy across business lines Corporate will show profits at any cost Major good ole boy executive favoritism

    Continue reading
    BASF2020-04-23
  6. "Customer Account Specialist"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Customer Account Specialist in Wyandotte, MI

    I worked at BASF full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great pay, work from home

    Cons

    some bureaucracy, but overall great company

    BASF2020-04-03
  7. "Decent place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Scientist in Research Triangle Park, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BASF full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Your voice is heard, many opportunities for growth and learning

    Cons

    Hard to move up in the company

    Continue reading
    BASF2020-04-02
  8. "Challenging, yet rewarding, work environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Supervisor in Geismar, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BASF full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    BASF only hires the best of the best, and that can be seen not only within individual production units, but throughout all of BASF.

    Cons

    Be on the lookout for site acquisition history. In the past, I've experience acquired sites with acquired employees that did not seem to embody the BASF that I came to know and love.

    BASF2020-04-01

    BASF Response

    April 2, 2020Talent Attraction

    We appreciate not only your feedback, but the hard work put in at BASF everyday. We couldnt create Chemistry without great employees like you!

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Supply Planner"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supply Chain Planner in Florham Park, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BASF full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible Work life balance

    Cons

    More focus on money not employees

    BASF2020-03-07
  10. "Ok"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Extrusion Operator in Wyandotte, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BASF full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benifits, 401k match up to 10%.

    Cons

    Overworked due to payroll cuts

    Continue reading
    BASF2020-03-21

    BASF Response

    March 30, 2020Talent Attraction

    Thank you for your honest review, we will certainly take your feedback under advisement.

Found 847 reviews
</>Embed