Benchling Reviews | Glassdoor

Benchling Reviews

Updated Nov 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

5.0
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Benchling Founder and CEO Sajith Wickramasekara
Sajith Wickramasekara
11 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Super glad to be part of this growing organization!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leader in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benchling full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been part of "mission driven" culture before, but this is a different level of focus and passion. The individuals are all so intelligent, hard-working, and collaborative! I'm very impressed with the continued high level of hires we have brought in. I also think the cultural norms of open communication, process building, sharing wins and gratitude for others really plays well with that mission. We are all clearly working towards goals for our customers and for the org!

    Cons

    I don't see cons, other than that we are growing so fast and keeping up with that is always a challenge.

    Continue reading
    Benchling2019-10-02
  2. "Fantastic culture, incredibly collaborative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Experience Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benchling full-time

    Pros

    - Mission-driven company makes the day-to-day work fulfilling and exciting - Legitimately look forward to each day of work - Get to work with a diverse group of passionate, smart, hard-working individuals - Actually get to use my biology background at work

    Cons

    - Certain clients require travel, which is tiring, but worthwhile to build strong client relationships at the end of the day

    Benchling2019-11-25
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Fantastic culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benchling full-time

    Pros

    - The company culture at Benchling is the strongest I have seen. Across the entire company, everyone is extremely talented yet low-ego, and it's a fun and positive environment - Benchling is a very mission-driven company, and it's cool to be a part of something meaningful - Recent additions to company leadership have brought in much-needed experience

    Cons

    - Not a lot of visibility into career opportunities - The office is nice but it's getting too crowded

    Benchling2019-02-02

    Benchling Response

    March 2, 2019Operations Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. We are working on expansion plans and hope you will continue to enjoy working at Benchling!

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Great company to invest yourself"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benchling full-time

    Pros

    Great company value Great people (smart and energetic) You will be empowered to contribute and will be supported

    Cons

    Need more senior/experienced people for further growth and development Need more structure, which will come over time

    Benchling2019-01-05

    Benchling Response

    March 2, 2019Operations Specialist

    Thanks for your feedback. We hope you will continue to enjoy your time at Benchling for many years to come!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (41)

    "Get to work in one of the most exciting companies in Biotech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benchling full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Lots of respect for employees: people are empowered to make decisions and there is overall a very collaborative atmosphere -Working with extremely smart and capable people: I can rely on my colleagues for anything and trust that it will go right. They can do the same for me.

    Cons

    -Benefits could be better, but will likely improve as we scale.

    Continue reading
    Benchling2018-07-12

    Benchling Response

    October 25, 2018Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for your input and advice. We are currently working on new benefit options and will have more information on this in the next few weeks!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (33)

    "Mission-driven, fast-growing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benchling full-time

    Pros

    Strong culture unified around the mission of speeding up science and enabling our customers to find life-saving/changing therapeutics faster. Fast-growing startup with a really dedicated and wonderful team who both care about the company and each other. Being at a small company, there are still a lot of opportunities for individuals to step up and make a large impact.

    Cons

    Being in a fast growth phase isn't always easy and we have a hardworking team who grinds it out when necessary. That pace isn't for everyone. We're still a young company developing our career trajectory and role boundaries. It's a rough fit if you're not okay with some role ambiguity and need a lot of structure.

    Benchling2018-06-05

    Benchling Response

    June 21, 2018Recruiting Manager

    We definitely thrive on ambiguity here!

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (41)

    "Awesome culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benchling full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture is one of the hardest things to get right, and Benchling has hit so much of it on the head. The first thing I'm consistently impressed by is how much people genuinely care about the mission. Not just raising money or becoming profitable, but transforming the way life science research is done, and thereby contributing to better medicine at a lower cost. Many of the employees, including both of the founders, came from biology research where they saw first-hand the many problems plaguing the field. Some other aspects of culture that stand out: * an incredibly high degree of thoughtfulness (this comes through in ad-hoc discussions, company all-hands, and a multiple-day company retreat we do every year) * tight-knit team: we have a culture of doing frequent 1:1s with people across the company. I have 7 recurring 1:1s, and frequently spontaneously ask others as well. * nearly all the feedback I've given has been genuinely listened to and appreciated * it is okay to admit mistakes and failures, and leadership regularly sets an example For the work itself: I work as a software engineer, and the work is extremely interesting. As someone who doesn't have a background in biology, I'm relishing the opportunity to learn how the field operates. Not only do I pick this up from talking with PMs and sitting in on customer calls, I've also gotten to collaborate significantly with designers and even marketing. My days are 9:30-6:30, and I've only been asked to work over-time once or twice a year. I couldn't ask for a better place to work. And if I could, I'd be confident that we would work together to address my feedback :).

    Cons

    The main con, which everyone is aware of, is the average lack of experience across the team, especially in engineering and leadership. One of the ways this comes out is that a lot of the learning comes from peers and on the job, rather than through more developed career growth paths. Compounding this problem, many of the early employees bear a lot of responsibilities that they ideally wouldn't in order to focus on higher-leverage activities. As to what we're doing about it, we're currently hiring especially for experienced leadership, and the founders estimate that up to a third of their time is spent on that because it's so important. For example, these leadership positions include VP of Engineering, VP of Sales, and Head of People Operations, in addition to a number of front-line positions.

    Continue reading
    Benchling2018-03-30

    Benchling Response

    May 25, 2018Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for detailing why our culture is so amazing, and what we are doing to continue raising the bar!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (35)

    "Strong combination of product, team, and impact"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benchling full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Product is loved by its users and business is growing quickly - Team that is very motivated and talented - originally came out of MIT, kept a high hiring bar across functions - Impact is huge: customers are working on ground-breaking research (e.g. cancer therapeutics, synthetic biology) - Culture is goofy and fun - nobody takes themselves too seriously

    Cons

    - Helping build a startup is a grind - it's not always easy, and success isn't overnight - People ops / HR is still in the early stages of being built out (which is understandable at a small company)

    Benchling2018-04-10

    Benchling Response

    May 25, 2018Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We hope you will continue to enjoy your time as a Benchling employee for many years to come!

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (34)

    "A team truly driven by the mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benchling full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Incredibly smart colleagues to learn from - The impact is huge and is felt every week — it's not just another startup - Collaborative and ego-less culture - Lots of fun & cool retreats - Interview process is challenging but yield great results (expertise & great culture fit) - People actually care about the change the product is bringing to life sciences - Management understands that professional growth is about helping employees acquire real knowledge — not just about changing titles.

    Cons

    - Challenging field, you need to be interested in life sciences (though the team makes it easy to be)

    Continue reading
    Benchling2018-03-29

    Benchling Response

    May 25, 2018Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for your feedback! We will continue to hire great people to our Benchling team.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (30)

    "Sales Team Experience at Benchling from an Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benchling full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Growth: I began my career at Benchling as an SDR, and was quickly provided with opportunities to advance my career and take on more responsibility. At this stage, every new hire at Benchling is expected to bring a company-building mindset to the team. We all wear many hats, but are unified in our efforts to build a successful business. Authenticity: People at Benchling care about their work, about each other, and about the industry we are trying to improve. it is atypical for me to go a week without working closely with a member from the Engineering, Product, Marketing or Office Management teams. We are a cross functional group, and take advantage of the fact that we are nimble.

    Cons

    Growth: As a small, rapidly growing company, there are a lot of things we still have to figure out. As our team grows and we bring on more customers, processes that once worked well begin to break, and it can be quite stressful to iterate on process while you must continue executing.

    Continue reading
    Benchling2018-04-10

    Benchling Response

    May 25, 2018Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for leaving such robust feedback. We hope you will continue to enjoy your tenure here at Benchling.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 12 reviews