Baker Botts Reviews | Glassdoor

Baker Botts Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 65 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Baker Botts CEO Andrew M. Baker
Andrew M. Baker
16 Ratings
Pros
  • "Nice place to work with nice people(in 4 reviews)

  • "Great reputation, quality work, reasonable hours, intelligent people, family friendly, fairly transparent, great work environment(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "The lawyers are all introverted and are hard to get along with(in 4 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is non existent(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Baker Botts full-time

    Pros

    Family like atmosphere. Management cares about employees.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Baker Botts2018-10-05
  2. "Decent but not focused on women"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Baker Botts full-time

    Pros

    Good group to work with.

    Cons

    very male, white dominated and traditional

    Baker Botts2019-01-09
  3. "Nothing negative to say. Great company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Biller in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Baker Botts full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Management is great. Work environment is pleasant. A firm people can retire from.

    Cons

    Hard to be promoted because a lot of employees have been there for several years.

    Advice to Management

    Promote and hire from within.

    Baker Botts2018-11-27
  4. "Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Baker Botts full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Lawyers and staff are great to work with. Firm has a very long history and good reputation.

    Cons

    Staff is over worked due to poor department management. Staff appreciation day went from 50 dollar gift cards to now icecream sandwiches. Small bonus, not enough travel reversement. Once you put in 20 plus years, they push you into early retirement. It's all about the money.

    Advice to Management

    Learn the true value of your employees.

    Baker Botts2019-01-01
  5. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Intern in Houston, TX

    I have been working at Baker Botts for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting work environment and low pressure. You get what you put into it

    Cons

    Not much. Good experience all around

    Baker Botts2018-09-21
  6. "Great Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Baker Botts

    Pros

    Great Benefits, good salary and bonus.

    Cons

    Not much room for advancement for staff.

    Baker Botts2018-07-24
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Great Place, horrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Baker Botts full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Coworkers were great, along with most of the lawyers and their clients.

    Cons

    Horrible management, HR is a joke and you can't even go to them with an issue. Everything you do is micromanaged, if you are told to do something one way and do it that way its automatically wrong and supposed to be done a different way. In this position you will get blamed for everything even in situations where the outcome is out of your hands. The unprofessional conduct that came from HR is absolutely unacceptable.

    Advice to Management

    Needs better management, need to start looking why the turnover is so high in certain areas and who manages those areas.

    Baker Botts2018-06-26
  8. "Senior Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Baker Botts full-time

    Pros

    The money and some of the people

    Cons

    The schedule and some of the people

    Advice to Management

    Work with employees more on alternative compensation arrangements in exchange for a lower hours threshold for bonus consideration. It might be a win for everyone.

    Baker Botts2018-03-12
  9. "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiting Manager in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Baker Botts full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    I really enjoyed my time at Baker Botts because of the people I worked with! Having worked in their California offices, I got to see the office grow and flourish. The offered a lot of great benefits and provided me with a stable, exciting environment.

    Cons

    Having their headquarters in Houston made educating the Firm on what "market" is was very difficult. Many of the "firmwide" employees have been there for 20+ years, so adapting to change wasn't a strong suit.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your California lawyers and staff a bit more.

    Baker Botts2018-01-22
  10. "Poor place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Baker Botts full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    There really wasn't anything I liked about Baker Botts that is why I moved on.

    Cons

    A lot of petty gossip. Hurtful work environment. Very poor Office Administrator.

    Baker Botts2018-01-24
Found 65 reviews