Base2 Solutions Reviews

Updated Apr 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
88%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Base2 Solutions President and CEO Ron Hopkins
Ron Hopkins
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "More than lip service is paid to work-life balance(in 13 reviews)

  • "Challenging projects, great people to collaborate with, culture of constant learning/growing, flexible work schedules to some degree(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "This is not really a negative, but be aware if considering Base2(in 11 reviews)

  • "I'm usually at the client site (due to my job role)(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Apr 8, 2021 - Senior Consultant in Bellevue, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Small community of highly skilled co-workers. Great support by management.

      Cons

      Still working through merger with Belcan.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great Place to Work!

      Mar 29, 2021 - Systems Engineer in Bellevue, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Team of People and transparent communication.

      Cons

      Current merge with bigger corporation will impact the culture.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company

      Dec 7, 2020 - Staff Officer in Springfield, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Direct contact with company owner.

      Cons

      Small company. Might not have all of the resources that bigger companies have.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great Place to Work - Hard Work

      May 7, 2020 - Senior Consultant in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Constant focus on what's right for the people They mean it when they say "People are our most valued resource". Really good people - I enjoy the people, and am proud to be part of the team Freedom to take the initiative AND rewarded for taking the initiative

      Cons

      It's very hard work, but reasonable hours. (This is not really a negative, but be aware if considering Base2.) I'm usually at the client site (due to my job role). Some of the client's environments well, suck.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Base2 Solutions Response

      CEO

      We try to keep the company as flat as possible. You won’t find a culture of micro-management at Base2, we couldn’t be successful if we did. We hire the best, empower them, and make sure there is a team of people to support them when/if they need it. It has worked since Base2 was formed, and we don’t envision any changes going forward. Thanks for the review and glad you are seeing those principles in practice.

    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Base2 Is Not What It Used To Be

      Jul 14, 2020 - Senior Quality Assurance Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Profit Sharing Bonus is nice. Work-from-home flexibility is nice (now due to Covid). USED TO BE a great place to work when the company was smaller and could operate on their own. Now that they were bought by Belcan and are under their management - HUGE difference. Better read the Belcan company reviews on Glassdoor.

      Cons

      Company process for Job Performance/Reviews is terrible. They surprise you with criticism for small one-time incidents without any prior discussion with you. They don't train their supervisors on how to be a Leader. They have lots of "Talks" about Leadership - but they DON'T "Walk the Talk". People seem to leave for lack of opportunity for growth. Before hiring in with this company in 2015, I worked for a top corporation as a Lead Quality Assurance Engineer - leading an international group of 10 testers on large automated test projects (unfortunately the company moved). At Base2, I worked by myself on manual testing - I never had any growth opportunity (I think I moved backwards). This company also does a lot of "reorganizations" - every year I had a different supervisor.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Base2 Solutions Response

      EVP & GM

      I am sorry about the experience you had at Base2. Although it is true that Base2 was acquired by Belcan, it doesn’t sound like your concerns are related to the acquisition. Although most acquisitions will result in some changes, for the most part there has been very little change with the Base2 acquisition. I hope this provides some perspective on the items you have highlighted. - Base2 continues to make the list of one of the best places to work, even as recently as June of this year. But we aren’t resting on those laurels and we recognize there continues to be room for improvement. Performance reviews are challenging, and we have worked hard to ensure that our review process is constructive for all involved. As part of our effort to continually improve in all aspects of our company, we have provided our leadership with training on performance management, and will continue to provide such training in the future. Our preference would be that no employee first hear about a concern in a written review. None of us would want to be treated that way and I believe we strive to ensure that doesn’t happen. - We do provide formal training to our leadership team and we work hard to continuously train and mentor all staff. We aren’t perfect, but we certainly try to be “Walking the Talk”. - We hire an experienced workforce for consulting. It is what our customers need. Most of our staff held leadership roles at previous companies and use those skills to help our customers solve their most challenging problems. We try to be very clear when we hire staff that there is a wide variety of work that we might be doing. It is also true that we are a small company. We have been continuously growing during our 8 year history and that has provided new opportunities for many of our staff. - We will never treat employees like a number. We are careful to make sure that any separation is a last resort that is only exercised when there are no other options. I am sorry that your time at Base2 didn’t work out. Ron Hopkins, EVP & GM

    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Place To Work

      Jun 2, 2020 - Software 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The People, The Work, Benefits

      Cons

      Honestly can't think of one thing

      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Big company benefits; Small company culture

      Dec 26, 2019 - Advisory Software Engineer in Bellevue, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of really interesting work, often on genuinely hard problems. More than lip service is paid to work-life balance. Low drama environment with great people who ask "How can I help?," instead of "Why do you want that?"

      Cons

      Not a good fit unless you're flexible on the type and location of your work. Most Base2 engineers work at customer's locations, so commutes can vary widely from year to year. Consultancy jobs require getting up to speed rapidly, often across a wide range of technologies; expect to fumble in the dark more than you're use to.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Base2 Solutions Response

      CEO

      We take a lot of pride in keeping the drama low. Whether in the Base2 office or a customer site, we have found focus and calm is the quickest path to get a project back on track. Consulting isn’t for everyone, and you have accurately captured some of the Pros and Cons. We try to make sure that every recruited individual understands the dynamics before they join Base2. No one wins when an employee is surprised after they start. :-) Thank you for the review.

    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Very good people

      Feb 11, 2020 - Senior S/W Engineer in Bellevue, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very flexible work hours. Easy to switch projects,

      Cons

      Had to deal with some stiff clients

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Base2 Solutions Response

      CEO

      Thank you for being part of the Base2 team and giving us some feedback.

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company to work for.

      Mar 7, 2019 - Senior Systems Engineer in Bellevue, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have been with Base2 for just over 4 months. This is my fourth consulting position in over 20 years so I guess you can say I’ve been around the block. First and foremost, the People! The staff are very friendly and professional. From the CEO to Operations, to Marketing and HR, the entire team works hard to make you feel at home and provide you with the help and support you need. We all invest a significant amount of our life at work so it matters to enjoy the Company and the people we interact with. The CEO is very approachable and does encourage an open door policy. He openly discusses and shares company's vision and near-term and long-term goals. There is a lot of energy and drive to grow and to expand and most importantly to diversify into different industries. This is refreshing because it will reflect in the company's good health and long-term prospects.

      Cons

      I would like the company to consider better vacation policy.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Place to Work

      Nov 19, 2019 - Advisory Systems Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Challenging projects, great people to collaborate with, culture of constant learning/growing, flexible work schedules to some degree

      Cons

      Haven't come across any yet!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Base2 Solutions Response

      CEO

      Thank you for the review and for joining Base2!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 59 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Base2 Solutions Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Business Development Manager
    Learn About the Job
    Software Development Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    Senior Software Development Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    Software Development Team Lead
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Base2 Solutions? Share Your Experiences

    Base2 Solutions logo
    or