Base2 Solutions Reviews

Updated Jul 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
87%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Base2 Solutions President and CEO Ron Hopkins
Ron Hopkins
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "More than lip service is paid to work-life balance(in 13 reviews)

  • "Challenging projects, great people to collaborate with, culture of constant learning/growing, flexible work schedules to some degree(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "This is not really a negative, but be aware if considering Base2(in 10 reviews)

  • "I'm usually at the client site (due to my job role)(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place To Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Base2 Solutions full-time

    Pros

    The People, The Work, Benefits

    Cons

    Honestly can't think of one thing

  2. "Starting to Worry"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Base2 Solutions full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Interesting work is being done here

    Cons

    Things are getting a little shaky. I understand that people are being laid off because there isn't enough work coming in. Starting to worry that this company is heading in the wrong direction.

    Continue reading
  3. "Great Place to Work - Hard Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Base2 Solutions full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Constant focus on what's right for the people They mean it when they say "People are our most valued resource". Really good people - I enjoy the people, and am proud to be part of the team Freedom to take the initiative AND rewarded for taking the initiative

    Cons

    It's very hard work, but reasonable hours. (This is not really a negative, but be aware if considering Base2.) I'm usually at the client site (due to my job role). Some of the client's environments well, suck.

    Continue reading

    Base2 Solutions Response

    May 11, 2020CEO

    We try to keep the company as flat as possible. You won’t find a culture of micro-management at Base2, we couldn’t be successful if we did. We hire the best, empower them, and make sure there is a team of people to support them when/if they need it. It has worked since Base2 was formed, and we don’t envision any changes going forward. Thanks for the review and glad you are seeing those principles in practice.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Your job is at the mercy of their clients"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Base2 Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Can get you temporarily placed at large employers for good experience.

    Cons

    Their office culture and business has declined significantly since being acquired by Belcan. Layoffs and project cuts are commonplace for almost a year. Projects move slow and do not offer much growth.

    Base2 Solutions Response

    May 11, 2020CEO

    Thank you for sharing your perspective. At Base2 we take all employee input very seriously and it helps to inform how we behave and communicate. I am sorry that you are feeling this way about Base2 right now. I was very surprised to see this review because I don’t think it represents the current state of Base2. Please don’t misunderstand me, I believe Base2 has room for improvement, and we are always trying to do that. But this review speaks to a change in Base2 that hasn’t occurred. We were recently acquired by Belcan (Dec 2019), but we have been very careful to minimize the impact on our staff, culture and business. Our headcount is effectively unchanged from a year ago and we will financially outperform 2019 in 2020. In the middle of the COVID-19 pandemic, we are proud of those results. It is true that there has been some volatility across our customers and contracts, but that is primarily because of their business challenges and we have managed those changes well. Regardless, it is likely that we have not done a good enough job of communicating with this specific team member. We have an open-door policy at Base2, and many digital ways to connect. I would encourage you or any employee with concerns about the culture or business to reach out to me, so that we can discuss those concerns directly and try to find solutions. Base2 has and will always provide a safe environment (free of retaliation) for staff to express and discuss their concerns.

  5. "Very good people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior S/W Engineer in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Base2 Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible work hours. Easy to switch projects,

    Cons

    Had to deal with some stiff clients

    Continue reading

    Base2 Solutions Response

    May 11, 2020CEO

    Thank you for being part of the Base2 team and giving us some feedback.

  6. "Big company benefits; Small company culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisory Software Engineer in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Base2 Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of really interesting work, often on genuinely hard problems. More than lip service is paid to work-life balance. Low drama environment with great people who ask "How can I help?," instead of "Why do you want that?"

    Cons

    Not a good fit unless you're flexible on the type and location of your work. Most Base2 engineers work at customer's locations, so commutes can vary widely from year to year. Consultancy jobs require getting up to speed rapidly, often across a wide range of technologies; expect to fumble in the dark more than you're use to.

    Continue reading

    Base2 Solutions Response

    May 11, 2020CEO

    We take a lot of pride in keeping the drama low. Whether in the Base2 office or a customer site, we have found focus and calm is the quickest path to get a project back on track. Consulting isn’t for everyone, and you have accurately captured some of the Pros and Cons. We try to make sure that every recruited individual understands the dynamics before they join Base2. No one wins when an employee is surprised after they start. :-) Thank you for the review.

  7. "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisory Systems Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Base2 Solutions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Challenging projects, great people to collaborate with, culture of constant learning/growing, flexible work schedules to some degree

    Cons

    Haven't come across any yet!

    Continue reading

    Base2 Solutions Response

    May 11, 2020CEO

    Thank you for the review and for joining Base2!

  8. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Base2 Solutions part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment that supports the employees so they can do their best for their clients

    Cons

    I can't think of any.

    Continue reading

    Base2 Solutions Response

    May 11, 2020CEO

    Base2 exists because we have happy customers that understand the value of our services. Our secret sauce for happy customers is great consultants. Thank you for being part of the team.

  9. "Best workplace"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Base2 Solutions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They really care about their employees. Everyone is highly knowledgeable. Base2 has an atmosphere of learning, innovating and growing.

    Cons

    No cons. It's a great work space.

    Base2 Solutions Response

    May 11, 2020CEO

    A consulting company is only as good as the people it is composed of. Thank you for the review, but more importantly, thank you for helping to find the great talent we have at Base2. It takes a lot of hard work to find those exceptional people.

  10. "Very Talented Consulting Team"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisory Systems Engineer 

    I have been working at Base2 Solutions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very capable software developers and systems engineers.

    Cons

    Moving to a consulting environment can be a major change for many people.

    Continue reading

    Base2 Solutions Response

    May 11, 2020CEO

    Thank you for the feedback.

Found 57 reviews