BASi Reviews | Glassdoor

BASi Reviews

Updated Oct 1, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
BASi CEO Jacqueline Lemke
Jacqueline Lemke
4 Ratings
  1. "Great Work Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at BASi

    Pros

    Management was helpful in my skill development and worked with me to ensure I learned from my experience. Great work environment with friendly workers and company picnics

    Cons

    Low intern pay comparatively but offered great experience

    BASi2018-10-02
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Good people, but management is killing the environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in West Lafayette, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BASi full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The hours are very flexible (leave when your work is done and no one needs help) and the employee committee does try to make the environment a happy one. This is a good "fresh out of college" company, but be sure to jump ship in 3 years or less!

    Cons

    Entry level pay is much lower than you will find at similar companies and earning a raise is extremely difficult (long-term employees haven't had a raise in 5yrs due to "budget issues"). The management lacks cohesive implementation of ideas and tends to drag its feet in resolving issues. The company has recently been downsizing, not by firing people, but simply by not replacing those who leave and layering more tasks/responsibilities...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Allow your people to grow. I personally left, because there was absolutely no personal career plan in place and no one was willing to help resolve that issue; most employees want a career, not just a job). If you help your people grow I firmly believe that you will find that replacing the higher-ups to be easier instead of continually hiring "higher educated/experienced" individuals who don't know the job/company and...

    Show More
    BASi2017-05-11
  3. "Company review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at BASi

    Pros

    A great place to work. Lots of team work and they want you to advance.

    Cons

    Small firm, mostly scientist. Very technical

    Advice to Management

    Try to increase salaries and give raises

    BASi2016-05-05
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good for just out of college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in West Lafayette, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BASi

    Pros

    Vast amount of instrumentation and documentation to add to resume. Good people.

    Cons

    Company not doing so good. The amount of knowledge is not rewarded. Just learn it and move on to somewhere that will pay for the extra effort you put in.

    BASi2016-03-02
  5. "QA Auditor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at BASi full-time

    Pros

    Flexible for a person with a family. There is plenty of room to grow within the company if you work diligently.

    Cons

    The pay scale is low for the area. Performance reviews are often meaningless as everybody is required to review themselves and nobody can get higher than a 3 of 5. Limits ability of good performers to ask for a raise.

    Advice to Management

    Not having a meaningful pay raise in 10 years is unacceptable. High quality hard working employees should be acknowledged and rewarded for their efforts to grow the bottom line.

    BASi2015-09-28
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Struggling at the top"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Information Technology in Lafayette, IN
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BASi

    Pros

    Excellent opportunity for individual contribution. Each employee can truly make a difference. Work hours are flexible to meet needs of both employee and clients.

    Cons

    Micro-management from on high. Many highly educated and well experienced individuals have been hired; then told how to do their job by executives who know business but neither science nor technology.

    Advice to Management

    Trust your people; get out of the way!

    BASi2015-07-15
  7. "Up and coming biotech startup"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at BASi part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get in at the ground floor

    Cons

    Might take a little bit of time to get off the ground

    BASi2014-06-04
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Poor to no strategic plan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in West Lafayette, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at BASi full-time

    Pros

    Lab/facility infrastructure, 40 year history, vast (but under served) customer base, variety of service offerings, Quality Dept has an exceptional inspection history.

    Cons

    The upper management makes knee-jerk reactions, and has no patience to let plans develop and prosper. The company has very poor communication, and management of key areas...sales. The infrastructure and tools for many departments are lacking.

    Advice to Management

    The company needs to hire people who can fix the problems, then empower them to actually put the fixes in-place, while giving some time to see the results.

    BASi2014-02-27
  9. "Very small company. Excellent employees but I do not prefer the somewhat isolated atmosphere."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bioanalysis Intern in West Lafayette, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at BASi for less than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers, very friendly and helpful management!

    Cons

    Sometimes difficult to see the big picture that your work contributes to.

    Advice to Management

    Take the time to describe projects to employees.

    BASi2012-10-21
  10. "Avoid; If you can get an offer elsewhere, take it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in West Lafayette, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BASi full-time

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers, however many people have been leaving as of late.

    Cons

    Long hours, no recognition. Poor leadership. Oblivious to employee satisfaction (or possibly in denial). Expectations go up without title or compensation increases to go along with the added responsibilities.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees fairly. Recognize when employees are going above and beyond their duties. Be observant to trends i.e. a mass exidus from departments. It is usually a sign something is going on. Stop misleading employees and feeding them false information.

    BASi2012-11-11
Found 16 reviews